Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problems with eth0 and eth1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stijnb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: problems with eth0 and eth1 Reply with quote

Hi

I just installed gentoo (I'm new) and my network isn't working
when I do
Code:
lspci

I can see both my wired network card
and my wireless.
when I do
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

it just gives red !! at the end of the first line (getting up dhcp I think) it doesn't give an error
also net.eth1 doesn't exist but I do have eth1 enabled in /etc/conf.d/net

when I do ifconfig eth1 or ifconfig eth0 I get the error
Code:
Error fetching interface information : Device Not Found


also I got dhcpcd installed

I'm using genkernel and I have no idea where to go from here.

I once had gentoo before without genkernel and I didn't have this problem.
hope it is enough information to help me out

thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1742
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That "device not found" error makes me wonder if your card's driver is present. Have you checked your kernel config or ran lsmod?
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54829
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stijnb,

I suspect that eth0 and eth1 have swapped over between the liveCD and your own kernel.
The logical names eth0 and eth1 are allocated on a first come first served basis. You can control it be listing the module names for your network cards in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
The one nearest the top of the file will be eth0 - always.

You may have noticed, when you do
Code:
ls -l /etc/init.d
that the file net.eth0 is a symbolic link to net.lo. To create a net.eth1 file, which you need to start your eth1, make another symbolic link called net.eth1, like this:-
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth1


Now you can run
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart
to try to restart eth1.
You can also do
Code:
rc-update net.eth1 add defualt
so it starts at boot
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stijnb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

k thx,

I also did lsmod once I got
Code:

module               size                used by

rtc                      8488              0
usbcore               75064            1
ntfs                     88080            2


and when I rebooted I got nothing.

I do think I have a problem with the drivers. but I don't know how to install them! I looked into the kernel and everything from the ethernet 10/100 section was included or included as module.

but when I do
Code:
make modules_install

I get an error message that dn-snapshot.ko is using an unknown character

maybe my modules aren't installed properly because of that wich means my drivers aren't installed properly

is this right?

thx in advance
_________________
Belgium...that's were daddy's from!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54829
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stijnb,

make modules_install copies your modules from the place where they were built (/usr/scr/linux) to the place where modprobe can find them to load them. The command also caclulates dependancies, so you can modpobel something and all the dependant modules are loaded too.

It appears you have two ethernet ports - that not the same thing as having eth0 and eth1.
Run
Code:
ifconfig -a
it will show you all the logical ethernet devices the kernel knows about.
If you only have lo, then your ethernet kernel modules need to be modprobed.

If you know their names,
Code:
modprobe <name>
to load one.

If you don't know the names you can discover them as follows:-
Boot with the liveCD, check that the network works and run
Code:
ifconfig -a
If only eth0 is there, this will only discover the module for one of your ethernet links.
Run lsmod and write down all the module names that appear. You can skip modules that begin sata or snd. None of them are related to networking.

Boot normally. Run
Code:
ifconfig -a
if eth0 is listed your module is loaded *unless* you have a module called eth1394 loaded. Check with lsmod. eth1394 is ethernet over firewire. Almost nobody wants that.
If eth1394 is there, remove it with
Code:
modprobe -r eth1394
then check for interfaces again with
Code:
ifconfig -a


Using your list, cross off anthing thats also listed in lsmod. For each module left on the list do
Code:
modprobe <name>
ifconfig -a
Stop when eth0 appears. You have just loaded your network module.

The command
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
should bring it 'up' and make it work.
It can be automated but let me know if it works first.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1742
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stijnb wrote:
k thx,

I also did lsmod once I got
Code:

module               size                used by

rtc                      8488              0
usbcore               75064            1
ntfs                     88080            2


is this right?

thx in advance


Nope, no net drivers. What cards did your lspci show?
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stijnb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I reinstalled gentoo without genkernel and with gentoo-sources and it works now :s
i know dirty way out

but thanks for your help guys
_________________
Belgium...that's were daddy's from!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum