Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Upgrading to Kernel 2.6.12-gentoo-r3 [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Upgrading to Kernel 2.6.12-gentoo-r3 [Solved] Reply with quote

Are there any precautions I need to make when upgrading to the Gentoo 2.6.12 kernel? Once done, what do I need to do?

Last edited by Kenji Miyamoto on Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irwinr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 152
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's really no way for us to know how much you already know to do, so I'm not sure how much detail to give you :p If you need a line by line list of commands to type, you probably shouldn't be doing it.

However, if you are just unclear on certain aspects, ask about those aspects, be specific.

In general, upgrading your kernel is very safe in Linux. Just leave your old kernel there, add the new kernel as entry 0 in grub.conf, and make your current kernel entry 1 (the second entry). SO if your new kernel doesn't work, reboot back into the old kernel and try again.

-Jeremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once the new kernel works, should I recompile my software, or at least the modules that aren't part of the kernel installation?

The bigger question is: How do I use the configuration of my 2.6.11-gentoo-r9 kernel as the base for my new configuration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irwinr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 152
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once the new kernel works, should I recompile my software...

Only if your software uses kernel header files as part of it's source code. Only thing that should use those are drivers, which get compiled when you compile your kernel anyhow, so a big resounding NO.

Same with those modules, any 'module' that relies on kernel source should get compiled when you compile the kernel. But just curious, what kind of modules are you talking about?

The kernel is just the overseer of your computer hardware, and your software talks to the kernel through system calls. Your software does not even know what kind of kernel you have when it gets compiled, it's not used at all. You're thinking more along the lines of the compiler toolchain, which gets built from an 'emerge system' or an 'emerge -e system' to rebuild after it's already built.

Bottom line is a new kernel 99.99% of the time just requires you to 'make && make modules_install', copy it to /boot, update grub.conf, and reboot.


-Jeremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuam
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 765
Location: CGN, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kenji Miyamoto wrote:
The bigger question is: How do I use the configuration of my 2.6.11-gentoo-r9 kernel as the base for my new configuration?


The shorter the answer...
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux-2.6.12-something
cp ../linux-2.6.11-whatever/.config .
make oldconfig


and answer for the new options.

FF,

Daniel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irwinr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 152
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha, I completely mis-read that part of the question. Sorry.

-Jeremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now the only problem is the nVidia kernel module. I've recompiled the two pieces of it, and the module exists as "nvidia.ko". Upon attempting to load with "modprobe nvidia", I get this error:
Code:
FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r3/video/nvidia.ko): No such device
Is there an incompatibility with version 7664 and this kernel, or did I do something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irwinr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 152
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure that you're compiling it against your new kernel. It will generally use the headers located in /usr/src/linux (Which is just a symlink to the real kernel folder) Make sure the symlink is updated to point to your new kernel source, then recompile your Nvidia sources.

-Jeremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did that before compiling my new kernel within the /usr/src/linux directory. This is why the ALSA drivers didn't have any problems (and load just as before).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irwinr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 152
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In that case, I'll freely admit I don't have a clue. The only time I've used Nvidia drivers were when they were binary precompiled drivers (Which you can't recompile and each binary they release only works with certain kernels). And I haven't even used the binary ones in a while, I stick with the ATI Radeons that are supported by the DRI open source drivers (Radeon's 9200 and older) because they work out of the box.

-Jeremy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, recompiling the driver doesn't do a thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kenji Miyamoto wrote:
Now the only problem is the nVidia kernel module. I've recompiled the two pieces of it, and the module exists as "nvidia.ko". Upon attempting to load with "modprobe nvidia", I get this error:
Code:
FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r3/video/nvidia.ko): No such device
Is there an incompatibility with version 7664 and this kernel, or did I do something wrong?
Have you reemerged the nvidia kernel module?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of:
Code:
ls -l /dev/nvidia*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattjgalloway
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 761
Location: Coventry, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The nvidia error seems to be that you have compiled in nvidia / rage framebuffer support in your kernel - you DO NOT want that - remove it and have only VESA framebuffer (if you want FB that is)
_________________
AMD64 3200+, 1024MB RAM, Gentoo Linux
MacBook Core Duo, 1024MB RAM, Leopard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ridding of the nVidia GB driver fixed it. Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum