View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
smorrey n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:29 am Post subject: Instability with NPTL |
|
|
Hello, everyone, I was having the infamous kde bug, where when attempting to view a website I would get a message about "process died unexpectedly"
The consensus in that thread was that I should add "nptl nptlonly" to my USE flags and recompile glibc.
It worked!
Only problem is that now alot of my apps have become really unstable. KDE works fine, but lots of other stuff will launch and stay open a couple of seconds then die.
I just recompiled my kernel and that seems to have helped especially with 3D apps (I'm thinking radeon needed to be recompiled). However I'm still getting glitches in alot of programs that use GTK, for instance GIMP
My question then is should I try to do a complete rebuild of the world? And if so, how do I rebuild my entire system
emerge -ud --world
Doesn't seem to cut it, doing it, calculates dependencies and rebuilds any apps that have recently changed versions but it doesn't seem to want to rebuild the entire application set.
My other thinking, and the reason I posted here, is because NPTL is a kernel feature, was there some kernel option I was supposed to enable to allow compatibility?
Anyways, any help is appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
electrofreak l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/15031571814205af8bce539.gif)
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 713 Location: Ohio, USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
I believe you will have to rebuild the whole system. You would do this with:
Code: | emerge gcc && emerge gcc && emerge -eav system |
There is nothing in the kernel that you need to config for NPTL to work. But you do need to make sure that you do have 2.6 linux headers, which I believe are now a default in gentoo. Also the reason that we're emerging gcc twice is because it needs to build it once to be new, then a second time to be compiled with the optimizations from the new gcc.
You will also want this in /etc/portage/package.keywords :
Code: | sys-devel/gcc ~x86
sys-devel/gcc-config ~x86
sys-libs/libstdc++-v3 ~x86
sys-libs/glibc ~x86
|
EDIT: added more usefull info. _________________ Desktop: ABit AN8, Athlon64 X2 4400+ 939 2.75GHz, 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR400, 2x160GB SATA RAID-0, 2x20"W, Vista Ultimate x64
Laptop: 15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz, 2x1GB RAM, 160GB, Mac OS X 10.5.1
Server: PIII 550Mhz, 3x128MB RAM, 160GB, Ubuntu Server 7.10 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dandelion n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Aug 2005 Posts: 11 Location: Case Pilote
|
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
What is the point in having an 'unstable' toolchain and glibc? Is this really some magical way to achieve perfect system stability? ![Wink ;)](images/smiles/icon_wink.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
smorrey n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 4:55 am Post subject: That scares me |
|
|
Wholly cow, seriously using unstable all the way across the board like that freaks me out just looking at it.
I'm not using anything in unstable mode except ati-drivers, and even those are unmerged again at the moment since ATI can't pull it's head out of it's ass and release a driver for 3D card, capable of handling both 2D (composite) and 3D (DRI). One things for certain, anything with ATI logo on it, is never getting my dollars again
/end rant
Anyways, other than the keywords mentioned above, I do think that the recompile is a really good if time consuming idea. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
smorrey n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 May 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:07 am Post subject: Compile crashed... |
|
|
Ok doing the above caused it to bork out with some errors, so I tried this and it seems to work fine...
emerge -ud --world --newuse
Any caveats I should be aware of? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|