View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
certocivitas Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:55 pm Post subject: DHCPCD timeout using madwifi & wpa_supplicant [SOLVED] |
|
|
I am trying to get my wireless card connected to my network but am having some trouble. I started by instaling madwifi and iwconfig. The kernel modules all loaded without error and there was nothing in dmesg but iwconfig would not list any access points (there are two well within range that I connect to via windows). So on the forums I noticed that someone suggested switching to wpa_supplicant because they were unable to scan for AP's with iwconfig but supplicant worked.
So I uninstalled iwconfig and installed wpa_supplicant. Here are my config files:
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: | config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_eth0=( "-t 10 -R" )
modules=( "!iwconfig" )
modules_wlan0=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_ath0="-Dmadwifi"
wpa_timeout_ath0=15
config_ath0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_ath0=( "-t 10 -R" ) |
/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
network={
ssid="certciv"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=NONE
wep_key0="***"
priority=0
} |
When I try to connect I get this:
Quote: | # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
* Starting ath0
* Loading networking modules for ath0
* modules: wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
* wpa_supplicant provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* dhcpcd provides dhcp
* Stopping wpa_supplicant on ath0 ... [ ok ] * Starting wpa_supplicant on ath0 ...
* Waiting for association [ ok ] * ath0 connected to "certciv" at 00:0F:3D:5D:D9:E0
* using WEP-104
* Configuring ath0 for "certciv" ... [ ok ] * Bringing up ath0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ !! ] |
The only error I have found is in the logs
Quote: | Jul 18 12:45:20 [dhcpcd] timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response_ |
Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
Last edited by certocivitas on Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:00 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 9:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try rebooting your access point, then try it again.
scooby _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Last edited by scoobydu on Mon Jul 18, 2005 9:43 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 9:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
modules_wlan0=( "wpa_supplicant" )
|
Should this line have wlan0?
Are you using madwifi as I am? _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective| |
|
Back to top |
|
|
certocivitas Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Lol, I didn't catch that, let me try it with ath0 ...
Ya, the corrected "modules_ath0=( "wpa_supplicant" )" had no effect on the dhcp timeout.
I also restarted the router/AP with no change.
It's possible that this is a WEP encryption problem. My DI-624 router is set with 64bit WEP encryption using a hex key. When wpa_supplicant runs it says its using " WEP-104". Could this be the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
certocivitas wrote: | Lol, I didn't catch that, let me try it with ath0 ...
Ya, the corrected "modules_ath0=( "wpa_supplicant" )" had no effect on the dhcp timeout.
I also restarted the router/AP with no change.
It's possible that this is a WEP encryption problem. My DI-624 router is set with 64bit WEP encryption using a hex key. When wpa_supplicant runs it says its using " WEP-104". Could this be the problem? |
Its possible, as wpa_supplicant has these options to authenticate;
Quote: |
key management for CCMP, TKIP, WEP104, WEP40
|
Where I think WEP64 is like WEP40+
Can you try WEP104 or WEP40 to check?
Or better still, enable WPA or WPA2 if it is supported! _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective| |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Codo Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 271
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Something you may find useful is to run wpa_supplicant manually first with full debugging (-dd) to make sure it is associating to the right access point. If you get into troubles, wpa_cli lets you control wpa_supplicant.
After the association takes place, I don't see how dhcpcd would fail. Q:Are you running latest baselayout? ACCEPT_KEYWORDS... ?! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
certocivitas Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I'm not very well infomed about these wireless encryption options so it might take me awhile but the router does support WPA so I will give it a try. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
certocivitas wrote: | Ok, I'm not very well infomed about these wireless encryption options so it might take me awhile but the router does support WPA so I will give it a try. |
Well, its a damn good idea rather than using WEP, as its just about useless!
Try it with WEP40 just to prove a point though .. _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective| |
|
Back to top |
|
|
certocivitas Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok I ran wpa_supplicant with these resaults:
Quote: | # wpa_supplicant -dd -i ath0 -Dmadwifi -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'madwifi'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
Line: 7 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=:
6a 6f 6e 6b 68 65 65 72 jonkheer
scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
key_mgmt: 0x4
wep_key0 - hexdump(len=10): [REMOVED]
priority=0 (0x0)
Priority group 0
id=0 ssid='jonkheer'
Initializing interface (2) 'ath0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:0f:3d:a9:c0:88
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ath0' added
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ath0' added
Starting AP scan (specific SSID)
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=:
6a 6f 6e 6b 68 65 65 72 jonkheer
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=21
EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=0
EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=0
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b19 len=12
Received 203 bytes of scan results (1 BSSes)
Scan results: 1
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
0: 00:0f:3d:5d:d9:e0 ssid='jonkheer' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
skip - no WPA/RSN IE
selected non-WPA AP 00:0f:3d:5d:d9:e0 ssid='jonkheer'
Trying to associate with 00:0f:3d:5d:d9:e0 (SSID='jonkheer' freq=2437 MHz)
Cancelling scan request
Automatic auth_alg selection: 0x1
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_key: alg=WEP key_idx=0 set_tx=1 seq_len=0 key_len=10
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_associate
Setting authentication timeout: 5 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: External notification - portControl=ForceAuthorized
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=21
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=21
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b15 len=20
Wireless event: new AP: 00:0f:3d:5d:d9:e0
Association event - clear replay counter
Associated to a new BSS: BSSID=00:0f:3d:5d:d9:e0
Associated with 00:0f:3d:5d:d9:e0
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=1
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state S_FORCE_AUTH
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state IDLE
EAP: EAP entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state IDLE
Cancelling authentication timeout
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ath0' added
EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=59
EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=58
EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=57 |
The Good news is that it does seem to be connecting, but the line "No keys have been configured - skip key clearing" looks problematic. I'm not sure how to use wpa_cli to set the WEP key manually, if thats the problem.
(The cool smilies are phpBB's fault btw) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It sure looks like the WEP40 to WEP64 mismatch.
Have you tried with your AP using WEP40? _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective| |
|
Back to top |
|
|
certocivitas Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My Router only offers 64 and 128bit so I guess WEP is out. Time to give WPA-PSK a try. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
certocivitas Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2004 Posts: 194
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well great news, WPA-PSK worked without any trouble. Just using the suggested config in /etc/wpa_suplicant.conf.example did it.
Thanks for all the help guys.
Now to figure out how to bridge interfaces ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
scoobydu Veteran
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 1076 Location: 'Mind the Gap'
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
certocivitas wrote: | Well great news, WPA-PSK worked without any trouble. Just using the suggested config in /etc/wpa_suplicant.conf.example did it.
Thanks for all the help guys.
Now to figure out how to bridge interfaces ... |
Good job _________________ Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective| |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|