Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network initializes after everything else
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mhill
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 86
Location: Thornton, CO

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:11 am    Post subject: Network initializes after everything else Reply with quote

Following the udev tutorial in Linux Format #66, I got my eth0 interface renamed to "lan" about a week and a half ago. A few days ago I upgraded my motherboard, so introduced new devices and had to rebuild the kernel to support new hardware. Somewhere in there, the network initialization script started getting called at the very end, after startup of the font server and just before the login prompt appears. This is making some daemons (postfix, dhcpd) very unhappy, such that they die before I even get logged in. How can I get /etc/init.d/net.lan to run at the same point /etc/init.d/net.eth0 used to?

[EDIT: removed paragraph]
_________________
Michael Hill

Desktop: Intel i7-3930K, 16GB DDR3, 1x 240GB SSD, 2x 3TB SATA, GeForce GTX660Ti, TSSTcorp SH-S203N
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Belfast, Uk

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update add /etc/init.d/net.lan boot


The above should help you, have a look at:

Code:
rc-update -s


to see what level everything is booting up at currently.

*re-reads question* ok to make sure that "/etc/init.d/net.lan" boots up early have a look at the code section below dragged from one of my network init files:

Code:
depend() {
        need bridge
        use hotplug pcmcia
        provide bridge0
}


the "provide <your variable>" bit is what you want - call it "lan" if that makes sense to you. Then make sure that postfix, dhcpd etc have a corresponding section in their init script that says "need lan". This way when they start to launch, lan will be launched first as its required by them.

Hopefully that makes sense :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mhill
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 86
Location: Thornton, CO

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

D'oh! I had it starting in default instead of boot! I fixed that, so I'll monitor it closely the next time I reboot. Hopefully that will fix it without having to mess with the depend/provide settings.

Thanks!
_________________
Michael Hill

Desktop: Intel i7-3930K, 16GB DDR3, 1x 240GB SSD, 2x 3TB SATA, GeForce GTX660Ti, TSSTcorp SH-S203N
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum