View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
LaMagra n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:41 am Post subject: [solved]net.br0 depending on net.eth1+net.tap0 (init order) |
|
|
I've a little problem with my network configuration. Here is my /etc/conf.d/net:
Code: | depend_br0() {
need net.eth0 net.eth1 net.tap0
}
config_eth0=( "172.23.143.2/16 brd 172.23.255.255"
"172.23.143.3/16"
"172.23.143.4/16"
"172.23.143.5/16"
"172.23.143.51/16" )
routes_eth0=( "default gw 172.23.1.1" )
config_eth1=( "null" )
config_tap0=( "0.0.0.0 promisc" )
config_br0=( "192.168.178.101/24" )
bridge_br0="eth1 tap0"
|
As you can see I've tried to tell the init scripts that br0 NEEDS the other network devices. But everytime I boot my little box up, the br0 interface starts up first (alphabetical order).
I've tried the depend_br0() thing in this doc Link at 2.b. Network Dependencies, as you can see in my /etc/conf.d/net. But it didn't work.
I've also tried to put the depend part at the top or the bottom part of my config...
Is this a bug or a feature?
Please help me
Last edited by LaMagra on Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:03 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
LaMagra n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The init order with baselayout-1.12.0_pre5 seems to be ok now. Thanks for the help.
But there seems to be a problem with baselayout-1.12.0_pre5 and the tun/tap interfaces.
At boot it says
Code: | Starting tap0
Creating Tun/Tap interfaces tap0
/lib/rcscripts/net.modules.d/tuntap: line 91: ${devnull}: ambiguous redirect
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"net.br0" was not started. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
LaMagra n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Remove the &>${devnull} from the end of line 91 of /lib/rcscripts/net.modules.d/tuntap and that should fix it.
It will be fixed in the next version - thanks |
I have removed &>${devnull} from line 91 and now it works.
Thanks for the help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
LaMagra n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another question... is it normal that the aliases of eth0 are not shown in the output of ifconfig?
I can still ping the alias adresses but I remember something like eth0:1 or eth0_1. I'm sure you know what I mean. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|