View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tyno n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 57
|
Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:33 pm Post subject: Changes in /boot unseen by grub |
|
|
I redid my partitions and updated grub.conf but now when I reboot, grub doesn't seem to see the changes and I have to manually edit the boot lines every time. Here's my grub.conf:
Quote: | default 1
timeout 30
#splashimage=(hda0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux (2.6.11-gentoo-r9 kernel)
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/bzImage-2.6.11-gentoo-r9 root=/dev/hda1
title=Gentoo Linux (2.4 series kernel)
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/linux-2.4.26-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/hda1 |
but every time I reboot, I have to manually change the entries from (hd0,4) (which was previously correct, but now is nonexistent) to (hd0,1). If I reboot and mount /boot, I can still see my changes, but grub can't. I've run grub with "root (hd0,1)" and "setup (hd0)", but grub just won't see the changes, instead loading what would have been on the old partition, had I not deleted it.
Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Chris W l33t
Joined: 25 Jun 2002 Posts: 972 Location: Brisbane, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 12:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you move the /boot partition e.g. from hda1 to hda2 or somesuch? If so, you need to reinstall grub into the MBR because it store the partition location along with the bootloader code. Code: |
# grub
root (hd0,1)
setup (hd0)
quite |
_________________ Cheers,
Chris W
"Common sense: The collection of prejudices acquired by age 18." -- Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tyno n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 57
|
Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 3:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, and I already did that, which is why it is bothering me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lokelo Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Dec 2002 Posts: 101 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm having a similar problem,
I upgraded my kernel, and added a second entry to my grub.conf and i only have one entry in my boot menu when I reboot my computer. I changed the timeout from 2 to 30 seconds and it still loads the "original" grub.conf file when my computer starts.
I re ran grub-install /dev/hda with the same results
my computer only has one hard drive installed. Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jake Veteran
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1132
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Are you sure you're making those changes on the boot partition rather than a copy of grub that ended up on root somehow? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lokelo Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Dec 2002 Posts: 101 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm certain that i'm editing the file
/boot/grub/grub.conf
I'm also sure that i've mounted /boot before hand.
here's a copy of my fstab and grub.conf
Code: |
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.
# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1 /boot ext3 noauto 0 2
/dev/hda3 / reiserfs noatime 0 1
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
#/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0
# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
|
Code: | default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r9
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r9 root=/dev/hda3
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda3 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Headrush Watchman
Joined: 06 Nov 2003 Posts: 5597 Location: Bizarro World
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do not mount your boot partition and then check to see if any files are in /boot
My guess is that although you mounted your boot partition before running GRUB, when you re-installed GRUB, root was set to the / partition, not the boot partition. Code: | grub
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)
quit |
And your entries in /boot/grub/grub.conf should point to (hd0,0) also. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mental n00b
Joined: 04 Oct 2004 Posts: 45 Location: Estonia
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Such a problem once took me days just to realize that /boot was not mounted. So i was instead editing the /boot directory of the / partition, rather than the / of the /boot partition. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lokelo Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Dec 2002 Posts: 101 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
There are no files in /boot when boot is not mounted.
I've also ran
Code: |
grub
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)
quit
|
several times and always get the same results.
I've also re emerged grub.
I'm going to try to unmerge grub, and clear all the files out of /boot/grub and remerge grub and see if that helps matters at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lokelo Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Dec 2002 Posts: 101 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
mounting boot, Unmerging grub, rm -Rf /boot/grub and then emerge grub and finally grub-install /dev/hda fixed my setup. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
widan Veteran
Joined: 07 Jun 2005 Posts: 1512 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Mental wrote: | Such a problem once took me days just to realize that /boot was not mounted. So i was instead editing the /boot directory of the / partition, rather than the / of the /boot partition. |
One way to avoid that kind of problem is to have /boot mounted read-only all the time. Since it's mounted ro, the files in it are still protected against accidental changes/deletion, but trying to write on it results in an immediate error, rather than silently filling the /boot mount point on the root fs. So you see a "Read only file system" error, and you immediately know you forgot to remount it rw, instead of trying to find out why the system isn't using your new kernel configuration... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|