Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
MYSQL Database Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ps2cho
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: MYSQL Database Problem Reply with quote

Hey guys.
I rescently set up a gentoo linux box and i did the following:

#emerge mod_php
#USE="foo" emerge mysql
#ebuild /var/db/pkg/dev-db/mysql-version*/mysql-version*.ebuild config
#emerge apache
# emerge php -av
# ebuild /var/db/pkg/dev-php/mod_php-version*/mod_php-version*.ebuild config

#/usr/bin/mysql_install_db
#/usr/bin/mysql -u root
mysql>SET PASSWORD FOR 'root'@'localhost' = PASSWORD('mypw');

File: /etc/conf.d/apache2
APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP5"

phpMyAdmin was put into the htdocs folder and i created a user.
Downloaded PHPNUke + Put all of the folder from the HTML folder into the htdocs folder.
Ran the SQL Script from a folder onto this comp (it wouldnt find the right directory to do it from the server)
It completed successfully.

I do http://localhost:89/index.php (for phpnuke) and i just get


Quote:
There seems to be a problem with the MySQL server, sorry for the inconvenience.

We should be back shortly.


I have done PHPNuke successfully on win32 platform, first time on linux. What did i do wrong?

(i didnt put the parts where i started up mysql,apache etc because thats something simple i did do)



Oh and here is my config.php

Quote:

# Database & System Config
#
$dbhost= "localhost";
$dbuname= "ps2cho";
$dbpass= "*******";
$dbname= "nuke";
$system= "1";
$prefix= "nuke";
$user_prefix= "nuke";
$dbtype= "MySQL";



Help!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikejr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might try emerging phpmyadmin, at least it will help with databases in the future for you (just make sure you secure it via .htpasswd).

You said you started it right? Every time I've installed mySQL on a box, it just ran. What happens if you create a page info.php with the the following in it:
Code:

<?php
phpinfo();
?>


and point to that page in your browser. That should give you a good indication of what php modules are loaded.

Also, are you using php5? If not, change APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP5" to APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP4"
Php5 is still masked I beleive, so you would really need to work at getting in installed (PITA)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ter_roshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Everett, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple of good tools to use with MySQL that will aid in troubleshooting, setup, and configuration are the MySQL-query-browser, and MySQL-administrator. Both of these tools are available from the MySQL.com website: http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/. I think that these tools are better than using phpmyadmin because you don't have to have Apache and PHP working to interact with your database.
_________________
Josh Miller -- RHCE, VCP
Ditree Consulting
http://ditree.com/
Registered Linux User #318200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikejr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exactly, but with phpNuke he'll need them working together. Webmin works ok too... My guess is that php is not running, given the php5 reference. I'm not even sure if Nuke will run well under php5...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ter_roshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Everett, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikejr wrote:
Exactly, but with phpNuke he'll need them working together. Webmin works ok too... My guess is that php is not running, given the php5 reference. I'm not even sure if Nuke will run well under php5...


It's better to verify that each application is working independently prior to complicating the issue. Once MySQL is verified to be working, then it will be easier to pinpoint the real problem.
_________________
Josh Miller -- RHCE, VCP
Ditree Consulting
http://ditree.com/
Registered Linux User #318200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ps2cho
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got e107 to work. Its PHPNuke that is the problem.

What have i done wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ter_roshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Everett, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ps2cho wrote:
I got e107 to work. Its PHPNuke that is the problem.

What have i done wrong?


I would recommend that you start with each application independently and verify that they work. First, try to get apache running with PHP and test it. Place a file in your document root with the following in it:

Code:

<?php
phpinfo() ;
?>


What is the output, anything?

If that works then you can move onto the next app.
_________________
Josh Miller -- RHCE, VCP
Ditree Consulting
http://ditree.com/
Registered Linux User #318200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you make sure the mysql server was running?
_________________
--You talk the talk, but do you waddle the waddle?
-Gentoo Monthly Screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ps2cho
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well right now im getting a wierd error and im trying so hard but i cant get it to go away!
Iv posted on several different forums and nobody has replied anything basically.

Quote:
Forbidden

You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Apache/2.0.54 (Gentoo/Linux) mod_ssl/2.0.54 OpenSSL/0.9.7e PHP/4.3.11 Server at server Port 89



Someobdy please help :( Its really getting frustrating now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikejr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both phpNuke and e107 require php/MySQL.

What happens if you add :80 after your sites address? http://localhost:80 ?

What USE flags are you using? Did you verify that php was working?

The permission issue is usually the Allow setting in your apache config. Are you running your server on port 89?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum