View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
TheAl Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 134
|
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:05 am Post subject: VLAN's, udev and renaming Virtual Network Interfaces |
|
|
Hi,
1st, my goal :
Setup a linux box with 802.1Q VLANs and rename interfaces to something more readable.
I can rename NI with the udev stuff, and it seems to be the best way to do it.
I can setup VLANs, with MAC incremented for all vlans (but, there is a bug if you plan to use both _native_ interface (aka untagged) *and* vlans, because the Gentoo init script olny increment MAC for the 2nd VLAN, so you have 2 interfaces with same MAC ...).
But, VLANs are setup after the udev stuff, so I cannot rename VLANs.
I can workarround this with preup and postup() functions, but I think this can be better if supported by Gentoo init scripts.
Any ideas how to do it ? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheAldo n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/454548606452f4638de89d.jpg)
Joined: 09 Dec 2004 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I'm encountering the same need here.
Any got an idea or a status of the net scripts ?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have no idea what the problem even is.
Try posting your configs and what you expect to happen and what really happens |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheAl Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 134
|
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 1:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, sorry for my so bad english
I want to setup VLAN interfaces on my network card.
So I can do it using /etc/conf.d/net :
Code: | vconfig_eth0=( "set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD" )
vlans_eth0="2 999 18 10" |
1st problem is to setup a MAC address for each VLAN, because the switch behind cannot have same MAC on different VLAN (this is normal).
So, add this :
Code: | mac_vlan2=("00:0c:6e:ee:ee:5b")
mac_vlan999=("00:0c:6e:ee:ee:5c")
mac_vlan18=("00:0c:6e:ee:ee:5d")
mac_vlan10=("00:0c:6e:ee:ee:5f")
|
and it's working well.
Now, to make it simplier to admin and understand, I want to rename those VLAN interface, for exemple vlan2 -> mgt
How to do it ?
I cannot use the udev renaming scheme, because udev is already started when I create subinterfaces. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 5:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
baselayout-1.12.0-pre1 will feature a "rename" module which allows the following
Code: | # Rename by interface name
rename_vlan2="mgt"
# Rename by MAC
rename_000C6EEEEE5B="mgt"
|
EDIT: This doesn't work for vlans - heh. Not sure what I can do about this as the vlan is sill reported with the old interface name whereas it's real one has changed - which makes it impossible to stop as it stands. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheAl Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 134
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | EDIT: This doesn't work for vlans - heh. Not sure what I can do about this as the vlan is sill reported with the old interface name whereas it's real one has changed - which makes it impossible to stop as it stands. |
I can see 2 options :
1/ Modify the vconfig tool to accept renaming vlan interfaces at setup (probably hard to do)
2/ Playing with udev and force a reload (udevstart) after the vlan creation to rename it
Let me know what is the best way to do it. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
TheAl wrote: | Let me know what is the best way to do it. |
The best way todo it is to hack the VLAN kernel module to report the new interface name via /proc/net/vlan/config.
At this time, I'm very tempted to stop the rename module working for vlan interfaces as it will cause too many problems.
I don't see this at that big an issue - especially as vconfig allows 4 different naming schemes.
However, if you thing it's that big an issue, and can provide a working patch to our up and coming 1.12.0pre1 release then we'll look at it. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheAl Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 134
|
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | ]I don't see this at that big an issue - especially as vconfig allows 4 different naming schemes.
|
It's not a big issue, just easy to manage. Let me take an example, a fireall. To limit network cards in PC (and dont use expansive Multiple interface card) we setup 802.1Q VLAN on a gigabit interface with maybe 6 active subinterfaces.
When editing rules and routing, it's realy easier to have "dmz" "lan" "vpn" network interfaces than VLAN002, VLAN123, ...
UberLord wrote: | ]The best way todo it is to hack the VLAN kernel module to report the new interface name via /proc/net/vlan/config. |
Yes, seems the best way to do it.
Will take a look if I a can get some spare time ![Sad :(](images/smiles/icon_sad.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
BTW, it does cause too many problems, so 1.12.0_pre2 (in portage) doesn't allow VLAN interfaces to be renamed. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|