Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
apache2 won't start + eth0 won't read on boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Skara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: apache2 won't start + eth0 won't read on boot Reply with quote

Unfortunetly all the error I get is [ !! ]. Is there a log some place?

Anyway, I ran 'emerge --update world' and it took away eth0. Completely. So, I started over and ran
Code:
modprobe tulip
ifconfig eth0 ...
route add default gw ...
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart


Ok, back up with no problems. So I go and start the other things that couldn't start before:
Code:
netmount
sshd
apache

Maybe I'm missing one that needs to be mounted first, but apache2 refuses to start. emerge didn't update apache (as far as I know). I checked the config files and they're the same as I left them.

I figured maybe I needed to reboot. Or if I didn't need to, maybe it would still fix my problem for me. Nope. Not only did it not fix it, it completely took off eth0 again. O.o There a way I can get eth0 to read on a boot? I'd hate to have to run something for it every time...

Edit: Oh, and when I try to get to my server, instead of getting refused/can't be found/etc, I get a "document contains no data." No idea what that means, but maybe it'll help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 925
Location: Sun City Center, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you update baselayout and then run etc-update?
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Re: apache2 won't start + eth0 won't read on boot Reply with quote

Skara wrote:
Unfortunetly all the error I get is [ !! ]. Is there a log some place?

One would hope so, yes.
Does /var/log/apache2/ sound too far-fetched to you ?

Skara wrote:
Anyway, I ran 'emerge --update world' and it took away eth0.

No it didn't - you did, when you ran etc-update without checking.

Skara wrote:
Completely. So, I started over and ran
Code:
modprobe tulip
ifconfig eth0 ...
route add default gw ...
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

That's nonsense; the tulip module should go in /etc/modules.autoload - as per the Handbook, and the network settings go in /etc/conf.d/net - also as per the Handbook.

The last line would actually screw those up for you again - unless the settings in /etc.conf.d/net were correct to begin with.

Skara wrote:
Ok, back up with no problems. So I go and start the other things that couldn't start before:
Code:
netmount
sshd
apache

Examine output of
Code:
rc-update show

and verify that they are actually in a runlevel - if not, they will never start.

Skara wrote:
Maybe I'm missing one that needs to be mounted first, but apache2 refuses to start.

Then examine the apache logs and correct your configuration - as (obviously) per the Handbook/Guide/whatever.

You've heard of documentation, no ?

Skara wrote:
I figured maybe I needed to reboot. Or if I didn't need to, maybe it would still fix my problem for me. Nope. Not only did it not fix it, it completely took off eth0 again. O.o There a way I can get eth0 to read on a boot?

Handbook.

Skara wrote:
Edit: Oh, and when I try to get to my server, instead of getting refused/can't be found/etc, I get a "document contains no data." No idea what that means, but maybe it'll help.

...and then again, maybe not.
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:22 pm    Post subject: Re: apache2 won't start + eth0 won't read on boot Reply with quote

adaptr wrote:
Skara wrote:
Unfortunetly all the error I get is [ !! ]. Is there a log some place?

One would hope so, yes.
Does /var/log/apache2/ sound too far-fetched to you?

:oops: Didn't help anyway, though. Just said it couldn't figure my IP out.
Quote:
Skara wrote:
Anyway, I ran 'emerge --update world' and it took away eth0.

No it didn't - you did, when you ran etc-update without checking.

semantics

Quote:
Skara wrote:
Completely. So, I started over and ran
Code:
modprobe tulip
ifconfig eth0 ...
route add default gw ...
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

That's nonsense; the tulip module should go in /etc/modules.autoload - as per the Handbook, and the network settings go in /etc/conf.d/net - also as per the Handbook.

:o this was the entire problem. ^_^ I had it there, but the update took it out. ;) thanks. <= Fixed.

Quote:
The last line would actually screw those up for you again - unless the settings in /etc.conf.d/net were correct to begin with.

yeah, they were right.

Quote:
Skara wrote:
Ok, back up with no problems. So I go and start the other things that couldn't start before:
Code:
netmount
sshd
apache

Examine output of
Code:
rc-update show

and verify that they are actually in a runlevel - if not, they will never start.

Yeah, they tried to start. They just failed because eth0 wasn't up. ;) Sorry I wasn't clear.

Quote:
Skara wrote:
Maybe I'm missing one that needs to be mounted first, but apache2 refuses to start.

Then examine the apache logs and correct your configuration - as (obviously) per the Handbook/Guide/whatever.

I already knew my config was right...

Quote:
You've heard of documentation, no ?

smart ass. :lol:

Quote:
Skara wrote:
I figured maybe I needed to reboot. Or if I didn't need to, maybe it would still fix my problem for me. Nope. Not only did it not fix it, it completely took off eth0 again. O.o There a way I can get eth0 to read on a boot?

Handbook.

Yeah, the /etc/modules.autoload was what I was missing. /\

Quote:
Skara wrote:
Edit: Oh, and when I try to get to my server, instead of getting refused/can't be found/etc, I get a "document contains no data." No idea what that means, but maybe it'll help.

...and then again, maybe not.

^^; Well, I never said I knew what I was doing. :P


Thanks for the help! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem!

So.. did you read that Handbook yet ? ;-)
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've already read the Installation part. I'll get to the other part eventually. I'm usually too busy to stop and read something that long. ^^;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah.. that's the trick with Gentoo: without the handbook, it isn't actually a functioning OS ;-)
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum