Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]nvidia kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
g3kk0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:03 pm    Post subject: [Solved]nvidia kernel Reply with quote

hi,

i followed the steps in this tutorial http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/nvidia-guide.xml
but when i come to this step
Code:
# modprobe nvidia

i get an error like this:
Code:
FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r6/video/nvidia.ko): No such device

can somebody help me?

that should be right, or?
Code:
total 4
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root   22 Aug  7 14:22 linux -> linux-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
drwxr-xr-x  19 root root 4096 Aug  8 19:56 linux-2.6.12-gentoo-r6


Last edited by g3kk0 on Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Seems that it can't find your graphic card.
What does
Code:
lspci

return?

I get this line for my GeForce4
Quote:
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440] (rev a3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g3kk0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keyson wrote:
Hi.

Seems that it can't find your graphic card.
What does
Code:
lspci

return?

I get this line for my GeForce4
Quote:
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440] (rev a3)


It returns that:
Code:
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce CPU bridge (rev b2)
0000:00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce 220/420 Memory Controller (re                                   v b2)
0000:00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce 220/420 Memory Controller (re                                   v b2)
0000:00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01aa (rev b2)
0000:00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce ISA Bridge (rev c3)
0000:00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce PCI System Management (rev c1)
0000:00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce Audio (rev c                                   2)
0000:00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce PCI-to-PCI bridge (rev c2)
0000:00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce IDE (rev c3)
0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce AGP to PCI Bridge (rev b2)
0000:01:07.0 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc CM8738 (rev 10                                   )
0000:01:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): NEC Corporation uPD72874 IEEE1394 OHCI 1.1 3-                                   port PHY-Link Ctrlr (rev 01)
0000:01:0a.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
0000:01:0a.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
0000:01:0a.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 02)
0000:01:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C                                   /8139C+ (rev 10)
0000:02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 460                                   ] (rev a3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the kernel config have you enabled the
Device Drivers --->
Character devices --->
<M> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
and
<M> NVIDIA nForce/nForce2 chipset support

If you do a
Code:
modinfo nvidia

You se that it depends agpgart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g3kk0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it still doesn't work :s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you have the agpgart for nforce in the kernel ?
If not, did you recompile and installed the kernel?

If you do
Code:
lsmod

is agpgart in the list.
If not can you modprobe agpgart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g3kk0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keyson wrote:
Did you have the agpgart for nforce in the kernel ?
If not, did you recompile and installed the kernel?

If you do
Code:
lsmod

is agpgart in the list.
If not can you modprobe agpgart.


yes agpgart is in the list if i type lsmod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more shot.
EDIT: Btw you don't have any nvidia framebuffers enabled in the video section.
They don't mix with the nvidia-kernel driver. You may use the svga-tng fb but not
any of the nvidia fb.

There is some issue with the nvidia driver and newer kernels.
are you running the 6629-r4 version?

If you are try the latest nvidia-kernel and glx
Make a file
Code:
touch /etc/portage/package.keywords

put
Code:

media-video/nvidia-glx ~x86
media-video/nvidia-kernel ~x86

in that file.

Now emerge and you get the latest.
The one that i run. Looking at the changelog
Quote:

16 Jul 2005; Martin Schlemmer <azarah@gentoo.org>
+files/1.0.7667/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-7667-KERNEL_VERSION-moved.patch,
nvidia-kernel-1.0.7667.ebuild:
Add support for latest kernels that no longer define KERNEL_VERSION in
version.h. Cleanup warnings users do not need to see.


I use them as im running a ~x86 system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g3kk0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keyson wrote:
One more shot.
EDIT: Btw you don't have any nvidia framebuffers enabled in the video section.
They don't mix with the nvidia-kernel driver. You may use the svga-tng fb but not
any of the nvidia fb.

There is some issue with the nvidia driver and newer kernels.
are you running the 6629-r4 version?

If you are try the latest nvidia-kernel and glx
Make a file
Code:
touch /etc/portage/package.keywords

put
Code:

media-video/nvidia-glx ~x86
media-video/nvidia-kernel ~x86

in that file.

Now emerge and you get the latest.
The one that i run. Looking at the changelog
Quote:

16 Jul 2005; Martin Schlemmer <azarah@gentoo.org>
+files/1.0.7667/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-7667-KERNEL_VERSION-moved.patch,
nvidia-kernel-1.0.7667.ebuild:
Add support for latest kernels that no longer define KERNEL_VERSION in
version.h. Cleanup warnings users do not need to see.


I use them as im running a ~x86 system.


I did all the steps..but still doesnt work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krakrjak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA=y

That is currently set. Suggested that the user Comment that out and rebuild the kernel. It isn't loading as a module it's built right in. He is testing this now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keyson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 830
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. That is the problem. I think it would work now when the CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA
is out of the kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g3kk0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Big thanks to krakrjak! He helped me in irc at #gentoo and explained me step for step what i have to do!
Now it's working!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Sep 2002
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same error trying to load the nvidia module. However, my kernel doesn't have the FB enabled like described above.

Edit:
My screen is off. The monitor says it's running the correct size (1680x1040, widescreen), Xorg.conf says the same thing, yet it is really ~85% showing on the screen. The driver can't show wide screen? It seems to have cut off the right side, so I have no clock or anything else that defaults to the right-side. I'm hoping once I use the nvidia driver instead of the nv driver that everything will fix itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum