View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
The Mad Crapper Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 156
|
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:10 am Post subject: can't get dhcp lease for ath0 |
|
|
i have 2 wireless cards. ath0 and wlan0 (ath0 is the Atheros chipset, but i don't remember what chipset wlan0 is)
if i type...
Code: | iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
iwconfig wlan0 essid <network name>
iwconfig wlan0 key <WEP key>
iwconfig wlan0 ap <ap mac>
ifconfig wlan0 hw ether <mac> (we have mac filtering on)
dhcpcd wlan0 |
it works and i get a lease.. however, if i try on the ath0 card... dhcpcd times out and i get no lease.. Ideas?
I just got the newest madwifi drivers and still nothing. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The Mad Crapper Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 156
|
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sorry to bump. but i really could use some help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nadi Apprentice
Joined: 06 Aug 2004 Posts: 280 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:21 pm Post subject: same problem here... |
|
|
I have the same problem, though I am using only atherons, i.e. ath0
Code: | 0000:02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5211 802.11ab NIC (rev 01) |
so I configure my conf.d/wireless and I am able to read my essid: i.e. from iwconfig
Code: | nadi etc # iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.
lo no wireless extensions.
ath0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"felix" Nickname:"felix"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:0555-5555-5555-56 Security mode:restricted
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/94 Signal level=-95 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
|
But I cannot get dhcp to work. dhcp DOES work with eth0, the cable network, but not with wireless. this is what happens:
Code: |
nadi etc # init.d/net.ath0 restart
* Starting ath0
* Configuring wireless network for ath0
* ath0 connected to "felix" at 00:A0:C5:97:43:DE
* in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP enabled - restricted)
* Bringing up ath0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ !! ]
|
Any ideas? I have the following packages installed:
sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre6-r3
app-shells/bash-3.0-r12
net-wireless/madwifi-driver-0.1_pre20050420-r1
and using kernel 2.6.12-r6
Thanks!
Nadi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nadi Apprentice
Joined: 06 Aug 2004 Posts: 280 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
my mistake, fixed the problem:
in conf.d/wireless I have to use in the WEP key the ascii form, since I am not using hex key:
key_felix="s:555555555556 enc open"
so now it is working, FINALLY AFTER TWO YEARS with this laptop!!!
now two years more, and I will manage to have control on scanning, and plugging the network cable to disable the wireless...
Nadi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
jamapii l33t
Joined: 16 Sep 2004 Posts: 637
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm Post subject: Re: can't get dhcp lease for ath0 |
|
|
The Mad Crapper wrote: | I just got the newest madwifi drivers and still nothing. |
There is a recent madwifi driver version that is now hard masked, make sure you don't use it.
madwifi-driver-0.1_pre20050708 works for me (snapshot from madwifi.otaku42.de), it's probably just like madwifi-driver-0.1_pre20050420
You can try a static ip address, dhcp might have its own problems with WLAN. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nadi Apprentice
Joined: 06 Aug 2004 Posts: 280 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
well Uberlord, I was following the documentation, but I dont think I did anything wrong, I tried many many things. I amm quite positive that I finally managed to do it by using a recent kernel, newest Baselayout, and the most updated madwifi, almost all the software are unstable version. I know other people manged to set the wireless in Thinkpad long time ago, but it is far from being trivial in Gentoo. Furthermore, I still have the problem with the scanning (I understood that this version of madwifi does not support scanning?). Scanning is working in windows, and it is a wonderful feature if you change the network often and using non-secure connection. like in many cafès with wireless connection, and university with many different id's.
At least I have an working station IF I know the wep and the id. Two years is a long time, but I dont think gentoo was ready in 2003 when I got my laptop and tried to configure my wireless with 2.4.20 and old versions of baselayout, readline etc.
Don't get me wrong, I think you are doing a great job. The STUPID people from IBM refused to give me support for linux then.
Regards,
Nadi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
nadi wrote: | well Uberlord, I was following the documentation, but I dont think I did anything wrong, I tried many many things. I amm quite positive that I finally managed to do it by using a recent kernel, newest Baselayout, and the most updated madwifi, almost all the software are unstable version. I know other people manged to set the wireless in Thinkpad long time ago, but it is far from being trivial in Gentoo. |
So how do we improve the documentation?
Quote: | Furthermore, I still have the problem with the scanning (I understood that this version of madwifi does not support scanning?). Scanning is working in windows, and it is a wonderful feature if you change the network often and using non-secure connection. like in many caf�s with wireless connection, and university with many different id's. |
madwifi-driver supports scanning. At least mine does. Try using wpa_supplicant. If you have a "turbo" card you mave have to use iwpriv commands before a scan works (sorry, I don't know them off hand) _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nadi Apprentice
Joined: 06 Aug 2004 Posts: 280 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Now that I think about that, the recent example files, both net.example and wireless.example are very good. I read them carefully again now, and I dont think they miss anything. I think it is readable for a n00b, as I am not such an expert myself, yet I understand the instructions. But this was not always the situation. net.example and wireless.example were really bad once, I don't remember which version, but I remember I went over them again and again, and was not able to configure the wireless.
I think this to help files, combining with the gentoo documentation, are really helpfull for a n00b to configure the network nowdays.
Thanks again,
Nadi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jamapii l33t
Joined: 16 Sep 2004 Posts: 637
|
Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There was a kde application "wlassistant" that showed me the requred commands. This worked for me, and I used the results for /etc/conf.d/net |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|