Can't find 80 Gb harddisk.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zeeland
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 8:44 am    Post subject: Can't find 80 Gb harddisk. Reply with quote

Hi,

I am a newbie to Gentoo linux after I have tried Redhat, Mandrake, Suse, etc. I am willing to try gentoo linux.
But I ran in some trouble. I can't find my 80 Gb harddisk. (I know it is connected with the promise raid controller and accessible with winxp.)
I have also read that there are some trouble with raid controllers using gentoo, but I don't understand it exactly.
Ok here is the situation: I have a A7V8x motherboard from asus with one harddisk of 20 Gb(ATA66) on the primaire IDE port and a 80Gb harddisk(ATA133) on the secondairy port of the raid controller(this is ATA133 interface the other two is S-ATA). But when I load the raid driver from 1.2 or 1.4rc2 gentoo linux and go looking for my 80Gb harddisk, I find a 20Gb disk(/dev/ataraid/disc0/disc) connected to the raid controller and /dev/hda is also a 20Gb.

Please help.
Exci
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you try a
Code:

fdisk -l /dev/hd?
W1ReD
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 3:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Can't find 80 Gb harddisk. Reply with quote

Zeeland wrote:
Hi,

I am a newbie to Gentoo linux after I have tried Redhat, Mandrake, Suse, etc. I am willing to try gentoo linux.
But I ran in some trouble. I can't find my 80 Gb harddisk. (I know it is connected with the promise raid controller and accessible with winxp.)
I have also read that there are some trouble with raid controllers using gentoo, but I don't understand it exactly.