View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
detz Apprentice
Joined: 19 Feb 2004 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:37 am Post subject: Reboot and eth0 can't be found. |
|
|
Network was working great and I started to emerge updates. While it was updating(Mozilla I think) It froze so I had to restart(another story on why it freezes, no idea) so when I boot back up I get the message start DHCP...net0 not found. I had an issue like this onces with another server and it seemed if I restarted coldplug it would find it...well, coldplug is not on this computer and I can't emerge it because I don't have Internet access! Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bkunlimited l33t
Joined: 18 Jun 2004 Posts: 672
|
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
check if the module for your network card is loaded. if not load it manually and restart net.eth0 script |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Penulci Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Jun 2002 Posts: 119 Location: Vienna, Austria
|
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
If your problem was solved with coldplug you may simply reboot your computer without network support.
Then modprobe the module of your NIC Code: | modprobe 'your NIC's module' |
and start dhcpcd manually.
To avoid such problems it would be a good idea to compile your NIC driver in your kernel instead as a module.
In case you use modules for your PCI components you have to install coldplug and put it to the default runlevel.
greetings, Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
detz Apprentice
Joined: 19 Feb 2004 Posts: 175
|
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How can I find out what the module is that loaded my NIC? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Penulci Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Jun 2002 Posts: 119 Location: Vienna, Austria
|
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You have to know what NIC you are using and look up the module's name.
You will find it eg if you Code: | cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig |
in Device Drivers -- Networking Support -- Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit).
If you have absolutely no idea what NIC you are using run Code: | cat /proc/pci | grep Ethernet | This should give you the type of NIC you are using. Then you can chosse the proper option in your kernel and compile and install it new.
greetings, Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|