Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
MX510 Howto?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
piercey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:54 am    Post subject: MX510 Howto? Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I recently got a new Logitech MX510 mouse and I must say it's great :) However so far I've been unable to get all the buttons working right. I put the following in my xorg config:

Code:

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Mouse1"
        Driver "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol"              "ExplorerPS/2"
        Option      "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"
        Option    "ZAxisMapping"    "4 5"
EndSection


This makes my mouse work. However the extra buttons on the side dont work, and the 3 other small buttons on the mouse are mapped to the same buttons as middle scroll up, middle scroll down and left click (Ive tested this with xev). I'm wondering does anyone know anyway I could get to use all the buttons on the mouse for shortcuts?

Any help is appreciated!
_________________
[ 2008.0 X86 E8400 @ 4.0Ghz ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1U
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same mouse :)

This is what I use in my xorg and it seems to work very well:
Code:
    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option      "ButtonNumber" "7"
    Option      "Buttons" "7"
    Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option      "InputFashion" "Mouse"
    Option      "Name" "USB-Mouse;ExplorerPS/2"
    Option      "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option      "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"

After you edit that, be sure to emerge imwheel and have this run when you start your graphical session (such as openbox and etc)
Code:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5"

I hope the above works, but if it doesn't just play around with those numbers and look at other people's configuratio files on this forum. It didn't take me long to figure out the best setting. I still don't have my top scrolling button working, but I don't use those tiny buttons anyways.

Also, our mouses support faster than usual polling. This is very handy if you play fast games, check out this thread for more info:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-164679-highlight-logitech+patch+kernel.html

Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bammbamm808
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1U wrote:
I have the same mouse :)

This is what I use in my xorg and it seems to work very well:
Code:
    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option      "ButtonNumber" "7"
    Option      "Buttons" "7"
    Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option      "InputFashion" "Mouse"
    Option      "Name" "USB-Mouse;ExplorerPS/2"
    Option      "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option      "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"

After you edit that, be sure to emerge imwheel and have this run when you start your graphical session (such as openbox and etc)
Code:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5"

I hope the above works, but if it doesn't just play around with those numbers and look at other people's configuratio files on this forum. It didn't take me long to figure out the best setting. I still don't have my top scrolling button working, but I don't use those tiny buttons anyways.

Also, our mouses support faster than usual polling. This is very handy if you play fast games, check out this thread for more info:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-164679-highlight-logitech+patch+kernel.html

Hope that helps.


You can do the same without imwheel. I don't have it installed. Just run xmodmap as described and your scrollwheel will work fine.

And the polling kernel patch is nice. I think I play UrT better with it, which isn't saying much.
_________________
MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Ryzen 3900x
32Gb Samsung B-die (16GB dual rank x2) DDR4 @ 3200MHz, cl14
Geforce RTX 2070S 8GB
Samsung m.2 NVME pcie-3.0
Etc....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1U
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bammbamm808 wrote:
You can do the same without imwheel. I don't have it installed. Just run xmodmap as described and your scrollwheel will work fine.

And the polling kernel patch is nice. I think I play UrT better with it, which isn't saying much.

Don't mean to go offtopic, but just curious, how are the pings over there in Hawaii when playing fps games in American/Europe?
I use nitro-sources and it has that patch built in already. It helps me too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piercey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys thanks for the replies. I have been searching around and have tried this method before to get my buttons working. AFter following what you described I have been able to get all my buttons working. However not in the right order. Hence why Im meant to use xmodmap, however it gives me this error which is really confusing:

Code:

pierce@zim ~ $ xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5"
xmodmap:  commandline:0:  bad number of buttons, must have 12 instead of 7
xmodmap:  1 error encountered, aborting.

Why does it think I have 12 buttons? Thanks for the help!
_________________
[ 2008.0 X86 E8400 @ 4.0Ghz ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
infiniteedge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whatever

Last edited by infiniteedge on Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irondog
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 715
Location: Voor mijn TV. Achter mijn pc.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go home and ask your mother to solve your problems.
_________________
Alle dingen moeten onzin zijn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irondog
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 715
Location: Voor mijn TV. Achter mijn pc.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infiniteedge, in fact mouse button support sucks in 6.8.2, But complaining in this forum won't help.
Never mind, you got my point.
_________________
Alle dingen moeten onzin zijn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1U
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah my buttons aren't perfect either, but not bad enough to complain. The little tiny scrolling buttons by the scroll wheel don't work, but I don't really care.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
th0th696
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:45 pm    Post subject: 7 buttons? Reply with quote

okay count em:

1 leftclick
2 rightclick
3 middleclick
4mousewheel up
5mousewheel down
6 sidebutton1
7 sidebutton2
8 topbuttonforward
9 topbuttonbackward
10 appswitchbutton

So why are you guys using 7?

here's my xorg after trolling around this forum:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Logitech MX 510"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ButtonNumber" "10"
Option "InputFashion" "Mouse"
Option "Buttons" "10"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
Option "resolution" "800"
EndSection

xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5 8 9 10"

And everything works except those pesky top buttons! Has anyone gotten them to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, could be a change to the ExplorerPS/2 driver.

If I remember correctly, the ExplorerPS/2 driver at one time only supported up to 5 or 7 buttons and that to use all the buttons you had to use the event driver.

If this has changed, that would be nice, but for anyone else, using the event driver should let you get control of all your mouse buttons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/carlito
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 451
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:28 am    Post subject: Re: 7 buttons? Reply with quote

th0th696 wrote:
And everything works except those pesky top buttons! Has anyone gotten them to work?


You should not configure the top buttons as they are only an extension of your scroll wheel, when not configured in corg.conf they should work.

My config (I don't use the app switch button as it annoys me :) )

/etc/X11/xorg.conf
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "MX700"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option      "Protocol"     "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option      "Device"       "/dev/input/mice"
    Option      "Buttons"      "7"
    Option      "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
    Option      "Emulate3Buttons"       "no"
EndSection


~/.Xmodmap
Code:
pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5


/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/MX700
Code:
setpointer MX700
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5"
killall -9 imwheel
/usr/bin/imwheel -k -b "45" &

_________________

.O.
..O
OOO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/carlito, the buttons around the scroll wheel work perfectly with the evdev driver.

If when you press one of the buttons, you get two events, 1 the same as the scroll wheel and another one, you need to use the logitech_applet to disable cruise control.
Code:
/usr/sbin/logitech_applet --disable-cc

P.S. with the evdev driver in xorg-6.9.XX or xorg-7.X everything works without any changes. (.xprofile, logitech_applet, etc)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pholthau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on kde there is a logitech_mouse use flag. this enables control over the mouse in kde control center. but i dont know why the settings are not saved. everytime i reboot, my mx510 is back at 400 dpi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pholthau wrote:
on kde there is a logitech_mouse use flag. this enables control over the mouse in kde control center. but i dont know why the settings are not saved. everytime i reboot, my mx510 is back at 400 dpi

Is the group settings for the mouse device node=kdemouse? (Or applicable permissions to accomplish same thing)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pholthau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont have a group called kdemouse, so the devices belong to group root...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pholthau wrote:
i dont have a group called kdemouse, so the devices belong to group root...

You have to make the kdemouse group and use a custom udev rule to make kdemouse the group for the mouse device nodes.

pholthau, I wouldn't bother with this as there isn't much you can configure there anyways.
If you still want to, post the output of lsusb and I'll give you a udev rule. (I can't post my because it is specific to a MX700)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pholthau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here it is:
Code:

illidan pholthau # lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:c01d Logitech, Inc.
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 413c:8000 Dell Computer Corp.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 05e3:0702 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB 2.0 IDE Adapter
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pholthau, add the following line to /etc/udev/rules.d/10-local.rules and then restart udev, by typing udevstart as root.
Code:
BUS="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}="046d", SYSFS{idProduct}="c01d",NAME="input/%k", SYMLINK="input/MX510", GROUP="kdemouse", MODE="0664"

Of course you have to create the kdemouse group also and have the user in that group first.
Code:
groupadd kdemouse
gpasswd -a username kdemouse

Change username to your user login name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pholthau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, ill give it a try!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pholthau wrote:
thanks, ill give it a try!

How did you make out?
I have both a MX700 and MX510 connected now and all buttons work on both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pholthau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm... my buttons work because of this:
Code:

pholthau@illidan ~ $ cat .Xmodmap
keycode 160 = XF86AudioMute
keycode 174 = XF86AudioLowerVolume
keycode 176 = XF86AudioRaiseVolume
keycode 162 = XF86AudioPlay
keycode 144 = XF86AudioPrev
keycode 153 = XF86AudioNext
keycode 164 = XF86AudioStop
pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 8 9 10 4 5
pholthau@illidan ~ $ cat .xprofile
xmodmap $HOME/.Xmodmap

but the resolution still stays at 400...
do i have to change xorg.conf to use /dev/input/MX510 ??

the udev rule seems to work:
Code:

illidan pholthau # ls -l /dev/input/
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root            9 Feb 10 15:50 MX510 -> usbdev3.2
crw------- 1 root root      13,  64 Feb 10 14:21 event0
crw------- 1 root root      13,  65 Feb 10 14:21 event1
crw------- 1 root root      13,  66 Feb 10 14:21 event2
crw-rw-r-- 1 root kdemouse  13,  67 Feb 10 14:21 event3
crw-r--r-- 1 root root      13,  63 Feb 10 14:21 mice
crw-r--r-- 1 root root      13,  32 Feb 10 14:21 mouse0
crw-r--r-- 1 root root      13,  33 Feb 10 14:21 mouse1
crw-rw-r-- 1 root kdemouse  13,  34 Feb 10 14:21 mouse2
crw-rw-r-- 1 root kdemouse 189, 257 Feb 10 14:21 usbdev3.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pholthau wrote:
hm... my buttons work because of this:
Code:

pholthau@illidan ~ $ cat .Xmodmap
keycode 160 = XF86AudioMute
keycode 174 = XF86AudioLowerVolume
keycode 176 = XF86AudioRaiseVolume
keycode 162 = XF86AudioPlay
keycode 144 = XF86AudioPrev
keycode 153 = XF86AudioNext
keycode 164 = XF86AudioStop
pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 8 9 10 4 5
pholthau@illidan ~ $ cat .xprofile
xmodmap $HOME/.Xmodmap

That doesn't cause the buttons to work, it just assigns keycodes to the buttons and changes the button order.

pholthau wrote:
but the resolution still stays at 400...
do i have to change xorg.conf to use /dev/input/MX510 ??


the udev rule seems to work:

You shouldn't have to change anything in xorg.conf.

It does not work in kcontrol?

kcontrol was emerged with the logitech-mouse USE flag?

Is logitech-applet emerged?

The user is in the kdemoouse group?

Are the logitech options in kcontrol greyed out, or accessible but don't change anything?

Does this work from the command line as root:
Code:
logitech_applet -s 800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pholthau
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm i think you misunderstood my problem. :) the kcontrol options are there and they work (as well as logitech_applet). the only thing is, that i have to adjust the mouse resolution everytime at startup or mouse plug in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pholthau wrote:
hm i think you misunderstood my problem. :) the kcontrol options are there and they work (as well as logitech_applet). the only thing is, that i have to adjust the mouse resolution everytime at startup or mouse plug in.

I understood, but it is always good to clarify things. It not only helps make sure we are talking about the same thing but will help others who read this or may have issues with this in the future.

Saving the options works fine here and is restored correctly. Sounds like maybe a corrupt preference file in ~/.kde

Either try backing up ~/.kde and see if the problem persists when a clean ~/.kde is created when you re-login, or create a new user and login in with that user. If either works, we know it is a preference file and we just need to find the correct file. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum