Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't get dhcp lease for ath0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Mad Crapper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:10 am    Post subject: can't get dhcp lease for ath0 Reply with quote

i have 2 wireless cards. ath0 and wlan0 (ath0 is the Atheros chipset, but i don't remember what chipset wlan0 is)

if i type...

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
iwconfig wlan0 essid <network name>
iwconfig wlan0 key <WEP key>
iwconfig wlan0 ap <ap mac>
ifconfig wlan0 hw ether <mac> (we have mac filtering on)
dhcpcd wlan0


it works and i get a lease.. however, if i try on the ath0 card... dhcpcd times out and i get no lease.. Ideas?
I just got the newest madwifi drivers and still nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Mad Crapper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry to bump. but i really could use some help. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nadi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 280
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: same problem here... Reply with quote

I have the same problem, though I am using only atherons, i.e. ath0
Code:
0000:02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5211 802.11ab NIC (rev 01)


so I configure my conf.d/wireless and I am able to read my essid: i.e. from iwconfig
Code:
nadi etc # iwconfig
eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

ath0      IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"felix"  Nickname:"felix"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00   
          Bit Rate:0 kb/s   Tx-Power:18 dBm   Sensitivity=0/3 
          Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:0555-5555-5555-56   Security mode:restricted
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=0/94  Signal level=-95 dBm  Noise level=-95 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0



But I cannot get dhcp to work. dhcp DOES work with eth0, the cable network, but not with wireless. this is what happens:
Code:

nadi etc # init.d/net.ath0 restart
 * Starting ath0
 *   Configuring wireless network for ath0
 *     ath0 connected to "felix" at 00:A0:C5:97:43:DE
 *     in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP enabled - restricted)
 *   Bringing up ath0
 *     dhcp
 *       Running dhcpcd ...                                               [ !! ]


Any ideas? I have the following packages installed:
sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre6-r3
app-shells/bash-3.0-r12
net-wireless/madwifi-driver-0.1_pre20050420-r1

and using kernel 2.6.12-r6

Thanks!
Nadi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nadi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 280
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my mistake, fixed the problem:
in conf.d/wireless I have to use in the WEP key the ascii form, since I am not using hex key:
key_felix="s:555555555556 enc open"

so now it is working, FINALLY AFTER TWO YEARS with this laptop!!!
now two years more, and I will manage to have control on scanning, and plugging the network cable to disable the wireless...
Nadi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would you change the documentation regarding this? (/etc/conf.d/{net,wireless}.example and the handbook)

Two years is a looooong time!
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamapii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Re: can't get dhcp lease for ath0 Reply with quote

The Mad Crapper wrote:
I just got the newest madwifi drivers and still nothing.

There is a recent madwifi driver version that is now hard masked, make sure you don't use it.

madwifi-driver-0.1_pre20050708 works for me (snapshot from madwifi.otaku42.de), it's probably just like madwifi-driver-0.1_pre20050420

You can try a static ip address, dhcp might have its own problems with WLAN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nadi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 280
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well Uberlord, I was following the documentation, but I dont think I did anything wrong, I tried many many things. I amm quite positive that I finally managed to do it by using a recent kernel, newest Baselayout, and the most updated madwifi, almost all the software are unstable version. I know other people manged to set the wireless in Thinkpad long time ago, but it is far from being trivial in Gentoo. Furthermore, I still have the problem with the scanning (I understood that this version of madwifi does not support scanning?). Scanning is working in windows, and it is a wonderful feature if you change the network often and using non-secure connection. like in many cafès with wireless connection, and university with many different id's.

At least I have an working station IF I know the wep and the id. Two years is a long time, but I dont think gentoo was ready in 2003 when I got my laptop and tried to configure my wireless with 2.4.20 and old versions of baselayout, readline etc.

Don't get me wrong, I think you are doing a great job. The STUPID people from IBM refused to give me support for linux then.

Regards,
Nadi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nadi wrote:
well Uberlord, I was following the documentation, but I dont think I did anything wrong, I tried many many things. I amm quite positive that I finally managed to do it by using a recent kernel, newest Baselayout, and the most updated madwifi, almost all the software are unstable version. I know other people manged to set the wireless in Thinkpad long time ago, but it is far from being trivial in Gentoo.


So how do we improve the documentation?

Quote:
Furthermore, I still have the problem with the scanning (I understood that this version of madwifi does not support scanning?). Scanning is working in windows, and it is a wonderful feature if you change the network often and using non-secure connection. like in many caf�s with wireless connection, and university with many different id's.


madwifi-driver supports scanning. At least mine does. Try using wpa_supplicant. If you have a "turbo" card you mave have to use iwpriv commands before a scan works (sorry, I don't know them off hand)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nadi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 280
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I think about that, the recent example files, both net.example and wireless.example are very good. I read them carefully again now, and I dont think they miss anything. I think it is readable for a n00b, as I am not such an expert myself, yet I understand the instructions. But this was not always the situation. net.example and wireless.example were really bad once, I don't remember which version, but I remember I went over them again and again, and was not able to configure the wireless.

I think this to help files, combining with the gentoo documentation, are really helpfull for a n00b to configure the network nowdays.

Thanks again,
Nadi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamapii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was a kde application "wlassistant" that showed me the requred commands. This worked for me, and I used the results for /etc/conf.d/net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum