View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
simulacrum Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 Posts: 128 Location: St Paul, MN
|
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:22 pm Post subject: LAN DNS ? |
|
|
I have a Linksys router that provides not only DNS, but DNS for local machines, which is very convenient - if resolution worked right on my machine. Here's what I'm talking about:
Code: |
simulacrum ~ # host tombstone
tombstone has address 192.168.100.101
simulacrum ~ # ping tombstone
ping: unknown host tombstone
|
My hosts file only has only the localhost line and my resolv.conf has only the router specified. What's the deal? I know I can explicitly specify the addresses in my hosts file, but I'd rather not do that. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dashnu l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 21 Jul 2004 Posts: 703 Location: Casco Maine
|
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
take a look at /etc/conf.d/domainname and rc-update add domainname default /etc/init.d/domainname start
maybe ?
I always add the local name to the hosts file like so..
Code: | 127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.1 hostname.mydomain.net hostname
|
_________________ write quit bang |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
simulacrum Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 Posts: 128 Location: St Paul, MN
|
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 7:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have /etc/dnsdomainname configured and domainname is in my default runlevel, but how will having the domain name set affect resolving another machines IP?
I have up until this point had my machines defined in hosts, but as I said, I'd rather not do that. Thanks for any help though ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bone Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/BaldursGate/baldursgate2_anomen.gif)
Joined: 07 Jun 2002 Posts: 255 Location: Midwest, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 11:51 pm Post subject: Re: LAN DNS ? |
|
|
simulacrum wrote: | I have a Linksys router that provides not only DNS, but DNS for local machines, which is very convenient - if resolution worked right on my machine. Here's what I'm talking about:
Code: |
simulacrum ~ # host tombstone
tombstone has address 192.168.100.101
simulacrum ~ # ping tombstone
ping: unknown host tombstone
|
My hosts file only has only the localhost line and my resolv.conf has only the router specified. What's the deal? I know I can explicitly specify the addresses in my hosts file, but I'd rather not do that. |
Its probably that your dns server doesnt know "tombstone", but I can almost bet it knows "tombstone.yourdomain". Check your /etc/resolv.conf. Mine has my default search domain as well, like this.
Code: |
option ndots:0
nameserver 127.0.0.1
domain xxxx.cx
|
jt |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|