Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Intel PRO/Wireless (ipw2200): Can't get wireless to work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:58 am    Post subject: Intel PRO/Wireless (ipw2200): Can't get wireless to work Reply with quote

(This has been moved from thread "Wireless just won't go.")

I've got an ACER Travelmate 4101WLMi on which I recently installed Gentoo. However, I can't get my ipw2200-based network card to work. Here are some details:

Modules loaded:

ipw2200
ieee80211
ieee80211_crypt
ieee80211_crypt_wep

According to 'iwconfig' my interface with wireless extensions is 'eth1'. I've also got a wired interface on 'eth0' which is running fine. 'net.eth0' and 'net.eth1' are symlinks to 'net.lo' in /etc/init.d.

My /etc/conf.d/net contains:

# Stuff for wired eth0:
config_eth0=( "192.168.2.189 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.2.1" )

# Stuff for wireless eth1 (ipw2200):
config_eth1=( "192.168.2.188 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
routes_eth1=( "default gw 192.168.2.1" )

modules=( "iwconfig" )
essid_eth1="TANGO"
key_TANGO="xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xx"
preferred_aps=( "TANGO" )

I've set RC_VERBOSE="yes" in /etc/conf.d/rc. When doing a "/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start" I get following output:

* Starting eth1
* Loading networking modules for eth1
* modules: apipa iwconfig essidnet iptunnel ifconfig
* iwconfig provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* Configuring wireless network for eth1
* Connecting to "TANGO" (WEP enabled - open) ... [!!]
* Failed to configure wireless for eth1 [!!]

The failure message appears after aprox. 8 to 10 seconds. Using Ubuntu it works fine - however, I noticed that in Ubuntu the wireless i/f is 'eth0' and the wired i/f is 'eth1', so just vice versa as in Gentoo.

Any hint or advice is very much appreciated!

TIA
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you do
Code:
iwlist scan
and paste the results?
The obvious error is that it doesn't 'see' the AP...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, here we go:

Code:
lo      Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth0    Interface doesn't support scanning.
dummy0  Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth1    No scan result


BTW, when I do a "rmmod ipw2200 && modprobe ipw2200" dmesg shows following strange entries:

Code:
ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, 1.0.3
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2004 Intel Corporation
ipw2200: Detected Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
ipw2200: Radio Frequency Kill Switch is On:
Kill switch must be turned off for wireless networking to work.
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send RTS_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send FRAG_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send POWER_MODE command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send RTS_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send FRAG_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx   
ipw2200: failed to send POWER_MODE command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command


This doesn't look too healthy. :( What's going wrong here?
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might have identified the problem - your "wireless radio" button on the computer seems to be in a "off" state...
There two lines seem to imply that:
Code:
ipw2200: Radio Frequency Kill Switch is On:
Kill switch must be turned off for wireless networking to work.

Try pressing it and then run
Code:
iwlist scanning
again.
(EDIT) NOTE: I have the same in mine when the wireless Kill Switch is On (or the les is not lit in my case, i have a ipw2200 as well)


Last edited by elestedt on Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thesnowman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 365
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which version of ipw2200 are you using?

Also, there's two scripts included with ipw2200 to load and unload the modules in the correct order. The scripts are meant to be run from within the directory where the modules are built. I've modified them to fit with where gentoo installs the modules.

/usr/local/bin/ipw2200unload:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ `whoami` != "root" ]; then
        echo "You must be root to run this script."
        return
fi

unset UNLOADED

for i in ipw2200 ieee80211{,_crypt{_{tkip,ccmp,wep},}}; do
        if lsmod | grep -q $i; then
                UNLOADED="${UNLOADED}${i} "
                /sbin/rmmod $i
        fi
done

if [ -z "${UNLOADED}" ]; then
        echo "No modules unloaded."
else
        echo "Unloaded: $UNLOADED"
fi


/usr/local/bin/ipw2200load:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Copyright (C) 2004-2005 Intel Corporation
MODULE=ipw2200

if [ `whoami` != "root" ]; then
    echo "You must be root to run this script."
    return
fi

. /usr/local/bin/ipw2200unload
unset LOADED

modulesdir="/lib/modules/`uname -r`/net/"
#modulesdir="/lib/modules/`uname -r`/net/ieee80211/"

function load_pre
{
        for i in firmware_class; do
                if ! (lsmod | grep -q $i) && \
                        ! (modprobe $i > /dev/null 2>&1 && LOADED="${LOADED}${i} ") && \
                        ! (grep -q request_firmware /proc/kallsyms); then
                        if [ ! -e /proc/kallsyms ]; then
                                echo "Could not be determine if firmware_class is already loaded."
                                echo "Attempting to load driver anyway..."
                        else
                                echo "Firmware capabilities not found.  See INSTALL."
                        return 0
                fi
        fi
        done
        return 1
}

function load_modules
{
        IPW_DEBUG=""
        I_DEBUG=""

        for i in ieee80211_crypt ieee80211_crypt_{wep,tkip,ccmp}; do
                if [ -e "${modulesdir}/${i}.ko" ]; then
                        /sbin/modprobe ${i} && LOADED="${LOADED}${i} "
                fi
        done

        for i in ieee80211; do
                if [ -e "${modulesdir}/${i}.ko" ]; then
                        /sbin/modprobe ${i} ${I_DEBUG} && LOADED="${LOADED}${i} "
                fi
        done

        if [ -z $1 ]; then
                /sbin/modprobe ${MODULE} ${IPW_DEBUG} && LOADED="${LOADED}${MODULE} "
        else
                /sbin/modprobe ${MODULE} $@ && LOADED="${LOADED}${MODULE} "
        fi

        return 1
}

if ! load_pre && ! load_modules $@; then
        if [ -z "${LOADED}" ]; then
                echo "No modules loaded."
        else
                echo "Loaded: ${LOADED}"
        fi
else
        echo "Load failed."
fi


If you're using ipw2200-1.0.4 or earlier leave the modulesdir line as it is. If you are using 1.0.5 or later comment out the modulesdir line and uncomment the other one.

Run ipw2200unload to unload all of the modules, then ipw2200load to load them in the correct order.

I've found it's sometimes necessary to unload the ipw firmware as well:
Code:
rmmod firmware_class
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@elestedt:

I shortly pressed the "wireless lan" switch and ran "iwlist scan" which gave no difference. Then I pressed the switch a bit longer (for about two to three seconds), then I got:
Code:
bash_prompt # Disabling IRQ #10

on the screen and afterwards an "iwlist scan" shows:
Code:
lo      Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth0    Interface doesn't support scanning.
dummy0  Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth1    Interface doesn't support scanning : Input/output error

Something seems to have changed but not for the better... :(
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@thesnowman:

I'll check these scripts...
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, when booting from the Gentoo Minimal CD the card works, but only after issuing this command (as explained here: http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/):
Code:
echo 100 > /sys/class/firmware/timeout

It seems that everything is fine when using the hotplug system. Does this info help?
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maystorm wrote:
@elestedt:

I shortly pressed the "wireless lan" switch and ran "iwlist scan" which gave no difference. Then I pressed the switch a bit longer (for about two to three seconds), then I got:
Code:
bash_prompt # Disabling IRQ #10

on the screen and afterwards an "iwlist scan" shows:
Code:
lo      Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth0    Interface doesn't support scanning.
dummy0  Interface doesn't support scanning.
eth1    Interface doesn't support scanning : Input/output error

Something seems to have changed but not for the better... :(

I just compared which modules we have loaded - and I have one loaded which you do not...
Code:
firmware_class
which is used by ipw2200.
have you installed net-wireless/ipw2200-firmware properly?
The only module in my modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 (relevant to ipw2200) is ipw2200 - the rest are loaded automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Module 'firmware_class' is indeed missing on my system. Is it supposed to be installed along with 'ipw2200-firmware'? I've got those installed:
Code:
net-wireless/ipw2200-firmware-2.2
net-wireless/ipw2200-1.0.3

However, an "etcat -f ipw2200-firmware" doesn't show any 'firmware_class.o' module and I can't do a "modprobe firmware_class" either. I noticed this module when booting from the Gentoo CD and within Ubuntu.

Would this mean something is corrupt in my installation?
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maystorm wrote:
Module 'firmware_class' is indeed missing on my system. Is it supposed to be installed along with 'ipw2200-firmware'? I've got those installed:
Code:
net-wireless/ipw2200-firmware-2.2
net-wireless/ipw2200-1.0.3

However, an "etcat -f ipw2200-firmware" doesn't show any 'firmware_class.o' module and I can't do a "modprobe firmware_class" either. I noticed this module when booting from the Gentoo CD and within Ubuntu.

Would this mean something is corrupt in my installation?

Actually that module *seems* to be part of the kernel - I don't know how I got it though... just went through the config but cannot find it.
equery gives this:
Code:
 # equery b firmware_class
[ Searching for file(s) firmware_class in *... ]
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r6 (/usr/src/linux-2.6.12-gentoo-r6/Documentation/firmware_class)

Code:
/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/base:
total 12K
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 11K Jul 19 19:15 firmware_class.ko

Hope that helps - i'll try to find the option...
One thing to try: have you enabled " Prevent firmware from being built" in the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got this in Device Drivers -> Generic Driver Options:

Code:
[ ] Select only drivers that don't need compile-time external firmware
[ ] Prevent firmware from being built
<*> Hotplug firmware loading support

_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now module 'firmware_class' is loaded (after I have set both a.m. Generic driver options and recompiled kernel plus modules), however, to no avail. The card is still not working, both before and after pressing the "wireless LAN" switch. :-(
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I also changed the "Hotplug firmware loading support" option to be a module. Obviously, "firmware_class" is provided and needed by the hotplug system.
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you get in dmesg and messages when loading and after you press the button?
Which kernel are you using?
Does the card work if you issue the echo command you mentoined earlier?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will answer later this evening as I'm now out.

Thanks anyway for your help and patience so far!
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

elestedt wrote:
What do you get in dmesg and messages when loading and after you press the button?
Which kernel are you using?
Does the card work if you issue the echo command you mentoined earlier?


1) Kernel is: gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r4

2) Issuing the echo command would not help.

3) This is the output of dmesg after "modprobe ipw2200":
Code:
ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, 1.0.3
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2004 Intel Corporation
ipw2200: Detected Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
ipw2200: Radio Frequency Kill Switch is On:
Kill switch must be turned off for wireless networking to work.
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send RTS_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send FRAG_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send POWER_MODE command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send RTS_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send FRAG_THRESHOLD command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send POWER_MODE command
ipw2200: No space for Tx
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command

4) This is "modprobe ipw2200" after pressing the "wireless lan" switch (and after "Disabling IRQ #10" has appeared on the screen):
Code:
ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, 1.0.3
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2004 Intel Corporation
ipw2200: Detected Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: failed to send TX_POWER command
ipw2200: Unable to initialize device after 5 attempts.
ipw2200: failed to register network device
ipw2200: probe of 0000:06:03.0 failed with error -5


:-(
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I Would do the following:
1. Purge ipw2200* from the system
2. Upgrade kernel (or at least recompile with: make && make modules_install) - gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r6 is stable
3. Install ipw again.

Probably won't do any difference - but it's worth a try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a first step I unmerged ipw2200*. Funny enough, after I rebooted the modules "ipw2200" and "ieee80211*" are still there and being loaded! 8O

I've the impression that something on my system is plain wrong. Since I've just installed a fresh Gentoo a couple of days ago I'm considering just to start all over again...
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a reinstall could work...
But epgrading the kernel should be enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, upgraded to gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r6, however, same result: Wireless card doesn't work and the same strange error messages in dmesg. However, I know for sure that yesterday evening these error messages were not present although I already had this
Code:
ipw2200: Radio Frequency Kill Switch is On:
Kill switch must be turned off for wireless networking to work.

message.

If the hardware was broken the card wouldn't work from the Gentoo CD, so we can exclude that. I'm still thinking to do a re-install. However, this is by far not my first Gentoo installation (it's the first one on a notebook) and I can't see what should have gone wrong this time... :(
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elestedt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ipw2200: Radio Frequency Kill Switch is On:
Kill switch must be turned off for wireless networking to work.

seems to be part of the driver - since I have this and my card works.

Many things seem to be able to go wrong in any number of ways... most of the errors I've had was due to bad USE-flags or optimizations.
I can tell you that gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r6 and ipw2200-1.0.3 and ipw2200-firmware-2.2 since that what I use...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milu
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 1122
Location: Poland, Konstancin-Jeziorna

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe looking for acerhk module in portage will help a little. I know that there is support for additional keys in acer laptops.
This error about Radio switch is from HW - it shouldn't be driver issue.
_________________
Pozdrawiam,
Milu
------------------------------------
Registered Linux User: #246079

Zanim zadasz pytanie przeczytaj to dokładnie!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi maystorm,

it has indeed to do with the radio on setting and your button on the front of your nice 4101WLMI :)

I have the following in /etc/modules.d/ipw2200
Code:
options ipw2200 disable=1 led=1


After you entered this you have to run
Code:
modules-update


Then you can remove the ipw2200 module and load it again with modprobe and look if you get the red led in the front already burning - try to start net.eth1 and if it does not work press the button and try it again ...

This should work ...

HTH
swimmer

PS: (I have an 4001WLMI btw)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maystorm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2002
Posts: 222
Location: Germany, not far away

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all your replies. I'll check your hints and give an update this evening.
_________________
Linux user #216018
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum