Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Connection Problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:27 pm    Post subject: Connection Problems Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm having a lot of problems connecting to the internet, both with my ethernet connection and through wireless (using ndiswrapper).

Hardware:
Advent 6117 Laptop
Netgear MA521 PCMCIA wireless card / Ethernet cable
Belkin ADSL wireless router/modem (Model No. F5D7630-4A)

Software:
VLOS 1.2
Ndiswrapper ndis5x-8180(173).zip (Driver for the Netgear card)

My router is using PPPoA to connect to my network provider but I have the DHCP Server enabled.

If I connect the router to my laptop by ethernet cable, I wait a couple of seconds and then everything freezes. I don't have any mouse or keyboard control. I've left the system for an hour or two just to make sure it wasn't processing anything and come back to find it exactly the way I left it. The only thing I can do is restart the system.

As ndiswrapper was already emerged by VLOS 1.2 on install, I haven't needed to install it. I downloaded the driver for my card and went through the installation instructions. When I get to the instructions:

Code:

# iwconfig wlan0 key restricted XXXXXXXX
# iwconfig wlan0 essid ESSID


At this point the link light on my PCMCIA card comes on (as it would if I am connected to the router) and then everything freezes again. I have to restart to gain control of the system.

I read that the driver I am trying to use can be unstable, but I have as yet not been able to download the driver suggested in in this installation guide

I can't understand what the problem is. I'm pretty sure it's not a problem with the kernel, as I had this same problem with VLOS 1.1. I'd prefer wireless access of course (as I've paid for the bloody hardware!) but any kind of connection would be nice!

Any help would be much appreciated.

With thanks

N.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LoDown
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 189
Location: Louisville, Ky

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds to be like it is a DHCP problem. Perhaps dis-able how your NIC's are calling DHCP, and set the IP address, route, and nameservers manually, just to test if this is the case.

To set ip
Code:
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ifconfig eth0 up

To set name servers
Code:
cp /etc/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf.old
cat "nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx" > /etc/resolv.conf

To set the route
Code:
route add default gw xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx eth0
where that IP address is the IP of your router.

Replace eth0 with whatever interface you are using.
_________________
Please remember to add [SOLVED] to your topic subject line when it is solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.

I got up to this command:

Code:

ifconfig eth0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx


and the system has frozen again.

Cheers

N
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just been talking to belkin support who have told me the router operates independently of the OS on the network node. Does anyone else know of anything else I can try?

Cheers

N
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkyrikg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Initially I'd agree with LoDown, it sounds like a DHCP problem. However, I also had some major issues with ndiswrapper and the driver for my Wireless card, and the symptoms I had were very much like yours, system freezes ya da ya da.

I would suggest the following to get you started, some connection is better than none.

1) Edit the /etc/conf.d/net such that eth0 has a hard-wired IP addy

Code:
iface_eth0="192.168.1.5 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"


2) Remove the wireless card from startup (if its there)

Code:
rc-update del net.wlan0


3) Try restarting your eth0 interface.
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop; /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start


Once you have your kit up and running it should be a lot easier to start making changes to determine where the problem lies. I would ensure that you can get DHCP working for at least your ethernet card. If DHCP works fine for the ethernet card, we can rule that out, therefore the underlying problem may be with your Wireless kit.

I believe the underlying problem I had my wireless card was the version of the driver. The chipset of my card was minor revision 3, the driver was minor revision 1. Window$ didn't care but ndiswrapper seemed sensitive. So perhaps check that the driver is definately correct for your card (check for updates with your vendor).

As I said at the top of this post, I upgraded the kernel 2.6 following the handy guide http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/migration-to-2.6.xml and since doing so I have had no pain at all with Wireless. Not sure which Kernel your using or how its compiled, but it may be worth a crack if you have a free weekend.
_________________
Regards
Rik Gordon
Registered Linux User #365284
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the last post.

I got upto command number 3 and the system froze again.

I edited conf.d/net to use a static IP address and then instead of starting and stopping the system then, I restarted with the new file.

The system froze when started eth0.

Could this be a problem with genkernel not loading the apropriate module for my ethernet?

I don't understand how both my ethernet AND wireless can be freezing the system.

Any help up till this point and further help is appreciated

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkyrikg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think if your having issues with your ethernet card too then perhaps you have more serious problems, though I'm not yet convinced that they are unrelated to your wireless card.

How did you compile your kernel? Manually or using genkernel? It may be worthwhile taking some time to go back over that phase of your installation, compile your kernel manually following the instructions in the Gentoo docs.

Initially I would remove support for wireless, see if you can get your system stable with just your ethernet card. Once you have a stable system getting wireless to work may be easier.

To be honest I didn't get stability until I upgraded my system to the latest stable kernel version. I then emerge'd system and world. Maybet it would be worth your while doing this.
_________________
Regards
Rik Gordon
Registered Linux User #365284
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok the status of things right now are....I've reinstalled Gentoo with the new 2005.1 CD. The system boots up fine without the ethernet cable in.

When the ethernet cable is in the system says

Code:

Starting eth0
        Bringing up eth0
        dhcp
              Running dhcpcd....


Now the system doesn't freeze anymore as the cursor is still blinking. The light on my router is blinking which would suggest there is some communication going on but I've left the system for an hour and it's still running dhcpcd.

The same symptoms occur when I let the system boot without the ethernet cable in and then start eth0 manually.
I've also tried setting the router to use a Static IP addy and setting the address in gentoo myself - still with the same result as above.

Thanks for any help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkyrikg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi neosenate,

Can you please post your /etc/conf.d/net configuration.
_________________
Regards
Rik Gordon
Registered Linux User #365284
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah sure this is the configuration:

Code:

#config_eth0=( "192.168.2.5 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
#routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.2.1" )

config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="nontp  nonis"


The first two lines are commented out. I left them in there so u can see how I attempted to set the connection without DHCP.

EDIT: If I comment out the dhcp_eth0="nontp nonis" line I get a !! on boot and netmount isn't started. If I leave it in it says 'Running dhcpcd...' and that's where it stays.

In my /etc/conf.d/domainname file I have DNSDOMAIN="Belkin"

and my /etc/conf.d/hostname HOSTNAME="tux".

my /etc/hosts file looks like this...
Code:

127.0.0.1 localhost tux
#192.168.2.2 k.Belkin k
#192.168.2.3 DESKTOP.Belkin DESKTOP
#192.168.2.4 tux.Belkin tux

# IPV6 versions of localhost and co
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts


the specific network nodes are commented out as I didn't want to confuse the problem.

Thanks for all the help

N
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*shameless shameless bump*

If anyone can help I'd really appreciate it. We're building a new system and if I can't get this working on the laptop there ain't no way I'll be allowed to try and put this on it!

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok I set my /etc/conf.d/net file to the following to see if I can manually set the IP etc

Code:
config_eth0=( "192.168.2.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.100" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.2.1" )


I then run
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart


I get this:

Code:
Stopping eth0
  Bringing down eth0
    Shutting down eth0 ...
Starting eth0
  Bringing up eth0
    192.168.2.4
  Adding routes
    default gw 192.168.2.1


If I try and ping my router I get 100% packet loss.

Interestingly enough if I run route -n I get the following

Code:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway     Genmask         Flags   Metric   Ref   Use   Iface
192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0     255.255.255.0    U       0        0    0     eth0
127.0.0.0   127.0.0.1   255.0.0.0        U       0        0    0     lo
0.0.0.0     192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0          UG      0        0    0     eth0


Now I obviously don't know much about much but I didn't think eth0 should be there twice with two different gateways and two different destinations.



Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j0nnyr0773n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Were you ever able to get your wireless working? I have the exact same wireless card MA521 and I cannot get it up either. I was able to get the drivers installed and everything, but everytime I type
Quote:
dhcpcd wlan0

the system freezes for good, and I have to shut the power off. Same thing if I boot with the card in. It's supposedly in the list of compatible cards, but I'm beginning to have my doubts. To make things worse, I do not have any other way to connect with the laptop, as it has no ethernet ports on it.

-=j0nnyr0773n=-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neosenate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I never got the wireless or the ethernet working at all. After trying the new versions of Gentoo and VLOS, I tried SUSE, Ubuntu and Mandrake. I still haven't managed to fix the problem. The same problem occurs on every version of linux I put on the laptop - the system just freezes when I plug in the ethernet cable or try to connect with the wireless card.

I posted on my uni newsgroups and someone there said it sounds like a problem with the kernel but I have absolutely NO idea how to diagnose the problem let alone fix it! It's really annoying as well because it basically means I have a laptop that is sat there. I know it's possible to use it without the internet but even simple things like installing new software becomes an absolute pita!

If anyone can help I would really appreciate it.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum