Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
help with wep and ipw2200
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
agentblue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 92
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 5:41 am    Post subject: help with wep and ipw2200 Reply with quote

hello everyone i have been having trouble getting wep to work with ipw2200 driver.if anyone got it working and you had to do anything special let me know.also could you please post you /etc/conf.d/wireless.thanxs a bunch0r.
-agentblue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Big Jim Slade
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, not an ipw2200 here, but I do use a wep key. Here's a look at my /etc/conf.d/wireless
Code:
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 60"

preferred_aps=( "Bambleweeny" )

key_Bambleweeny="xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx enc open"

Where Bambleweeny is my Access Point ESSID and the "xxxx" is a hexidecimal WEP key.

That's all for the config... nothing in /etc/conf.d/net for wlan0. Just need to make a symlink from /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 to /etc/init.d/net.lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My ipw2200 comes up as eth1, not wlan0, so you'll probably need to make that change.

Set up /etc/conf.d/net normally - just set it to dhcp, and it's helpful (but not really important) if you set a shorter dhcp timeout.

/etc/conf.d/wireless is pretty straightforward too.

Code:

essid_eth1="any"
mode_eth1="auto"
adhoc_essid_eth1="WLAN"

key_essid="123456789abcdef"

preferred_aps=("uoa")


Make sure you've got the appropriate modules loaded - 80211_crypt_wep springs to mind.
Otherwise there's not much to do - it should work fine.
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agentblue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 92
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: hrmmmmmmmmm Reply with quote

ive gotten it all the way untill its says running dhcpcd but i am unable to get an address. any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Big Jim Slade
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do your /etc/conf.d/wireless and /etc/conf.d/net look like now? Also, how long are you letting it wait for an IP? In my experience, it usually takes a while to get an IP either the first time or when switching networks... hence the reason for my 60 second timeout (10 seconds didn't cut it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agentblue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 92
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:23 pm    Post subject: everything looks okay... Reply with quote

here is my /etc/conf.d/wireless:

essid_eth2="any"
mode_eth2="auto"
key_rfb0x="E13E-6D32-AA94-3D43-6828-D024-8E"
preferred_aps=("rfb0x")
udhcp_eth2="-t 60"

here is my /etc/conf.d/net:

############MY NET CONF################
#for static IP#
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.110 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth2="192.168.1.111 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#dhcp settings#
iface_eth0="dhcp"
iface_eth2="dhcp"
udhcp_eth0="..."
udhcp_eth2="..."

#Gateway settings#
gateway="192.168.1.1"

also here is my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6:

ipw2200 led=1
ieee80211_crypt_wep

I am unsure what the problem is. i have switched dhcp clients from dhcpcd to pump to udhcp and they all will not connect.i have gotten also upgraded the firmware on my router and emerged the latest ipw2200 driver and firmware.
the only clue i have is the output at the end of udhcp when i /etc/init.d/net.eth2 start this is what it says:
* Starting eth2
* Loading networking modules for eth2
* modules: iwconfig essidnet iptunnel ifconfig udhcpc apipa
* iwconfig provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* udhcpc provides dhcp
* Configuring wireless network for eth2
* Connecting to "any" (WEP Disabled) ... [ ok ] * Connecting to "FUCKWITHME" (WEP enabled - open) ... [ ok ] * eth2 connected to "FUCKWITHME" at 00:14:BF:02:FC:A6
* in managed mode (WEP enabled - open)
* Configuring eth2 for "FUCKWITHME" ... [ ok ] * Bringing up eth2
* dhcp
* Running udhcpc ...
* udhcpc (v0.9.9-pre) started
deconfig
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
leasefail
No lease, failing.

any help help here would be great.
thanxs
-agentblue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agentblue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 92
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 5:33 am    Post subject: wooops Reply with quote

sorry about the essid name thought i changed that guess i didnt in the second part of the post my apologiez if anyone was offended its sort of a warning for sniff0rs hehe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Big Jim Slade
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing that looks off to me are the two eth2 lines in the /etc/conf.d/net file. As you already have the udhcp_eth2="-t 60" line in /etc/conf.d/wireless you don't need to call dhcp again in net. It may just be redundant, but it may be conflicting or something as well... try removing these lines from /etc/conf.d/net.

Also, after you run /etc/init.d/net.eth2 start have you checked iwconfig just to verify that it is authenticating the WEP key and bringing up the interface to the point where it is ready able to receive an IP address? If so, can you manually run udhcp to obtain an address?

Come to think of it.. have you tried bringing up the interface manually?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agentblue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 92
Location: Las Vegas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 10:09 pm    Post subject: SOLVED: Reply with quote

Guess my router doesnt like new devices because rebooting the router fixed the problem.Thanxs!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum