Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Module name for my NIC
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mikeyt21
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Cupertino, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Module name for my NIC Reply with quote

This is my first time using Gentoo. How do I add the Kernel Module for my NIC to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 ???

I used genkernel to build my kernel.

Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to add the module is easy:
Code:
echo module_name >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6

But your problem seems to be that you don't know the name of the module, right?

Please post the output of
Code:
lspci

then we might help a little better ;-).

EDIT: This was my 1000th post, finally veteran :-D!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikeyt21
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Cupertino, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm, I dont have lspci on my system, because I used genkernel to build my kernel.
And I dont have access to the network to emerge because netmount keeps failing on me.

what else can I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1742
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mikeyt21 wrote:
hmmm, I dont have lspci on my system, because I used genkernel to build my kernel.
And I dont have access to the network to emerge because netmount keeps failing on me.

what else can I do?


Alt-F2 to another virtual console and run lspci from your install environment.
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R!tman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 1303
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could chroot into your new system with the livecd, as you did for the first intallation, and
Code:
emerge pciutils
.
Or you can use the lspci command directly from the livecd.

EDIT: Not having lspci isn't because you used genkernel. lspci is part of the pciutils package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikeyt21
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Cupertino, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the relevant line from lspci

Code:
0000:02:08.0 Ethernet Controller: Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dellaxim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intel ethernet controller is popular so I guess genkernel already compile it into your kernel.
Can u use the network card at all?

try
Code:
 ifconfig eth0


to see if there is details about your nic. If it doesnt show up anything then u might need to recompile your kernel without using genkernel.

gd luck mate!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1742
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mikeyt21 wrote:
Here's the relevant line from lspci

Code:
0000:02:08.0 Ethernet Controller: Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controller (rev 02)


The module is e100 according to Intel's website. You can try:

Code:

# modprobe e100


If that works then be sure to add it to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel_version file.
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mikeyt21
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Cupertino, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dellaxim wrote:
Intel ethernet controller is popular so I guess genkernel already compile it into your kernel.
Can u use the network card at all?

try
Code:
 ifconfig eth0


to see if there is details about your nic. If it doesnt show up anything then u might need to recompile your kernel without using genkernel.

gd luck mate!




My problem is that my firewire port has taken eth0 and eth1 is assigned to my NIC. When I type ifconfig -a I see my NIC is assigned to eth1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
the_mgt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Germany, near Hannover

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not really sure about this, but i heard eth numbers are given in order of appearance, so if you load your ethernet card before your firewire, it should be eth0 again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum