Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Decoder error. DecoderMAD: Failed to open input. Error 5.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hinge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:30 pm    Post subject: Decoder error. DecoderMAD: Failed to open input. Error 5. Reply with quote

Hi y'all,

OK - so I had a perfectly working mythbox untill I "emerged updated all deep newuse" and what ever it us called...that kind of screwed up my alsa or at least my myth sound config.

In mythtv setup under the general -> audio I have

'audio output device' = alsa
'Mixer Device' = /dev/mixer

this makes the sound on tv and movies work

In the Mythtv setup media settings -> music settings -> general settings

the 'audio device' is set to /dev/dsp

this gives a minimum of errors but it does not make it work. This is what I get:

Code:
2005-08-10 21:51:33.840 Opening audio device '/dev/dsp'.
2005-08-10 21:51:33.841 Opening OSS audio device '/dev/dsp'.
Decoder error. DecoderMAD: Failed to open input.  Error 5.


on the frontend I get a dialog saying almost the same - and no music....

I can play mp3 files using madplay, mplayer and mpg123 - what gives?

Any idea ???

I'd sure love to hear them !!!!!


Last edited by hinge on Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theDOC_23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Aachen, GER

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you didn't compile your kernel with oss support or there are some other probs with your oss emulation.
Sound in mythtv and other apps are configured to use alsa, i think.
Try to set mythmusic's 'audio device' to 'ALSA:default', to use alsa there too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hinge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: The workings of mythmusic Reply with quote

Hi Doc_23 and others

Do I really need OSS support to run MythMusic ???
I had the impression that the entire myth package only depended on ALSA.
I do have a USE flag saying -OSS.
Does MythMusic use the MADplayer ? I have tried to unmerge and merge the following without results:

    -myhtmusic
    -libmad
    -madplayer


Hinge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riscycdj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a similar problem. I thought that mythmusic would use the same audio device as the TV module. I can get my DVD, DVB etc to play ok. xine plays the mp3 ok but the mythmusic player doesn't.

What does mythmusic use to play music?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2072
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can set the output device for mythmusic in the setup menus somewhere, so try changing that.

Edit: Okay, that made no sense... Basically mythtv's "general" setup you put the output audio device for everything. But mythmusic you can also set the output device for just that module. You'll have to dig in the Setup menus somewhere to find where it is (I certainly can't remember), and you can change it in there. If you're using ALSA then change the device to "ALSA:default".
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. dvds | blurays | blog | wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riscycdj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh man I suck. I didn't even see that setting in MythMusic. It all works fine for me now.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hinge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read somewhere that it is because myth frontend does not have access to the media file - does not make sense to me....anybody else
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hinge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I look through the source (http://wakeboard2.gonzalezfamily.org/devel/mfddocs/html/maddecoder_8cpp-source.html) I see this:

Code:

00116     if (! input()->isOpen()) {
00117         if (! input()->open(IO_ReadOnly)) {
00118             error("DecoderMAD: Failed to open input.  Error " +
00119                   QString::number(input()->status()) + ".");
00120             return FALSE;
00121         }
00122     }

(see link above for full code)

Can any of you code geeks help interprete...tell me how to move on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
internet_pixie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hinge wrote:
If I look through the source (http://wakeboard2.gonzalezfamily.org/devel/mfddocs/html/maddecoder_8cpp-source.html) I see this:

Code:

00116     if (! input()->isOpen()) {
00117         if (! input()->open(IO_ReadOnly)) {
00118             error("DecoderMAD: Failed to open input.  Error " +
00119                   QString::number(input()->status()) + ".");
00120             return FALSE;
00121         }
00122     }

(see link above for full code)

Can any of you code geeks help interprete...tell me how to move on

OK I'm no c++ coder (at best I dabble in a little c) but this is what I make of it:

input() is an object that is the file you are trying to play. So line 116 is asking if the file is already open. If not then line 117 asks if it can open the file read only. If not then lines 118 and 119 are run which gives you the ouput.

So this does appear to be an access issue.

I got the same error myself. I checked the permissions and the files were owned (and readable and writable) by the mythtv user. So the perms were correct. What I found fixed the problem was to rebuild the mythmusic db by searching for new music.

Hope that helps.

Cheers

IP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jovana
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem. Simple fix, check the path where the music files are located. For some reason it has reset it self to the default path (and there are no music files located).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Sentinel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Sep 2002
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same error message tonight when I was moving some music around and forgot to "scan for new music".
_________________
who | grep -i blonde | talk; cd ~; wine; talk; touch; unzip; touch; strip; gasp; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; gasp; umount; make clean; sleep
__________________________
#find / -user your -name base -exec "chown us $"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
col
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 820
Location: Melbourne - Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same error....because I had moved the audio files.

pretty silly error message really. It should say "this file no longer exists" or something a little more user friendly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum