Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Missing eth1... [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheNewb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:51 pm    Post subject: Missing eth1... [Solved] Reply with quote

I'm back to show everyone I have no idea what I am doing!

I've been reading through all the documentation I can find on getting wireless working without much success... All the documents seem to help configure the card once it is set up, but my problem seems to be that the setup isn't being set up..

there are 3 network cards in the machine, one is PCMCIA so it's not in there all the time.

There is no eth1 or ath0 or other interface other then the hard-wire line..

So, how do I add the eth1/ath0 wireless interface?

The Gentoo handbook had this to say:
Code:

Code Listing 16: Creating extra initscripts
  # cd /etc/init.d
# ln -s net.eth0 net.eth1
# rc-update add net.eth1 default

but that didn't help. Whenever I try iwconfig or ifconfig, they are not listed..

Here's the lspci from the network controller:
Code:

0000:00:09.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)


On a side note: For a work around, it works fine on the Knoppix 4 CD/DVD .. I tried to see if I could find out what knoppix is doing and migrate the config, but I know even less about the inner workings there then I do here... Oh well.
_________________
#define struct union /* A Real space saver! :) */


Last edited by TheNewb on Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have madwifi-driver emerged and modprobed ath_pci? Try:
Code:
ifconfig -a

If you still don't see your card, then:
Code:
lsmod

Here's my stuff:
Code:
$ ifconfig ath0
ath0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0E:9B:23:42:58 
          inet addr:10.0.0.50  Bcast:10.255.255.255  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:146722 errors:278884 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:278884
          TX packets:33836 errors:119 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:200
          RX bytes:48921373 (46.6 Mb)  TX bytes:4556728 (4.3 Mb)
          Interrupt:19 Memory:f8f80000-f8f90000

lare ~ $ (lspci ;dmesg; lsmod; modprobe -ls ) | grep -i ath
0000:02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
ath_hal: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
ath_hal: 0.9.14.9 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413)
ath_rate_amrr: no version for "ether_sprintf" found: kernel tainted.
ath_rate_amrr: 0.1
ath_pci: 0.9.6.0 (EXPERIMENTAL)
ath0: 11b rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps
ath0: 11g rates: 1Mbps 2Mbps 5.5Mbps 11Mbps 6Mbps 9Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
ath0: turboG rates: 6Mbps 9Mbps 12Mbps 18Mbps 24Mbps 36Mbps 48Mbps 54Mbps
ath0: H/W encryption support: WEP AES AES_CCM TKIP
ath0: mac 5.9 phy 4.3 radio 4.6
ath0: Use hw queue 1 for WME_AC_BE traffic
ath0: Use hw queue 0 for WME_AC_BK traffic
ath0: Use hw queue 2 for WME_AC_VI traffic
ath0: Use hw queue 3 for WME_AC_VO traffic
ath0: Use hw queue 8 for CAB traffic
ath0: Use hw queue 9 for beacons
Debugging version (ATH)
ath0: Atheros 5212: mem=0xd0200000, irq=19
ath_pci                55452  0
ath_rate_amrr           4356  1 ath_pci
ath_hal               134800  2 ath_pci
wlan                   89948  4 ath_pci,ath_rate_amrr,wlan_wep
/lib/modules/2.6.14-rc1-mm1/net/ath_rate_onoe.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.14-rc1-mm1/net/ath_rate_amrr.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.14-rc1-mm1/net/ath_pci.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.14-rc1-mm1/net/ath_hal.ko

_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?


Last edited by Dlareh on Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:17 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheNewb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifconfig doesn't list it =(

lsmod always comes up blank for me, for some reason... Is it because I have dynamic loading of modules in the kernel config?
_________________
#define struct union /* A Real space saver! :) */
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheNewb wrote:
...

Try the stuff in the above post I edited. It seems like you need to:
Code:
emege madwifi-driver
modprbe ath_pci

Is your third network card (eth1 in knoppix) the PCMCIA one ? Do you have a 2.6.13 kernel (uname -r), or earlier version?

.13 and .14-rc's use the pcmciautils and pcmcia-cs-cis packages, .12 and earlier use pcmcia-cs
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheNewb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! That did it... It works now completely!!

Lessons learned:
I need to re-emerge after each kernel rebuild...
Need to to modprobe to get it working since it's switchable, I think... but it works! =)
_________________
#define struct union /* A Real space saver! :) */
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum