View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:55 pm Post subject: Which php install is in use? |
|
|
Portage does not seem to contain the version of php5.0.4 that I want so I have compiled it from scratch. No problem. The issue comes that when I execute my info.php to see what is installed, it points to /usr/local/php. But the trouble is, there is no directory there!
There is also no php directory under /etc as I removed it. My php pages are still being served but Apache is very slow serving phph pages rihgt now. The trouble is that I do not know from where php is currently operating as both the /etc/php and the /usr/local/php directory's have been moved. Any clues?
This is what I compiled php with:
Code: | ./configure' '--with-apxs2=/usr/sbin/apxs2' '--with-mysql' '--prefix=/usr/local/php' '--with-config-file-path=/usr/local/php' '--enable-force-cgi-redirect' '--disable-cgi' '--with-zlib' '--with-gettext' '--with-gdbm' |
Where is php getting it configuration from? (php.ini). Even slocate php.ini only brings up from the original source directory. Would it be better if I could have emerged it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cokey Advocate
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 3355
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeah, emerge it before saying you're having problems with it. Also try updatedb before slocating _________________ https://otw20.com/ OTW20 The new place for off the wall chat |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The emerged copy of php still says v4.4.0 even after I have unmasked me ~x86 copy. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cokey Advocate
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 3355
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
is it in keywords and unmask? how is it masked? _________________ https://otw20.com/ OTW20 The new place for off the wall chat |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
cokey Advocate
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 3355
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
so it's just keyworded? _________________ https://otw20.com/ OTW20 The new place for off the wall chat |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well forgive my obvious ignorance, but what else do you do to lift the masked items? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cokey Advocate
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 3355
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
JulesF wrote: | Well forgive my obvious ignorance, but what else do you do to lift the masked items? | thats cool, we all have to learn these things about Gentoo, its what makes the distro different.
To unmask a hardmasked package you have to add it to /etc/portage/package.unmask, to unmask a keyworded package you add it to package.keywords etc and so-on. have a look here, here and here. _________________ https://otw20.com/ OTW20 The new place for off the wall chat |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for that. Only issue is that even though I have placed dev-php/php ~x86 within both the keywords and unmask files, php still only makes v4.4.0 available and not v5.0.4. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cokey Advocate
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 3355
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i asked the head php dev and he said its experimental and being tested at the moment. It isn't suitable for usage yet.
Sorry mate. _________________ https://otw20.com/ OTW20 The new place for off the wall chat |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What v5.0.4? I have been using this for some three months without any issue until now. But in all honesty, how can I decide if it is PHP or Apache that is the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nobspangle Veteran
Joined: 23 Mar 2004 Posts: 1318 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
to check which packages are available
Code: | etcat -v <package name> |
example
Code: | etcat -v php
[ Results for search key : php ]
[ Candidate applications found : 4 ]
Only printing found installed programs.
* dev-php/php :
[ ] 4.3.11 (0)
[ I] 4.4.0 (0)
[M~ ] 5.0.4-r1 (0)
[M~ ] 5.1.0_beta-r2 (0) |
the ~ means the packages is masked by a keyword, the M means the package is hard masked. To unmask the package you need to explicitly set the version.
Code: | echo =dev-php/php-5.0.4-r1 >> /etc/portage/package.unmask |
If you want mod_php you will need to repeat for that package also
Code: | echo =dev-php/mod_php-5.0.4 >> /etc/portage/package.unmask |
Then just emerge php mod_php, you may find that they depend on masked versions of other packages in which case you will need to unmask those. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trossachs Veteran
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 1204 Location: London
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for this nob. Have entered the details for mod_php as indicatd, but it still shows the 4x version even though 5.0.4 is listed when I run:
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|