View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
littleman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 114 Location: Paris
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:52 am Post subject: Hotplug won't start-forgot to use SYSCTL in kernel[solved] |
|
|
I've emerged Hotplug but when I type
# /etc/init.d/hotplug start
it says that CONFIG_HOTPLUG hasn't been enabled for this kernel
but I DO have CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y set in my kernel :p
Any idea what's the pb here? _________________ La différence entre la théorie et la pratique, c'est qu'en théorie, y'a pas de différence entre la théorie et la pratique.
Last edited by littleman on Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:55 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
qermit Veteran
Joined: 02 Feb 2005 Posts: 1032
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Check your config and kernel again. _________________ "A co ty masz w swoim LinuXie?" - Dr Qermit |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Deathwing00 Bodhisattva
Joined: 13 Jun 2003 Posts: 4087 Location: Dresden, Germany
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Kernel & Hardware.
Quote: |
General setup --->
[*] Support for hot-pluggable devices
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
littleman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 114 Location: Paris
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
I DO have CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y set in my kernel _________________ La différence entre la théorie et la pratique, c'est qu'en théorie, y'a pas de différence entre la théorie et la pratique. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raistlin l33t
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 691 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
littleman wrote: | I DO have CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y set in my kernel |
sorry, again do you actually use a kernel that has been compiled with CONFIG_HOTPLUG, or is it just your .config file that has this option set?
cheers, R. _________________ Zwei Was Eins Initially
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
littleman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 114 Location: Paris
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
well, I'm using the kernel for which I used that .config if that's what you mean :p _________________ La différence entre la théorie et la pratique, c'est qu'en théorie, y'a pas de différence entre la théorie et la pratique. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raistlin l33t
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 691 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
yes, that's what I meant...
please post your
and Code: | cat /usr/src/linux/.version |
cheers, r. _________________ Zwei Was Eins Initially
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
littleman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 114 Location: Paris
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Linux koala 2.6.12-gentoo-r6 #4 Thu Jul 21 13:12:30 CEST 2005 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 Mobile CPU 1.70GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Code: | cat /usr/src/linux/.version |
4
Does that help ?
Funny thing, but where is the code for hotplug?
I did
Code: | find /usr/src/linux -name *hotplug* |
and I just see files for pci-hotplug
does that mean that my sources do not contain the code for hotplug??????????? _________________ La différence entre la théorie et la pratique, c'est qu'en théorie, y'a pas de différence entre la théorie et la pratique. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raistlin l33t
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 691 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
that's normal - there does not exist a file called hotplug.
Actually the init script /etc/init.d/hotplug only checks whether the file Code: | /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug | is present. Because you get an error, I assume you won't find it manally either.
So, you _do_ have a problem with your kernel config...
You may post your .config file - maybe we see something.
Cheers, R. _________________ Zwei Was Eins Initially
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
littleman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 114 Location: Paris
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Problem solved
when you told me to check the file
/proc/sys/kernel/hotplug
I noticed that it wasn't there...so I checked my .config AGAIN, and I added SYSCTL support.
Now it's working. But I couldn't see anywhere that SYSCTL was a requirement for hotplug...
anyway, thanks a lot for your help ;op _________________ La différence entre la théorie et la pratique, c'est qu'en théorie, y'a pas de différence entre la théorie et la pratique. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Raistlin l33t
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 691 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
glad it works now.
Quote: | config SYSCTL
bool "Sysctl support"
---help---
The sysctl interface provides a means of dynamically changing
certain kernel parameters and variables on the fly without requiring
a recompile of the kernel or reboot of the system. The primary
interface consists of a system call, but if you say Y to "/proc
file system support", a tree of modifiable sysctl entries will be
generated beneath the /proc/sys directory. They are explained in the
files in <file:Documentation/sysctl/>. Note that enabling this
option will enlarge the kernel by at least 8 KB.
As it is generally a good thing, you should say Y here unless
building a kernel for install/rescue disks or your system is very
limited in memory.
|
I told you the config was broken )
(how to acces /proc/sys/XXX without a populated directory )
cheers, R. _________________ Zwei Was Eins Initially
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|