View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
js-x.com Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 Posts: 78 Location: Dallas, TX (USA)
|
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:07 pm Post subject: QEmu with Windows98 - Networking Issue |
|
|
I've gotten to the point where qemu is installed and I've built/installed windows98.
It worked just fine, except the network. Until I rebooted - now I'm back to qemu not running.
I've read many posts here and other places google.com has sent me.
Quote: |
::::: running qemu :::::::::::
> qemu-img create windows_98.img 6000M {this creates the disk image}
> qemu -cdrom /dev/cdrom -boot d windows_98.img {this boots the cd}
--- I fully installed windows 98 ---
> qemu -cdrom /dev/cdrom -boot c -user-net windows_98.img
--- The networking was not working, so from other sources I found to do these stesp ---
# emerge -av net-misc/bridge-utils {tools to get the network set up}
# emerge -av autoconf
-- downloaded vde from http://sourceforge.net/projects/vde/
Code: |
-- # tar zxf file.tar.gz
-- # autoreconf --install
-- # ./configure
-- # libtoolize --copy force
-- # .configure
-- # make && make install
|
Then there is the following shell script that I found, and ran.
It successfully removed my network from gentoo and couldnt get it back [thus the reboot]
the "brctl addbr br0" command yielded this error:
Quote: |
br_add_bridge: package not installed
|
Question: How can I install br_add_bridge? [do I really need it?]
Here is the script ( from this page: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2236102.html#2236102 ):
Code: |
#!/bin/bash
/usr/local/bin/vde_switch -tap tun0 -daemon #path may be different on non cvs installed vde - /usr/bin/vde_switch
chmod 666 /tmp/vde.ctl
ifconfig eth0 down
brctl addbr br0
ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 promisc up
ifconfig tun0 0.0.0.0 promisc up
ifconfig br0 192.168.1.26 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
brctl stp br0 off
brctl setfd br0 1
brctl sethello br0 1
brctl addif br0 eth0
brctl addif br0 tun0
route add default gw 192.168.1.10
|
|
Here is where I am at before the reboot:
I manually configured the network device within windows98->control pannel->network as follows:
The windows: 10.0.2.2 gateway, 10.0.2.3 DNS, 10.0.2.15 IP of "pc"
It could ping 10.0.2.2 - so that was working.
It could not find anything else.
I've checked my kernel (make menuconfig) to find that I have TUN/TAP compiled into the kernel.
I have read that I need to have Bridging enabled. I have not found what item this is in the menuconfig.
So now after my reboot, I am back to this type of error:
Code: |
$ qemu -cdrom /dev/cdrom -boot c -user-net windows_98_no_network.img
qemu: error while loading shared libraries: libSDL-1.2.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
$ ls -l /usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 Jun 17 16:06 /usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0 -> libSDL-1.2.so.0.7.1
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 419784 Jun 17 16:06 /usr/lib64/libSDL-1.2.so.0.7.1
# revdep-rebuild -p
Checking reverse dependencies...
Packages containing binaries and libraries broken by any package update,
will be recompiled.
Collecting system binaries and libraries... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.1_files.
Collecting complete LD_LIBRARY_PATH... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.2_ldpath.
Checking dynamic linking consistency... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.3_rebuild.
Assigning files to ebuilds... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.4_ebuilds.
Evaluating package order... using existing /root/.revdep-rebuild.5_order.
All prepared. Starting rebuild...
emerge --oneshot --nodeps -p =app-office/openoffice-bin-1.1.4-r1 =www-client/opera-8.00
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild R ] app-office/openoffice-bin-1.1.4-r1
[ebuild R ] www-client/opera-8.00
Now you can remove -p (or --pretend) from arguments and re-run revdep-rebuild.
# emerge -av world
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating world dependencies ...done!
Total size of downloads: 0 kB
Nothing to merge; do you want me to auto-clean packages? [Yes/No]
>>> Auto-cleaning packages ...
>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.
* GNU info directory index is up-to-date.
# emerge --info
Portage 2.0.51.19 (default-linux/amd64/2005.0, gcc-3.4.3, glibc-2.3.4.20041102-r1, 2.6.11-gentoo-r7 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.11-gentoo-r7 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3800+
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.12
Python: dev-lang/python-2.3.5 [2.3.5 (#1, Jun 10 2005, 20:05:38)]
dev-lang/python: 2.3.5
sys-apps/sandbox: [Not Present]
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake: 1.5, 1.8.5-r3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.6.3, 1.4_p6, 1.9.5
sys-devel/binutils: 2.15.92.0.2-r10
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.16
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.8.1-r4
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -pipe -O2"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -pipe -O2"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org/ http://cudlug.cudenver.edu/gentoo/"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="amd64 X aalib acpi alsa apache2 arts avi berkdb bitmap-fonts bonobo cdparanoia cdr crypt cups curl directfb dts dvd eds encode esd fam fbcon font-server foomaticdb fortran ggi gif gnome gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 gtkhtml guile hal howl imagemagick imlib ipv6 jack java jp2 jpeg jpg libcaca libwww lirc lzw lzw-tiff mad matroska motif mozilla mp3 mpeg mysql mythtv nas ncurses network nls nvidia ogg oggvorbis opengl oss pam perl png python readline real samba sdl ssl tcpd theora tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts unicode usb userlocales v4l v4l2 vorbis xine xinerama xml xml2 xmms xpm xrandr xv xvid xvmc zlib userland_GNU kernel_linux elibc_glibc"
Unset:
|
Question:
Why I am again getting the error on trying to run qemu?
Question:
I guess I was at the point [before the reboot] that my linux box needed to know how to route and communicate with the windows/qemu "box". I am trying to understand what the purpose of running that shell script above is. I am suposed to [per directions] configure the IPs that are in there, and I'm not sure if they are made up for the qemu-windows 'network' or for my real network.
Thanks for any help. _________________ Cheers.
--Mike Robb
http://js-x.com/
[Gentoo: AMD-64 3800, 2gigram, Raid-5 S-ATA + 1 IDE, Radeon-X300-SE(128MB PCIe)]
[Gentoo: P4 dual 3ghz, 1.5gigram, S-ATA + 1 IDE, GeForce 6200 (AGP 8x 128MB)]
[Smoothwall: P3, 256Mram, 1 IDE] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
js-x.com Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 Posts: 78 Location: Dallas, TX (USA)
|
Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did a recompile of qemu:
Now root can run the windows98 in qemu, but the normal users can not.
I've tried running as a normal user:
Code: |
> /usr/sbin/env-update
> source /etc/profile
|
and then re-running, but that did not help. _________________ Cheers.
--Mike Robb
http://js-x.com/
[Gentoo: AMD-64 3800, 2gigram, Raid-5 S-ATA + 1 IDE, Radeon-X300-SE(128MB PCIe)]
[Gentoo: P4 dual 3ghz, 1.5gigram, S-ATA + 1 IDE, GeForce 6200 (AGP 8x 128MB)]
[Smoothwall: P3, 256Mram, 1 IDE] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
js-x.com Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 Posts: 78 Location: Dallas, TX (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Found this link: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?s=&forumid=18&threadid=218244
It states that I need to choose the Ethernet Bridging in the menuconfig:
-> Device Drivers -> Network Support -> Network Options -> 802.1d Ethernet Bridging
I've done this and updated good old Grub. Now to reboot. *crossing my fingers* _________________ Cheers.
--Mike Robb
http://js-x.com/
[Gentoo: AMD-64 3800, 2gigram, Raid-5 S-ATA + 1 IDE, Radeon-X300-SE(128MB PCIe)]
[Gentoo: P4 dual 3ghz, 1.5gigram, S-ATA + 1 IDE, GeForce 6200 (AGP 8x 128MB)]
[Smoothwall: P3, 256Mram, 1 IDE] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
js-x.com Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 Posts: 78 Location: Dallas, TX (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
--- rebooted ----
* drum rolls? *
So now I can run the script to bring up the bridges br0 and tun0.
My gentoo box has an IP of 192.168.202.8, with a gateway of 192.168.202.1
So I setup the script as follows:
Code: |
# cat bridge_setup.bash
#!/bin/bash
#path may be different on non cvs installed vde - /usr/bin/vde_switch
/usr/local/bin/vde_switch -tap tun0 -daemon
chmod 666 /tmp/vde.ctl
# remove any previously defined
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig tun0 down
ifconfig br0 down
brctl delbr br0
brctl addbr br0
ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 promisc up
ifconfig tun0 0.0.0.0 promisc up
ifconfig br0 192.168.202.20 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.202.255 up
brctl stp br0 off
brctl setfd br0 1
brctl sethello br0 1
brctl addif br0 eth0
brctl addif br0 tun0
route add default gw 192.168.202.1
|
I think this sets up the qemu-windows to have an IP of 192.168.202.20, with a gateway of 192.168.202.1
is this what it is doing?
Not being sure I modifed the ifconfig for br0 above to be 192.168.202.8 and am just shooting in the dark about the qemu-window network settings.
perhaps i'll try setting the gateway to 192.168.202.1 and an ip like 192.168.202.25... _________________ Cheers.
--Mike Robb
http://js-x.com/
[Gentoo: AMD-64 3800, 2gigram, Raid-5 S-ATA + 1 IDE, Radeon-X300-SE(128MB PCIe)]
[Gentoo: P4 dual 3ghz, 1.5gigram, S-ATA + 1 IDE, GeForce 6200 (AGP 8x 128MB)]
[Smoothwall: P3, 256Mram, 1 IDE] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|