View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tgop
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:25 am    Post subject: can't start X with vesa - help Reply with quote

I am totally new to linux and i just can't seem to get xorg working! I have been trying the whole day and gotten practically nowhere. I build gentoo from suspend2-sources on Acer TravelMate 4602LCi it is based on the Centrino Sonoma chipset. It all seemed to be great but then I tried to start X. I can't even start it successfully with vesa, all it says is:
"VESA: No matching device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:2:0)"
When I boot from the minimal install cd and try to start X it starts but the screen is stretched off the screen. This stretching resembles:
|*x*x*x*x*x*x*|
|*x*x*x*x*x*x*|
|*x*x*x*x*x*x*| where: x is a pixel and * is black space - it looks like many tiny blocks half pf which are just black
|*x*x*x*x*x*x*| ->(screen should be longer - mouse moves off the screen and window layout is as if part of the screen to the right were cut off)
|*x*x*x*x*x*x*|
|*x*x*x*x*x*x*|
(sorry, I didn't know how else to describe it!)

GNOME works perfectly with Ubuntu live cd, and I think that the quickest way to resolve this would be to look at the system under the Ubuntu live cd and copy across settings, but I don't know what settings to copy!
If I try it with i810 then it the same error is received, only I810 is substituted for VESA.
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

comment the line that says PCI:0:2:0 in your xorg.conf.
linux: #232767
tgop
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikaro wrote:
comment the line that says PCI:0:2:0 in your xorg.conf.