View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
oshman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Jun 2005 Posts: 124 Location: Houston, TX
|
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:53 pm Post subject: eth0 error |
|
|
I'm trying to get dhcp started for my lan (eth0) at boot, and for that tobe my internet connection. However, during boot I see errors with dhcp for eth0. My wireless connection (ath0) then is activated and starts dhcp, so I can connect through that. I would like to use a wired connection when available. But I keep getting this error showing that eth0 doesn't start during boot:
Code: |
localhost oshman # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop
* ERROR: "net.eth0" has not yet been started.
localhost oshman # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
* Please make sure that /etc/conf.d/net has $ifconfig_eth0 set
* (or $iface_eth0 for old-style configuration) |
This is /etc/conf.d/net -
Quote: |
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_ath0="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
config_ath0=( "dhcp" )
key_comfort="open"
preferred_aps=( "Comfort" )
# For adding aliases to a interface
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"
modules=( "iwconfig" ) |
--> Am I missing something obvious in this file? _________________ Fujitsu Lifebook S6520 Core 2 Duo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arno Nymous Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Jul 2005 Posts: 87 Location: N 51� 30' 58" E 7� 28' 6"
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
These are set settings from my "/etc/conf.d/net" and it works fine
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misho Apprentice
Joined: 15 Apr 2004 Posts: 189
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's my entire config file:
Code: | ifconfig_eth0=( "dhcp" ) |
I think the problem with yours is that you used config instead of ifconfig. _________________ "Pssht. Extreme sports. If you want a real adrenaline rush, go write a physics exam without a calculator." - D.Z. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Or the problem is that he did not etc-update correctly and is using an old version of net.eth0.
FIX
Code: |
emerge --oneshot baselayout
etc-update
|
If that fails after updating every file, then
Code: |
cd /etc/init.d
rm net.eth0
ln -s net.lo net.eth0 |
That should sort it |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oshman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Jun 2005 Posts: 124 Location: Houston, TX
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanx guys - problem solved - I removed the " # " before iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0" - and the problem was solved. _________________ Fujitsu Lifebook S6520 Core 2 Duo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|