View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
oninoshiko n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:53 pm Post subject: problems with Vlans |
|
|
i am on baselayout 1.11.12-r4
vconfig 1.8
my /etc/conf.d/net looks like
Code: |
ifconfig_eth0=( "0.0.0.0" )
vlans_eth0="2 10"
vconfig_eth0=( "set_name_type DEV_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD" )
ifconfig_eth0_2=( "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy brodcast zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz" )
ifconfig_eth0_10=( ""xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy brodcast zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz" )
routes_eth0_2=( "default gw ggg.ggg.ggg.ggg" )
|
when i run /etc/init.d/net.eth0 it acts as if it has broght everything up, and looking at ifconfig and route everything looks normal. but no machine on the local network responds to a ping until i down and up eth0. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oninoshiko n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think this is a problem with the net.eth0 script. I'm entering it as a bug. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
A better config
Code: | config_eth0=( "null" )
vlans_eth0="2 10"
vconfig_eth0=( "set_name_type DEV_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD" )
config_eth0_2=( "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy broadcast zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz" )
config_eth0_10=( ""xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy broadcast zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz" )
routes_eth0_2=( "default gw ggg.ggg.ggg.ggg" ) |
Please note that you did misspell broadcast
Maybe you want to use CIDR notation instead?
Code: | config_eth0_2=( "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/24 brd +" )
config_eth0_10=( ""xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/24 brd +" )
|
/24 == 255.255.255.0
You can use ipcalc or look up on the internet to find out the one you want.
brd + means calculate the best broadcast possible.
That stops you from misspelling the word |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oninoshiko n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
EDIT: (I spelled it right in the conf, just a uncaught typo in my transcription)
hmm looks like it IS a kernel bug..
2.6.13 changelog:
Quote: |
commit f4637b55ba960d9987a836617271659e9b7b0de8
Author: Tommy Christensen <tommy.christensen@tpack.net>
Date: Tue Jul 12 12:13:49 2005 -0700
[VLAN]: Fix early vlan adding leads to not functional device
OK, I can see what's happening here. eth0 doesn't detect link-up until
after a few seconds, so when the vlan interface is opened immediately
after eth0 has been opened, it inherits the link-down state. Subsequently
the vlan interface is never properly activated and are thus unable to
transmit any packets.
dev->state bits are not supposed to be manipulated directly. Something
similar is probably needed for the netif_device_present() bit, although
I don't know how this is meant to work for a virtual device.
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
|
can we maybe add a delay as a workaround until we move past 2.6.12? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Could you post a link to that (optionally the text as well) on the bug you opened? thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oninoshiko n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 8
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|