Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eagle3386
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany » Saxony » Ore Mountains

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:33 am    Post subject: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Hello,

finally I got Gentoo with kernel 2.6.12 r7 (What does "r7" mean? "Release"?) working and everything runs just fine.
(Firstly I choose genkernel due some problems with both, Stage 1 & 2 while compiling the kernel...)

But there's one annoying problem which I can't figure out how to solve: the network connection.

When I'm at work, the server through which I connect to the Internet supports DHCP and DHCPCD does this fine.

But when I'm at home, my ISP doesn't support DHCP (or the ADSL-modem itself..) and therefore DHCPCD fails and I have to change the "net.eth0"-file manually and then bringing up the ADSL-connection.

This is quiet annoying and I'd like to know if there's any way to choose at boot-time (!) which service I want to start - either DHCP or the RP-PPPOE-service.

Is there any script for such a "problem"? :)

Soon, I will get a WLAN-router with DHCP (AVM Fritz!Box 3030 :D) but at the moment my currenty ADSL-provider doesn't acknowledge that I'm going to another ADSL-provider - that's T-Com, sucking as always... ;))


Thanks for any help in advance,

Martin :)
_________________
One. Life. Live. It.
««««««»»»»»»

Proudly translating Kuroo for German users.
(Yes, I'm giving back what the community greatly offers to me.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:42 am    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Eagle3386 wrote:
Soon, I will get a WLAN-router with DHCP (AVM Fritz!Box 3030 :D) but at the moment my currenty ADSL-provider doesn't acknowledge that I'm going to another ADSL-provider - that's T-Com, sucking as always... ;))

Then I wouldn't bother with boot/init scripts. I would:

emerge pump
set up net.eth0 for ADSL stuff.

when you arrive at work:
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 pause
pump


(or "pump -i eth0" if you have more than one interface)

when you get back home:
Code:
pkill pump
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start


-r is revision and indicates a bug/security fixes

stage 1&2 are pointless, and genkernel sucks (no, really, I'm not just saying this. They really are pointless, and it really does suck)
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eagle3386
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany » Saxony » Ore Mountains

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:21 am    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Dlareh wrote:
Then I wouldn't bother with boot/init scripts. I would:

emerge pump
set up net.eth0 for ADSL stuff.

Well, what about ifplugd? - I've merged that already and I don't know if I should unmerge it or not. :)

Dlareh wrote:
when you arrive at work:
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 pause
pump


(or "pump -i eth0" if you have more than one interface)

when you get back home:
Code:
pkill pump
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

But IMHO Linux would give me an error about the connection-problem with DHCP at home, right?
Or is there any way to stop that - waiting for the DHCPCD to fail on boot when I'm at home is really annoying due the large amount of time the timeout takes.. :-/

Dlareh wrote:
-r is revision and indicates a bug/security fixes

stage 1&2 are pointless, and genkernel sucks (no, really, I'm not just saying this. They really are pointless, and it really does suck)

To the first hint: Thanks a lot! :) - My Gentoo-version is Gentoo 2.6.12-r7, is this Gentoo 2005.1?
I'm asking because right after Gentoo 2005.0 was successfully installed by myself the 2005.1-version was released.. ;) :)

Well, to the second hint: I *absolutely* confirm that Stage 1 sucks totally and even Stage 2 was not working well (Till now I don't know why.. :-/)... :(
Anyway, the kernel I've built is great: any win-partitions are accessible, DMA is *finally* enabled and also WLAN will (hopefully ;)) work... :)

Oh, one question is left: my WLAN-module is built-in and comes from Broadcom - is there any way to get it working *without* drivers from the bad experience? ;)
_________________
One. Life. Live. It.
««««««»»»»»»

Proudly translating Kuroo for German users.
(Yes, I'm giving back what the community greatly offers to me.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:29 am    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Eagle3386 wrote:
Dlareh wrote:
Then I wouldn't bother with boot/init scripts. I would:

emerge pump
set up net.eth0 for ADSL stuff.

Well, what about ifplugd? - I've merged that already and I don't know if I should unmerge it or not. :)

Don't bother using that until your ADSL supports dhcp.
Code:
rc-update del ifplugd
/etc/init.d/ifplugd stop

Quote:
Dlareh wrote:
when you arrive at work:
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 pause
pump

(or "pump -i eth0" if you have more than one interface)
when you get back home:
Code:
pkill pump
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

But IMHO Linux would give me an error about the connection-problem with DHCP at home, right?
Or is there any way to stop that - waiting for the DHCPCD to fail on boot when I'm at home is really annoying due the large amount of time the timeout takes.. :-/

Disable DHCP in /etc/conf.d/net. pump will take care of dhcp when you are at work.
Quote:
My Gentoo-version is Gentoo 2.6.12-r7, is this Gentoo 2005.1?
I'm asking because right after Gentoo 2005.0 was successfully installed by myself the 2005.1-version was released.. ;) :)

Gentoo releases are for installation purposes only. If you run:
Code:
emerge --sync && emerge -uDav world

And then etc-update or dispatch-conf, you're basically running the latest Gentoo.

2.6.12-r7 is your kernel version, and is fairly independent. I update my kernel every few weeks or so, but some people like to wait longer between reboots. There's this whole epenis thing about how large one's `uptime' is.

The closest thing gentoo has to real release versions is the version of the `baselayout' package:
Code:
cat /etc/gentoo-release

Quote:
Oh, one question is left: my WLAN-module is built-in and comes from Broadcom - is there any way to get it working *without* drivers from the bad experience? ;)

Try `lspci' from the package pciutils, and feed the corresponding line to Google
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eagle3386
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany » Saxony » Ore Mountains

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Dlareh wrote:
Don't bother using that until your ADSL supports dhcp.
Code:
rc-update del ifplugd
/etc/init.d/ifplugd stop


when you arrive at work:
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 pause
pump

(or "pump -i eth0" if you have more than one interface)
when you get back home:
Code:
pkill pump
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

Ok, copied that.. ;) :D

Dlareh wrote:
Disable DHCP in /etc/conf.d/net. pump will take care of dhcp when you are at work.

Great to hear that - config changed.. :)

Dlareh wrote:
Gentoo releases are for installation purposes only. If you run:
Code:
emerge --sync && emerge -uDav world

And then etc-update or dispatch-conf, you're basically running the latest Gentoo.

13 packages were updated.. :D

Dlareh wrote:
2.6.12-r7 is your kernel version, and is fairly independent. I update my kernel every few weeks or so, but some people like to wait longer between reboots. There's this whole epenis thing about how large one's `uptime' is.

The closest thing gentoo has to real release versions is the version of the `baselayout' package:
Code:
cat /etc/gentoo-release

Ok, Gentoo Base System has version-number 1.12.0_pre5. :)
But I'd like to know what you meant with "epenis", because neither Gentoo knows it as a command nor does http://dict.leo.org list this word.. ;)
Also, it would be great to know why my kernel still is 2.6.12-r7, although 2.6.13-r7 is available (Yes, my config-flag is "~amd64"! :)).

Dlareh wrote:
Try `lspci' from the package pciutils, and feed the corresponding line to Google

Well, according to lspci, this is my WLAN-module:

Code:
0000:02:05.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation Unknown device 4318 (rev 02)


Google didn't give useful results, except that ndiswrapper will be needed - unfortunately Broadcom doesn't offer drivers for Linux.. :(
_________________
One. Life. Live. It.
««««««»»»»»»

Proudly translating Kuroo for German users.
(Yes, I'm giving back what the community greatly offers to me.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Eagle3386 wrote:
But I'd like to know what you meant with "epenis", because neither Gentoo knows it as a command nor does http://dict.leo.org list this word.. ;)

www.urbandictionary.com

Quote:
Also, it would be great to know why my kernel still is 2.6.12-r7, although 2.6.13-r7 is available (Yes, my config-flag is "~amd64"! :)).


The kernel is independent of portage. Portage will fetch the sources, but you have to compile them manually (or use that genkernel sillyness)

Try the "Docs" link at www.gentoo.org -- there should be something there that explains new kernel compilation to newbies.

Quote:
Dlareh wrote:
Try `lspci' from the package pciutils, and feed the corresponding line to Google

Well, according to lspci, this is my WLAN-module:

Code:
0000:02:05.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation Unknown device 4318 (rev 02)


Google didn't give useful results, except that ndiswrapper will be needed - unfortunately Broadcom doesn't offer drivers for Linux.. :(

Sorry, I know next to nothing about ndiswrapper. Search these forums for "ndiswrapper" or "broadcom ndiswrapper". I believe there is an ndiswrapper HOWTO.
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eagle3386
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany » Saxony » Ore Mountains

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Dlareh wrote:
www.urbandictionary.com

Hehe.. ;) :D

Dlareh wrote:
The kernel is independent of portage. Portage will fetch the sources, but you have to compile them manually (or use that genkernel sillyness)

Try the "Docs" link at www.gentoo.org -- there should be something there that explains new kernel compilation to newbies.

So the 2.6.13-r7-sources are on my disk, but I must compile them? :)
Well, I'm going to do this after Gentoo runs fine (still got some problems with KDE, but first I'm going to try to fix it for myself.. ;) :)
And compiling isn't that new to me - because DMA couldn't be enabled by myself, I configured a new kernel and compiled it myself.. *very proud* ;) :D
(In fact, compiling isn't that hard - I don't know why there's such a "mistery" about kernel-compiling, the configuration is WAY harder.. :-/)

Dlareh wrote:
Sorry, I know next to nothing about ndiswrapper. Search these forums for "ndiswrapper" or "broadcom ndiswrapper". I believe there is an ndiswrapper HOWTO.

Hey, that's really no problem! - Your help so far was *really* great! :)
Getting this thing running with ndiswrapper should be explained in a How-To, just as you already mentioned.. ;) :D
_________________
One. Life. Live. It.
««««««»»»»»»

Proudly translating Kuroo for German users.
(Yes, I'm giving back what the community greatly offers to me.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Work: DHCP - Home: ADSL (w/o DHCP, yet) Reply with quote

Eagle3386 wrote:
(In fact, compiling isn't that hard - I don't know why there's such a "mistery" about kernel-compiling, the configuration is WAY harder.. :-/)

When someone talks about compiling a kernel being hard, they are mostly refering to configuring it. Compiling an unconfigured kernel is next-to-useless.

I wish there was an automated way to boot a generic kernel (such as a Knoppix CD or genkernel) and automatically generate a kernel config for whichever modules were loaded by coldplug/hotplug.

Or an automated way to turn `lspci' entries into a kernel config.

*sigh
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eagle3386
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany » Saxony » Ore Mountains

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, a hardware-specific installation would be more than great.. - Anyway, AFAIK there was a thread or an article where a Gentoo-Installer was announced to have reached version-number 0.1! :D

BTW: Do you know, why Linux doesn't except my root-password anymore since I'm using my new self-compiled kernel and rebooted just some minutes ago? :(
_________________
One. Life. Live. It.
««««««»»»»»»

Proudly translating Kuroo for German users.
(Yes, I'm giving back what the community greatly offers to me.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eagle3386 wrote:
Yes, a hardware-specific installation would be more than great.. - Anyway, AFAIK there was a thread or an article where a Gentoo-Installer was announced to have reached version-number 0.1! :D

BTW: Do you know, why Linux doesn't except my root-password anymore since I'm using my new self-compiled kernel and rebooted just some minutes ago? :(

That might be a pam.d or udev issue... run etc-udpate or dispatch-conf

If that doesn't work, use "e" on the grub command line and add "init=/bin/bash". Then:

Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
passwd root
reboot    # NOT `exit'

_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?


Last edited by Dlareh on Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eagle3386
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany » Saxony » Ore Mountains

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, after the reboot it worked - anyway, I ran the etc-update.. ;) :)

But there's a new problem: after finishing the boot-procedure, linux is up - with TWM and an interface, well, I won't talk about that crappy style at all.. ;)

I know, that this was due some changes in the base-system and that I needed to run "fglrxconfig" (I've got a ATI Xpress 200M-chip on the motherboard of the notebook ;)) again - so I did, but in fact Xorg crashes everytime I'm booting it up.

AFAIK this is due to the "ati"-setting in the section of the xorg.conf, but is there no chance of getting this working? - The "vesa"-option runs, but is not that good and therefore I'd like to use the ati-drivers which are already merged.. :)
_________________
One. Life. Live. It.
««««««»»»»»»

Proudly translating Kuroo for German users.
(Yes, I'm giving back what the community greatly offers to me.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum