Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Neverwinter Nights, migrating from single user......
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Larcen
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:17 pm    Post subject: Neverwinter Nights, migrating from single user...... Reply with quote

I want to take my single user install I've been running for a couple years and change it to a portage deal, where the other users on my computer can use it, and what not without me having to cp -R the install directory to everyone's user directory. If someone would be kind enough to offer some advice on how I should go about doing this, please, I am all ears.
russianpirate
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well if you emerged all the games... theyll work fine as long as all users are games group.. unless u just installed it in ur home dir.. then i would reemerge all the games u did that to
Larcen
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats the thing, I haven't emerged any of them, I installed them all manually. Into my ~ directory.
thunderlove
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Better to emerge -- there have been changes and bug fixes. Then just copy your older stuff over.

Anyways, to answer your question:

move it to /opt or /usr/local -- [fyi the emerge places it at /opt/nwn]

Do something like
Code:
$ su
$ cp -R /home/larcen/nwn /opt

Then go through and change all the file owner/groups to root/game chown -R root:games /opt/nwn, remove world/group writables chmod -R og-w /opt/nwn, reset the group write on the save dirs (better, make them sticky)

One last thing: the emerge uses an old SDL lib, i presume yours does too. You will probably want to change that, too.