Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel Panic upon installation & reboot [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:08 am    Post subject: Kernel Panic upon installation & reboot [SOLVED] Reply with quote

My disk partitions are /dev/sda1 Linux Ext2 /boot

/dev/sda2 Swap Linux

/dev/sda3 REsierFS /root

Upon Grub Install & Reboot I get this message

VFS = Cannot Open root device"sda3" or unknown -block(0,0)

Please append a correct "root= " boot option.

Kernel Panic - not synching: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown -block(0,0)

When I do fdisk /dev/hdb I get a HD for
712MB besides this is /dev/sda (17GB)

My grub.conf is

default 0
timeout =10 seconds

title =Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
root(hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/sda3

Whats the problem.

Thanks,
Naveen


Last edited by NaveenJain on Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 2066
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Re: Kernel Panic upon installation & reboot Reply with quote

NaveenJain wrote:
My disk partitions are /dev/sda1 Linux Ext2 /boot

/dev/sda2 Swap Linux

/dev/sda3 REsierFS /root

Upon Grub Install & Reboot I get this message

VFS = Cannot Open root device"sda3" or unknown -block(0,0)

Please append a correct "root= " boot option.

Kernel Panic - not synching: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown -block(0,0)

When I do fdisk /dev/hdb I get a HD for
712MB besides this is /dev/sda (17GB)

My grub.conf is

default 0
timeout =10 seconds

title =Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
root(hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/sda3

Whats the problem.

Thanks,
Naveen


If you search the forums, you'll find tons of messages just like yours (almost word for word).

Usually this occurs because /dev/sda doesn't exist, and it doesn't exist because you haven't compiled the driver into your kernel.

sd implies its either scsi or serial-ata.

Do you have scsi or serial ata?

Boot the gentoo install cd, and type lspci -v to figure it out.

Then chroot, cd /usr/src/linux, make menuconfig, Browse to Devices ---> SCSI and find your device to enable the driver for it.

Then make && make modules_install && make install

Raydude
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Varg_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 10
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you have both ext2 and reiserfs drivers compiled into your kernel as well
_________________
Tautological Defenestration
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
projectle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You used Genkernel to make your kernel, yet did not use the --udev flag.

Boot using the LiveCD and mount your enviroment
chroot /mnt/gentoo
env-update
source /etc/profile
cd /usr/src/linux
genkernel --udev all
exit
umount /mnt/gentoo/boot /mnt/gentoo
reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This time I re did everything with genkernel --udev all

I get this message upon reboot

>>Mounting filesystem
mount: Mount devfs on /dev failed: No such device
Error: Opening file : ".devfsd" No such file or directory

>>Determining Root device
>>Block device /dev/sda3 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected. Please specify a devive to boot, or "Sheel" for a Shell.

Upon in Shell in dev/ I dont find sda sda1, sda2, sda3, but I find that when I mount /mnt/gentoo/dev.

/sda1 -s ext2
/sda2 Linux swap
/sda3 Resierfs

in /etc/fstab

I have put this for root
/dev/sda3 / reiserfs noatime 0 1

is this correct?

I guess .devfsd is missing, How to create this?

Thanks,

Naveen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you enabled devfs in your kernel. Devfs is deprecated, you should use udev instead.
The output of grep DEVFS /usr/src/linux/.config should be:
# CONFIG_DEVFS_FS is not set
Check that. If it's something else, reconfigure and rebuild your kernel.

And make sure that in /etc/conf.d.rc you don't have a line RC_DEVICES="devfs", it should be set to auto or udev.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I compiled using genkernel --udev all , it stated that it was using old config file. I guess the compiler did not find the correct config file. I will give this a try and let you know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is not file called conf.d.rc in /etc but a directory by name conf.d/rc, In rc file there is a setting DEVFS_STARTUP ="Yes" which I set it to "no",

I created a file conf.d.rc in /etc and put RC_DEVICES="auto",

I still get the error message, I get I compiled with the old config file, it just adopted the old config file when I used genkernel --udev all

I will put RC_DEVICES ="udev" in conf.d/rc and try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NaveenJain wrote:
There is not file called conf.d.rc in /etc but a directory by name conf.d/rc,
:oops: My mistake, a typo. It's /etc/conf.d/rc actually, but I see you found that file :wink:
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did change it, now should I re-compile it again. When I do genkernel --uudev all, it says cannot find config file using old config.gz or something of that sort.This might be what set the devfs option on. The original config file in /usr/src/linux has

# CONFIG_DEVFS_FS is not set

ie it is not set.

What should I do to make complier get the right config file, & not use the old config file?

Say if this works right, should I then compile a WM like GNOME?
OR it is already compiled?

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upon when I last compiled genkernel, I did DISTDIR=/mnt/cdrom emerge coldplug.

But it wanted to access the internet even when it was directed to the cdrom I guess the file was not on cdrom. same case with hotplug.

So, I copied the coldplug & hotplug from the liveCD and then did a
rc-update add coldplug boot
rc-update add hotplug default.

Is this wrong, is this what is causing the problem?

Thanks,
Naveen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to mention another thing.

When genkernel -udev all is issued,

it says seeking config file from /etc/kernels/kernel-linux-2.6.11.2-rbacking up old config to config.bak.

I did a grep DEVFS on kernel-linux-2.6.11.2-r3 file

I get CONFIG_DEV_FS: is not Set

Same case with .config in /usr/src/linux.

I have one SCSI HD (sda) and at it send is a small plugin (might be HDB (712MB)) This HD is strange it has more pins than a regular HD I guess becoz it SCSI.

I just hope I get this working soon, get a WM and on the internet soon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did another recompile with RC_DEVICES="udev" in /etc/conf.d/rc

The same problem continues?

>>Mounting filesystem
mount: Mount devfs on /dev failed: No such device
Error: Opening file : ".devfsd" No such file or directory

>>Determining Root device
>>Block device /dev/sda3 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected. Please specify a devive to boot, or "Shell" for a Shell.

Any leads, I just want this working as soon as I can. But, I do get the hang of how Gentoo works, & I think it is very good to understand how a comuter actually works. And having control over each process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devfs problem is solved; I had appended udev to the end of the kernel line in grub.conf in the next line.
But, I have this problem persisiting.

>>Mounting Filesystem
>>Activating udev
>>Determing root devices

Block device /dev/sda3 is not a valid root device. The root block device is unspecified or not detected.

Does'nt genkernel have drivers for ResierFS ?

Any clues?

Thanks,
NJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A simple search got me the answer.

gento=nodevfs devfs=nomunt corected it. I had not set a passwd for tux, so it did not log me in. I guess I can set it in using LiveCD right.

Thanks
NJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 2066
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NaveenJain wrote:
A simple search got me the answer.

gento=nodevfs devfs=nomunt corected it. I had not set a passwd for tux, so it did not log me in. I guess I can set it in using LiveCD right.

Thanks
NJ


Coolness. Yep, set the password in the chroot, before you reboot. I hate to admit how many times I've forgotten...

Please add [solved] to the thread title.

Raydude
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:37 am    Post subject: [SOLVED} Reply with quote

How do you edit the Thread title to place [SOLVED] there?

In any case, I did emerge -pv gnome

there are 173 programs, it took me four hours to install 10 of them. X11 etc. When it came to the eleventh, emerge gave up as it was pkgconfig-0.15.tar.gz, I see pkgconfig there in /usr/lib, but still, I dont think I can add 173 programs. Maybe try XFCE already I have used 1GB for this. But, it took me four hours to compile ten programs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaDxRaY
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 106
Location: central europe

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
Looks like you enabled devfs in your kernel. Devfs is deprecated, you should use udev instead.

That should solve most of the problems sata users have in this forum. There are alot questions and sorry, but most of the replies arn't helpfully, especially "I don't use sata, but..."
Please make one, and only one topic with the correct solution for the search:>install reboot sata kernel panic<, cause I searched the whole forum, got no real clue, bought a beer and asked friends who gave me the right hint.
Why is there no hint in the installation handbook? Where to spent my help to correct/update the installation handbook?
greez
T.C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaveenJain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

M@dxray:

I agree with you, They should have a sticky. I searched by putting my search string between quotes like

ÄDetermining Root device
>>Block device /dev/sda3 is not a valid root device
>> The root block device is unspecified or not detected. Please specify a devive to boot, or "Shell" for a Shell.Ä

And I got many answers. Apparently doscsi in the kernel line of grub.conf works. The manual is quite explanatory, but I am always in a hurry. They dont have much about sata in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum