Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Internet Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Achy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:13 am    Post subject: Internet Problem Reply with quote

Hello Gentoo forums, total Linux noob here. This is my first attempt at installing any type of Linux and I did well until I tried to emerge proftpd and mysql. When emerging, it stops stating that it cannot download a certain file. I was walked through most of it by a friend of mine who has installed gentoo linux on more than one occasion and when we arrived at this problem, he was stumped. We found out that it has something to do with my Ethernet settings. When using the liveCD, I can ping and links2 just fine, but when I run the normal install, I am unable to do neither ping nor links2 (nor anything else that requires the internet).

Any help on this will be greatly appreciated. Below is some information about my system.

P4 1.6ghz

Code:

# ifconfig eth0

Link encap:Ethernet     HWaddr 00:50:2C:A1:FB:A9
inet addr: 192.168.1.2    Bcast:192.168.1.255   Mask:255.255.255.0
UP  BROADCAST  RUNNING  MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
RX packets:8  errors:0  dropped:0  overruns:0  fram:0
TX packets:35  errors:0  dropped:0  overruns:0  carrier:0
collisions:0  txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1299 (1.2 Kb)    TX bytes:5854 (5.7 Kb)
Interrupt:22 Base  address:0x6000


Code:

# lspci | grep Ethernet

0000:02:07.0 Ethernet controller: Davicom Semiconductor, Inc. 21x4x DEC-Tulip compatible 10/100 Ethernet (rev 40)


and here are modules outputted when I lsmod
ohci_hcd, parport_pc, parport, floppy, tulip, ehci_hcd, usbhid, uhci_hcd, evdev, rtc, usbcore

Using Genkernel: linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harbl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a router? If so, you might need dhcpcd.
Code:
emerge dhcpcd

Edit /etc/conf.d/net to use
Code:
iface_eth0="dhcp"

This is all I can come up with, hopefully it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Achy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did that, and it didn't work. I do believe that my friend and I tried that earlier without any success. Thanks anyway for the reply.

edit: And yes, I do have a router. It is a NetGear WGR614.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Post the output of
Code:
# ifconfig -a

When you installed the system did you remember to copy /etc/resolv.conf to the chroot?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Achy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to nano /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf off of liveCD and there was no file. There was not even a /mnt/gentoo/etc/ directory. I made that directory then cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf. Rebooted, and it still didn't work. I also nano /etc/resolv.conf to find it pretty much exactly how it was on the liveCD.

Below are the contents when I ifconfig -a
Code:

eth0     Link encap:Ethernet   Hwaddr 00:50:2C:A1:FB:A9
           BROADCAST  MULTICAST  MTU:1500   Metric: 1
           RX packets:4  errors:0  dropped:0  overruns:0  fram:0
           TX packets:4  errors:0  dropped:0  overruns:0  carrier:0
           collisions:0  txqueuelen:1000
           RX bytes:272 (272.0 b)    TX bytes:2360 (2.3 Kb)
           Interrupt:22 Base  address:0x6000

lo         Link encap:Local Loopback
           inet addr:127.0.0.1   Mask:255.0.0.0
           UP LOOPBACK RUNNING   MTU:16436   Metric: 1
           RX packets:0  errors:0  dropped:0  overruns:0  fram:0
           TX packets:0  errors:0  dropped:0  overruns:0  carrier:0
           collisions:0  txqueuelen:0
           RX bytes:0(0.0 b)    TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.

First you need to mount your partitions under the live-cd
Code:
# mount -t filesystem /dev/rootpart /mnt/gentoo

Then you can check for /etc/resolv.conf. Finally, if that output was from your system, your card has no ip address. You should check the network config at /etc/conf.d/net
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Achy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did all that, and checked the config and everything seems fine.

I think the problem is that dhcpcd cannot assign an IP to eth0 and manually configuring it through ifconfig also does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3065
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Achy wrote:
I did all that, and checked the config and everything seems fine.

I think the problem is that dhcpcd cannot assign an IP to eth0 and manually configuring it through ifconfig also does not work.


If manually configuring it through ifconfig fails... then the problem is likely either your NIC is broken or you've got a problem with the kernel driver (ie you have the wrong driver for your NIC).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Achy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I finally got it working. I just recomplied my kernel manually instead of using genkernel --udev all. I enabled all of the options on the Network options.

Thanks for all your help guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum