Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
filesystem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
psycophobia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 510
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:06 am    Post subject: filesystem Reply with quote

Is this how i should mnt the filesytem,

mke2fs /dev/hda1

mke2fs -j /dev/hda3

I do have the manual but i am finding it a challenge,do i have to mount the swap along with the root and boot or just activate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AliasXZ
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 847
Location: England, Wakefield

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you do:

Code:

mke2fs /dev/hda1 (ext2)
mke2fs -j /dev/hda3 (ext3)
mkswap /dev/hda2 (swap)


then

Code:

swapon /dev/hda2 (activate swap)

mount:

mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cd /mnt/gentoo


so in other words, you just activate swap because it doesnt actually mount hope this helps
_________________
Main:
Kernel: 5.4.38 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furbitso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you've quoted isn't how to mount the filesystem, but rather to make it. Once made, it must then be mounted, for example:

Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /

Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /boot



This will mount your newly created ext3 filesystem to / and your newly created ext2 filesystem to /boot.

As for swap space, that should be made like this:

Code:
mkswap /dev/hda5


And then activated/deactivated like this:

Code:
swapon /dev/hda5

Code:
swapoff /dev/hda5


Don't forget to put these mountpoints into /etc/fstab (as described in the manual) because then the filesystems, and swap, will be mounted/activated on boot.

Hope this helps,

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycophobia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 510
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:17 am    Post subject: gentoo Reply with quote

Putting them in /etc/fstab how would that look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
katsiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jun 2005
Posts: 233
Location: Pasadena, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 2005.0 Handbook offers the caveat,
Quote:
Warning: Due to a bug in the e2fsprogs package, you need to explicitly use the mount -t ext3 option if you are using an ext3 filesystem.

It says you should use,
Code:
mount -t ext3 /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycophobia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 510
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:34 am    Post subject: gentoo Reply with quote

Ok but where do i put /usr and /home dir when im makeing partions with fdisk.

Otherwise it will tell me down the line that they dont exsist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
even
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 106
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the mount section of the hand book can be found HERE
_________________
Man, I thought Ultimate Robot Fighting was real, like pro wrestling, but it turns out it's fixed, like boxing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycophobia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 510
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: gentoo Reply with quote

Do i have to specifi dir when i partion or when i mnt filesystem,it dosent show how it looks to do that in the manual.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
even
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 106
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can't name a partion when you create it you just partion the harddisk then mount the partions and they are linked to a directory
_________________
Man, I thought Ultimate Robot Fighting was real, like pro wrestling, but it turns out it's fixed, like boxing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycophobia
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 510
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:30 am    Post subject: gentoo Reply with quote

Well thanks for the help all , i will now go and try to install again fingers crossed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum