Dropping ~x86?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
zeveck
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:35 pm    Post subject: Dropping ~x86? Reply with quote

So...I've been playing with and learning about Gentoo for about 6 months now. I must say that to current it is my favorite Linux distro (out of, in order of exposure, Mandrake, RedHat, Debian, SuSE, Gentoo). To ease my learning curve I threw ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" into my make.conf.

Now I am thinking of turning my Gentoo box into a web server.

Would it be prudent to drop ~x86? Any suggestions on the safest way to go about that?

The box isn't live yet...so it isn't like I have many configuration settings I need to retain...but enough that I don't want to just nuke the box and start over.

Suggestions?
luisfelipe
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, actually, using ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is really not recommended. In any case whatsoever.
As I'm sure you must have seen elsewhere, x86 and ~x86 should be configured case by case
on /etc/portage/package.keywords .
I'm really surprised that you were able to keep the machine going for 6 months.

It would be really prudent to drop the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS from the make.conf file, and then
doing an emerge -auvDN world . But be assured that it's going to be a huge upgrade (or downgrade :P).
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Backup you r/etc file, get a stage3 untar it and " emerge system -e && emerge world -e ". WHY because of glibc.
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive been running ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" since ummm see my avatar info :lol:
smoked
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

luisfelipe wrote: