View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Oyst3h n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:25 pm Post subject: Problem accessing drive (vfat) [SOLVED] |
|
|
I had to re-install Gentoo a little while ago, and ever since I have been unable to mount my second IDE drive. It's a 160Gb drive that moved from a Windows install and contains one FAT32 partition. The disk used to mount in Gentoo just fine before I re-installed.
dmesg has the following relevant info...
Quote: |
...
hdb: max request size: 1024KiB
hdb: 320173056 sectors (163928 MB) w/7936KiB Cache, CHS=16643/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdb: cache flushes supported
hdb: hdb1
...
FAT: invalid media value (0xb9)
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev hdb.
|
fdisk, however, shows this:
Quote: |
gentoo linux # fdisk -l
Disk /dev/hdb: 163.9 GB, 163928604672 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19929 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 19929 160079661 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
|
trying to to mount the drive manually gives the following...
Quote: |
gentoo linux # mount /dev/hdb
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb,
or too many mounted file systems
|
and fsck gives the following
Quote: |
gentoo linux # fsck /dev/hdb
fsck 1.35 (28-Feb-2004)
dosfsck 2.10, 22 Sep 2003, FAT32, LFN
Currently, only 1 or 2 FATs are supported, not 191.
|
The BIOS reports 16643 cylinders.
Why does fdisk report 19929 cylinders? Is this likely to be the problem? And how can I fix it?
Last edited by Oyst3h on Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:08 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheRAt Veteran
Joined: 03 Jun 2002 Posts: 1580
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you compile fat32 support in your kernel, or as a module and loaded the module ??
Code: | File systems --->
DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems --->
<M> MSDOS fs support
<M> VFAT (Windows-95) fs support |
_________________ All reality is the construct of the observer.
Get Firefox and rediscover the web!
BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You're trying to mount the whole disc. (/dev/hdb). Try mounting only the filesystem partition: Code: | # mount -t vfat /dev/hdb1 /mnt/hdb1 |
_________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grunthus Apprentice
Joined: 21 Apr 2005 Posts: 194 Location: Shetland UK
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If this drive has just been used in a windows box, presumably it was the primary drive - if you are now looking for it in /dev/hdb - have you altered the jumper switches?
This is just a guess, but on your old system were you mounting it as VFAT? I thought the latest versions of windows used NTFS? I've never mounted via NTFS, always used smbfs for accessing windows shares at work. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Oyst3h n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wow! Quick reply, thanks.
Yep, I have vfat and fat compiled as modules and loaded
Quote: |
gentoo linux # grep FAT .config
# DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems
CONFIG_FAT_FS=m
CONFIG_VFAT_FS=m
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="iso8859-1"
|
Quote: |
gentoo linux # lsmod
Module Size Used by
vfat 11200 0
fat 35676 1 vfat
|
also have
Quote: |
gentoo linux # grep CODEPAGE .config
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_437=y
|
Oh! and I should have said that a friend's Windows box will recognise the disk fine, including the filesystem and all files in it.
I'm stumped! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Oyst3h n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
codergeek42 wrote: | You're trying to mount the whole disc. (/dev/hdb). Try mounting only the filesystem partition: Code: | # mount -t vfat /dev/hdb1 /mnt/hdb1 |
|
<doh!> What a fool I am. Thanks very much.
Spent ages looking for complicated things to fix, and its a simple mistype.
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Heh. I do that too sometimes. Glad you got working. _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|