Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 3c59x module not found, no networking [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: eth0 3c59x module not found, no networking [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have read numerous forum discussions about this
and still I am lost. Any help would appreciated. For the record, I can boot with my cd and
when I do this my network works fine....go figure.


Last edited by bballer320xu on Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:25 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

Please show us the Ethernet lines from
Code:
lspci

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its a 3Com tornado rev 78 card. the module is 3c59x.ko 3c59x.o does not exist. I have emerged dhcpcd and it provides for dhcp which is correctly configured to run. Interesting enough though, when I do a net.eth0 restart the module 3c59x.ko is not listed. Thanks in advance for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any help would be appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

The full name of the module is 3c59x.ko
Is it listed in
Code:
modprobe -l -t net


Also check
Code:
grep VORTEX /usr/src/linux/.config

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In modprobe 3c59x.ko is found. The full address is:

/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/net/3c59x.ko

Grep VORTEX reveals the following:

CONFIG_VORTEX=m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

Thats good.
do
Code:
 modprobe 3c59x
then
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart


Does
Code:
ifconfig
show eth0 with an IP address?
Does it work ?

It can be automated - post back
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

When I do modprobe 3c59x I get this:

WARNING: Error inserting mii (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/net/mii.ko)
: invalid module format
FATAL: Error inserting 3c59x (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/net/3c59x.ko)
: invalid module format

When I restart eth0, I get the eth0 does not exist error.

And since i'm not connected ifconfig doesnt show an IP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

Something has happened to make your kernel, its modules and module-init-tools get compiled with different compiler versions.
The cure is to rebuild them. You may not need to do them all.

The fastest is
Code:
emerge module-init-tools
does modprobe 3c59x work now ?
If so, contimue with my previous post.
If not, do
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
make modules
make modules_install
This will rebuild and install all your kernel modules. does modprobe 3c59x work now ?
If so, contimue with my previous post. If not tell me how you made your kernel. By hand or with genkernel.
Your kernel needs to be recompiled.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Actually I did something like that in an effort to repair my network. First I built my own with all necessary networking configs. But since it wasnt working, I tried genkernel, which is where I am at now.
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

I did:

cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
make modules
make modules_install

and I still get this result with a modprobe:

WARNING: Error inserting mii (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/net/mii.ko)
: invalid module format
FATAL: Error inserting 3c59x (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/net/3c59x.ko)
: invalid module format
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

Did you also do
Code:
 emerge module-init-tools

If the modprove still fails, you will need to run genkernel again to make and install your kernel.

When your kernel is installed, reboot to load it, then modprobe once more.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,


I definately did the following:

Code:
emerge module-init-tools


and it didnt help matters much.

Ill run genkernel again but I really dont think thats the problem as I've reinstalled my kernel 3 times now without luck. Thanks for the help though. I just hope I can get this network working so I dont have to revert back to mandrake.
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting....


while running genkernel I get the following error and the compilation stops:

ERROR: FAILED to compile the "modules" target
consult log for more info

Looking at the log there is no information that seems useful.

Ugh...
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

The log will tell you where it went wrong and what happened. Plese post the end of the log. The last 40 lines or so.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im working on it, but of course my floppy and cdburner dont work so I have no way of getting it over here...............

make[1]: *** [net/ipv6/ah6.mod.o] Error 2
make[1]: *** [net/ipv6/esp6.mod.o] Error 2
make: *** [modules] Error 2
* Gentoo linux genkernel version 3.3
* running with options all

* ERROR: failed to compile the modules target

* end log

these lines seem the most prevalant though
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

Code:
make[1]: *** [net/ipv6/ah6.mod.o] Error 2

Means that monething in the IPv6 failed. The reason is further up the log.
If doesn't matter though. You don't need IPv6.

The work around for now is to configure it out. I'm not a genkernel user but I think it has an option
Code:
 --menuconfig
or try
Code:
genkernel --help


When genkernel startx menuconfig for you navigate to
Device Drivers -> Networking support -> Networking options
and turn off The IPv6 protocol, so it has a [ ] next to it.
Save your change as you exit.
Allow genkernel to complete, install the kernel if genkernel does not do it for you, then reboot to test.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will do, thanks again....Ill let you know how it goes.
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I successfully ran genkernel, installed the new kernel, rebooted, and still when I run modprobe on 3c59x I get the invalid module errors. I think my laptop hates me.
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer320xu,

Hmm, maybe not. genkernel hates everyone. Run
Code:
uname -a
does the time stamp shown agree with when you comiled your kernel last?

Do you use Grub or Lilo for your bootloader ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow this is interesting now....It says the following:

Linux gentoo-box 2.6.12-gentoo-r6 #1 SMP Tue Jul 26 07:16:21 EST 2005 i686 Intel(R) Pentium 4 Mobile CPU 2.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Today is thursday.....................HMMMM............

And I use GRUB for my bootloader

Also note that during the boot process many errors show up pertaining the module failures to load. I dont think it's localised to my networking module.
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtaski
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 168
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bballer.. are you copying to new kernel you compile to /boot?

# cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-name-for-grub-or-lilo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bballer320xu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was it, I didnt update my kernel. When I did that and updated the bootloader I was able to start it right up! Thanks for the help NeddySeagoon and xtaski!
_________________
BBaller320xu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum