View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
oli_f n00b
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 23 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:33 am Post subject: can't get bootsplash working [solved] |
|
|
Hello,
I just started working with gentoo, mainly to learn more about linux. So far things went fairly well, system is up and running (no X11 yet). But I just can't get this bootsplash thing working - ok, that's not essential but as I said, I'm doing this more for the experience.
My kernel is 2.6.12-gentoo-r6 (from gentoo-sources), the PC is an old PII 350 MHz having a nVidia Riva 128 graphic card. Below I will post some sections of my kernel-config, dmesg and grub.conf, as those are probably needed anyway to help me out.
I emerged the most current version of bootsplash, I tried different resolutions, color-depths etc. and used different kernel-options in grub.conf (silent,verbose,none of these, vga & vesafb, just vesafb...). I took an initrd image from /var/share/bootsplash and I generated one myself as well. Doing all this always results in the same: no image will show up at all (apart from grub's splash). Though resolution and graphic-mode settings seem to affect font size of the startup messages.
Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks a lot!
grub.conf
Code: |
default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda3 ramdisk=100 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,800x600-16@80
initrd=/boot/initrd-800x600
|
parts from kernel-config
Code: |
#
# Code maturity level options
#
CONFIG_EXPERIMENTAL=y
CONFIG_CLEAN_COMPILE=y
CONFIG_LOCK_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_INIT_ENV_ARG_LIMIT=32
...
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_COUNT=16
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_SIZE=4096
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_INITRAMFS_SOURCE=""
CONFIG_LBD=y
# CONFIG_CDROM_PKTCDVD is not set
...
#
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_SOFT_CURSOR=y
# CONFIG_FB_MACMODES is not set
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
# CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="640x480@60"
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
# CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_I810 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_INTEL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON_OLD is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY128 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_KYRO is not set
# CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_GEODE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_S1D13XXX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL is not set
#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
# CONFIG_MDA_CONSOLE is not set
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
# CONFIG_FONTS is not set
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
#
# Logo configuration
#
# CONFIG_LOGO is not set
# CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT is not set
CONFIG_FB_SPLASH=y
|
and finally some startup messages from dmesg
Code: |
Built 1 zonelists
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda3 ramdisk=100 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,800x600-16@80
Found and enabled local APIC!
mapped APIC to ffffd000 (fee00000)
Initializing CPU#0
PID hash table entries: 512 (order: 9, 8192 bytes)
Detected 348.526 MHz processor.
Using tsc for high-res timesource
qConsole: colour VGA+ 80x25
...
checking if image is initramfs...it isn't (bad gzip magic numbers); looks like an initrd
Freeing initrd memory: 27k freed
...
[drm] Initialized drm 1.0.0 20040925
vesafb: NVidia, Riva 128 Eval Card, Rev C1 (OEM: NVidia)
vesafb: VBE version: 3.0
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:4705
vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00c472c, set palette = c00c478e
vesafb: pmi: ports = 3b4 3b5 3ba 3c0 3c1 3c4 3c5 3c6 3c7 3c8 3c9 3cc 3ce 3cf 3d0 3d1 3d2 3d3 3d4 3d5 3da
vesafb: hardware supports DDC2 transfers
vesafb: monitor limits: vf = 160 Hz, hf = 96 kHz, clk = 210 MHz
vesafb: scrolling: ywrap using protected mode interface, yres_virtual=1200
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 100x37
vesafb: framebuffer at 0xf3000000, mapped to 0xc8880000, using 1875k, total 4096k
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
|
Last edited by oli_f on Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:13 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
homer77 n00b
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 Posts: 33
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:43 am Post subject: fbsplash or bootsplash? |
|
|
As far as I can see you try to use old bootsplash instead of good working fbsplah? If so you should
Code: | # emerge -C bootsplash |
and check out this really good tutorial at http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_fbsplash
when you followed these instructions and still have problems, let me know.
Oh, and if it works, too, if you mind? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oli_f n00b
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 23 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:02 pm Post subject: better but not really working yet |
|
|
Thanks for the prompt reply! I tried fbsplash instead of bootsplash now and the result is the following:
At startup it now states
Code: |
checking if image is initramfs... it is
Freeing initrd memory: 1066k freed
|
which is the correct size of my initrd image.
But unfortunately no bootsplash shows up. When the vesafb initialisation is reached the resolution is changed according to my settings - but still no bootsplash. At the very end of the startup process however
Code: |
Setting framebuffer console images ...
|
is stated and the splash image is loaded, which is fine as I added splash to the default runlevel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oli_f n00b
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 23 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just returned from short vacations but obviously nothing has been going on in this thread... Anyone got any ideas? Would be very nice!
Cheers, Oli |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oli_f n00b
Joined: 02 Aug 2005 Posts: 23 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:16 pm Post subject: problem solved... |
|
|
Ok, I just figured out what I did wrong - a pretty stupid mistake of course. I just didn't specify certain options on my kernel line in grub.conf. Such as theme:[...], quiet etc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|