View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
RayQ Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 93
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:07 am Post subject: [SOLVED] dhcpcd eth0 needed in every boot? |
|
|
Hi, I've noticed I don't have internet access from the start of boot. I have to su, and then do
For it to work, every time, after starting X or whatever.
Is there any way this could be done automatically on boot?
Thanks
Last edited by RayQ on Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:34 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nephros Advocate
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 Posts: 2139 Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
usually it should, if your /etc/conf.d/net is configured correctly and the driver for your NIC is autoloaded at startup (if it is built modular).
What does your /etc/conf.d/net look like?
Do you get any error messages at bootup? _________________ Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mikegpitt Advocate
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 3224
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is net.eth0 in your default runlevel?
Check by doing this:
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
RayQ Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 93
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
xdm [ started ]
ntp-client [ off ]
sshd [ started ]
acpid [ started ]
local [ started ]
mysql [ started ]
vixie-cron [ started ]
syslog-ng [ started ]
domainname [ started ]
coldplug [ started ]
net.eth0 [ started ]
netmount [ started ]
xinetd [ started ]
hotplug [ started ]
|
Code: |
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"
|
I think it's the /etc/conf.d/net file...shouldn't it be iface_eth0="dhcp"? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mikegpitt Advocate
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 3224
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You didn't configure your conf.d/net as nephros suggested. Make these changes
current:
Code: | iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..." |
changes:
Code: | #iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
iface_eth0="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth0="-t 3" |
You can read more about this int he gentoo handbook in section '8.b. Networking Information'. I think things may have changed a bit with the new baselayout, but the above way will still work.
Note: -t 3 sets only a three second timeout for dhcp. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nephros Advocate
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 Posts: 2139 Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
RayQ wrote: | I think it's the /etc/conf.d/net file...shouldn't it be iface_eth0="dhcp"? |
First off this looks like an older version of this config file.
Make sure you have the latest version of baselyout, and have a look at /etc/conf.d/net.example first. (I am running ~x86 though, it could be that the new config version hasn't made it into stable yet. In that case, forget it. )
Anyway, with your current settup eth0 is given a fixed IP of 192.168.0.2 and dhcp is never used.
You could try the following:
Code: |
iface_eth0="dhcp"
alias_eth0="192.168.0.2"
|
This will create two virtual networking devices, eth0 with the dhcp address, and eth0:1 with 192.168.0.2.
If you don't have a LAN connected to eth0 though you can leave out the alias.
HTH. _________________ Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RayQ Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 93
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|