Blinking cursor after GRUB loads Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Duelmaster2001
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Blinking cursor after GRUB loads Gentoo Reply with quote

OK, I am a rank newb at using Linux of any kind, so I may be missing somehting fundamantal here, but I followed the directions in the handbook excatly, using genkernel. When it came to reboot the computer, I did, GRUB loaded, I selected Gentoo, and GRUB sent back a list of things it loaded (looked normal, nothing that was obviosly an error) but then the system hung with a blinking cursor beneath these messages. Help would be appreciated on this matter. Fortunatly, the computer I am doing this on is purely for me to test and learn Linux, so i don't care what happens to it, but I plan to install Gentoo on my current desktop when I recieve my laptop.
borfig
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just being curious - can you enter GRUB's menu? GRUB's shell during boot?
Duelmaster2001
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, I can enter the GRUB menu. I tried reentering all the GRUB.conf commands by hand, then again without the framebuffer kernel options, didn't do anything. Though now I remember that I must have set the framebuffer options incorrectly, because it gave me an error message. I'm not at that computer right now, but I think it said something about an incorrect video mode and told me to input another one. Whether I skipped the error or changed the video mode, the same blinkning cursor happened. And when I took out the framebuffer options by editing the GRUB.conf using the GRUB menu, same problem.
borfig
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote