Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
LiveCD, eth0 works, Gentoo pc w/o LiveCD, none
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GentooJohn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:52 pm    Post subject: LiveCD, eth0 works, Gentoo pc w/o LiveCD, none Reply with quote

As the topic says, when I load up with my LiveCD, eth0 shows up on my computer and the ethernet light on the moden comes on.

I think it might be a problem with the stuff inside "make menuconfig", the kernel options, if I'm not misstaken.

Also, is there a way to get to my PC from the LiveCD, or do I need to restart?

I've already tried "chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash", no good result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooJohn,

You can run your install on top of the liveCD kernel. You were on the right track with the
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
Before you do that you must mount your filesystems, just like you did when you installed.
Thats the mount
Code:
/dev/.... /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/.... /mnt/gentoo/boot
swapon /dev/....

... and any other mount steps the handbook describes.
Now you can do
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
to get into your system
You need to do the two steps immediately following in the handbook too, or some things will fail to work.

To diagnose your network problem do the following:-
Boot the liveCD and issue the
Code:
lsmod
command. Make a note of all the names in the left hand column.
Boot normally and run
Code:
ifconfig -a
if your eth0 shows there, its not configured, so skip the next bit of this post.
Run lsmod again and cross off any modules that appear on your list, since they do not create eth0 for you.
For all the remaining names do
Code:
modprobe module_name
ifconfig -a
When eth0 shows up, your kernel module is loaded.
If you get to the end of the list, the module is missing from your kernel. Post back
When you have eth0, the command
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
should make it work.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooJohn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I know what the problem is. Every module loaded I needed, when I did the modprobe module_name to the missing ones, but when I did tulip, the one I think I need for my DECchip, it gave a fatal error.

Also, when making the kernel after adding Tulip support as a module, it gave an error on part of it, some kind of passing arg warning, invalid cursor or something like that.

It was weird, but it kept compiling, and now when I try to load "modprobe tulip" and it gives a fatal error, I think they might be linked.

-GentooJohn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooJohn,

Yes. tulip is one of the possibilities.

When you do
Code:
modprobe tulip
what error message do you get?
Is there any more useful information on tulip or modprobe related errors at the end of
Code:
dmsg
if so, what is it?

Is you network card on the PCI or ISA bus ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooJohn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tulip "dmesg" errors are...

tulip: disagrees about version of symbol per_cpu__softnet_data
tulip: unknown symbol per_cpu__softnet_data

and alot of the same, at least 20-30 of them in the dmesg log.

Those are the problems.

And my Ethernet is a PCI card put into one of the PCI slots in the back of the computer.

When I do the LiveCD, it does the "Autoconfiguring devices" and when it says "Done." I look at my ethernet, and the light comes on right then. So, it apparently autoconfigures tulip and loads it, then my ethernet works.

So, if I can get tulip to work, all's good.

-GentooJohn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooJohn,

Did you update your version of gcc betweem compiling the kernel and the tulip module?

Run
Code:
modinfo tulip
and make a note of the vermagic: line e.g.
Code:
vermagic:       2.6.11-gentoo-r4 preempt K7 4KSTACKS gcc-3.4

Check a few other modules that were compiled with the kernel.
The vermagic must match or the modue won't load..
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooJohn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did it to a few of them, and the modinfo matches.

2.6.11-gentoo-r3 SMP 486 gcc-3.3 for all three that I did.

Any other ideas?

-GentooJohn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooJohn,

boot the liveCD and do
Code:
zgrep TULIP /proc/config.gz
Make a note of the output.
That tells you how the liveCD kernel (which works) has its tulip drivers configured.

Boot normally and do
Code:
grep TULIP /usr/src/linux/.config
which will show how your kernel is configured.
What are the differences ?
Rebuild your kernel with them fixed.

You seem to have a kernel compiled to run on a muli-CPU 486 based box.
Its unlikely you really have one of those, so you may want to fix that when you fix your tulip configuration too.
That is unlikely to be related to your network issue.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooJohn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They were both the same.

I did my kernel again, and did "make" after doing the configuration, then tulip gave three errors in there, similar to the others I had before.

After doing this, I rebooted, and still no progress, same error when I do "modprobe tulip"

-GentooJohn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54850
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooJohn,

Did you get errors or warnings ?
Warnings may be ignored, errors ususlly stop the compile.

Since you have remade your kernel, check that you have installed it properly with
Code:
uname -a
the datestamp is the compile time of the running kernel, it should be the same as your most recent kernel build. If not, redo the kernel install steps and retest.

If the compile problems are errors, please post the first one, word for word. Subsequent errors are often the result of the first.
Also, the errors from modprobe will be useful, unless the kernel compile really produced errors (not warnings), in which case modprobe won't work anyway.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum