View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
axxackall l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/189c37b43e1cf655c2516.gif)
Joined: 06 Nov 2002 Posts: 651 Location: Toronto, Ontario, 3rd Rock From Sun
|
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
olivierweb wrote: |
this was not enough, so I do this :
b0d0r wrote: | also if you comment out or remove the <ifdefine> and </ifdefine> for each module that you want to use... you will find that will get it to work...
well i did it and it works for me ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
And mod_php works !
|
Certainly it's a bug related to Gentoo as such ifdefine constructs work fine on redhat, slackware, freebsd and win2k. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tgoodaire Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Ralph.jpg)
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 145 Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 10:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is this apache-1 or apache-2 that you're having problems with? I successfully installed apache-2 with mysql and mod_php today with hardly any problems. The only problem that I had was convincing mod_php that I don't want xfree and qt installed. A quick search through the forums found the fix for that... _________________ I bent my wookie. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
azote Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/18403232603f690e2314f11.gif)
Joined: 17 Sep 2002 Posts: 415
|
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 2:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
how did ou do that? _________________ contact me -> azote@mail.i2p
What do you want to emerge today?
if you think that a person is normal, it is because you do not know them well |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hungarian n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/cb6232963d6a8ee43fee7.png)
Joined: 16 Jul 2002 Posts: 51 Location: New Zealand
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 2:40 am Post subject: This worked for me |
|
|
This worked for me:
You need to follow the order of includes, see the comments in
/etc/apache/conf/apache.conf
Here is what works for me using Apache 1.3.27 and PHP 4.3.1
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-www/apache/files/conf/apache.conf,v 1.2 2002/05/04 23:23:01 woodchip Exp $
### Main Configuration Section
### You really shouldn't change these settings unless you're a guru
###
ServerType standalone
ServerRoot /etc/apache
ServerName localhost
#LockFile /etc/httpd/httpd.lock
PidFile /var/run/apache.pid
ScoreBoardFile /etc/apache/apache.scoreboard
ErrorLog logs/error_log
LogLevel warn
ResourceConfig /dev/null
AccessConfig /dev/null
DocumentRoot /home/httpd/htdocs
### Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support
###
###
LoadModule mmap_static_module modules/mod_mmap_static.so
LoadModule env_module modules/mod_env.so
LoadModule config_log_module modules/mod_log_config.so
LoadModule agent_log_module modules/mod_log_agent.so
LoadModule referer_log_module modules/mod_log_referer.so
LoadModule mime_magic_module modules/mod_mime_magic.so
LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so
LoadModule negotiation_module modules/mod_negotiation.so
LoadModule status_module modules/mod_status.so
LoadModule info_module modules/mod_info.so
LoadModule includes_module modules/mod_include.so
LoadModule autoindex_module modules/mod_autoindex.so
LoadModule dir_module modules/mod_dir.so
LoadModule cgi_module modules/mod_cgi.so
LoadModule asis_module modules/mod_asis.so
LoadModule imap_module modules/mod_imap.so
LoadModule action_module modules/mod_actions.so
LoadModule speling_module modules/mod_speling.so
LoadModule userdir_module modules/mod_userdir.so
LoadModule proxy_module modules/libproxy.so
LoadModule alias_module modules/mod_alias.so
LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
LoadModule access_module modules/mod_access.so
LoadModule auth_module modules/mod_auth.so
LoadModule anon_auth_module modules/mod_auth_anon.so
LoadModule dbm_auth_module modules/mod_auth_dbm.so
LoadModule db_auth_module modules/mod_auth_db.so
LoadModule digest_module modules/mod_digest.so
LoadModule cern_meta_module modules/mod_cern_meta.so
LoadModule expires_module modules/mod_expires.so
LoadModule headers_module modules/mod_headers.so
LoadModule usertrack_module modules/mod_usertrack.so
LoadModule example_module modules/mod_example.so
LoadModule unique_id_module modules/mod_unique_id.so
LoadModule setenvif_module modules/mod_setenvif.so
<IfDefine PHP4>
LoadModule php4_module extramodules/libphp4.so
</IfDefine>
LoadModule vhost_alias_module modules/mod_vhost_alias.so
# Reconstruction of the complete module list from all available modules
# (static and shared ones) to achieve correct module execution order.
# [WHENEVER YOU CHANGE THE LOADMODULE SECTION ABOVE UPDATE THIS, TOO]
ClearModuleList
AddModule mod_mmap_static.c
AddModule mod_env.c
AddModule mod_log_config.c
AddModule mod_log_agent.c
AddModule mod_log_referer.c
AddModule mod_mime_magic.c
AddModule mod_mime.c
AddModule mod_negotiation.c
AddModule mod_status.c
AddModule mod_info.c
AddModule mod_include.c
AddModule mod_autoindex.c
AddModule mod_dir.c
AddModule mod_cgi.c
AddModule mod_asis.c
AddModule mod_imap.c
AddModule mod_actions.c
AddModule mod_speling.c
AddModule mod_userdir.c
AddModule mod_proxy.c
AddModule mod_alias.c
AddModule mod_rewrite.c
AddModule mod_access.c
AddModule mod_auth.c
AddModule mod_auth_anon.c
AddModule mod_auth_dbm.c
AddModule mod_auth_db.c
AddModule mod_digest.c
AddModule mod_cern_meta.c
AddModule mod_expires.c
AddModule mod_headers.c
AddModule mod_usertrack.c
AddModule mod_example.c
AddModule mod_unique_id.c
AddModule mod_so.c
AddModule mod_setenvif.c
<IfDefine PHP4>
AddModule mod_php4.c
</IfDefine>
AddModule mod_vhost_alias.c
###
### Global Configuration
###
# Splitting up apache.conf into two files makes it possible to support
# multiple configurations on the same serer. In commonapache.conf
# you keep directives that apply to all implementations and in this
# file you keep server-specific directives. While we don't yet have
# multiple configurations out-of-the-box, this allows us to do that
# in the future easily.
Include conf/commonapache.conf
###
### IP Address/Port
###
#BindAddress *
Port 80
Listen 80
###
### Log configuration Section
###
# Single logfile with access, agent and referer information
# This is the default, if vlogs are not defined for the main server
CustomLog logs/access_log combined env=!VLOG
# If VLOG is defined in conf/vhosts/Vhosts.conf, we use this entry
#CustomLog "|/usr/sbin/apachesplitlogfile" vhost env=VLOG
###
### Virtual Hosts
###
# We include different templates for Virtual Hosting. Have a look in the
# vhosts directory and modify to suit your needs.
#Include conf/vhosts/Vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/DynamicVhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/VirtualHomePages.conf
###
### Performance settings Section
###
#
# Timeout: The number of seconds before receives and sends time out.
#
Timeout 300
#
# KeepAlive: Whether or not to allow persistent connections (more than
# one request per connection). Set to "Off" to deactivate.
#
KeepAlive On
#
# MaxKeepAliveRequests: The maximum number of requests to allow
# during a persistent connection. Set to 0 to allow an unlimited amount.
# We recommend you leave this number high, for maximum performance.
#
MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
#
# KeepAliveTimeout: Number of seconds to wait for the next request from the
# same client on the same connection.
#
KeepAliveTimeout 15
#
# Server-pool size regulation. Rather than making you guess how many
# server processes you need, Apache dynamically adapts to the load it
# sees --- that is, it tries to maintain enough server processes to
# handle the current load, plus a few spare servers to handle transient
# load spikes (e.g., multiple simultaneous requests from a single
# Netscape browser).
#
# It does this by periodically checking how many servers are waiting
# for a request. If there are fewer than MinSpareServers, it creates
# a new spare. If there are more than MaxSpareServers, some of the
# spares die off. The default values are probably OK for most sites.
#
MinSpareServers 4
MaxSpareServers 10
#
# Number of servers to start initially --- should be a reasonable ballpark
# figure.
#
StartServers 4
#
# Limit on total number of servers running, i.e., limit on the number
# of clients who can simultaneously connect --- if this limit is ever
# reached, clients will be LOCKED OUT, so it should NOT BE SET TOO LOW.
# It is intended mainly as a brake to keep a runaway server from taking
# the system with it as it spirals down...
#
MaxClients 150
#
# MaxRequestsPerChild: the number of requests each child process is
# allowed to process before the child dies. The child will exit so
# as to avoid problems after prolonged use when Apache (and maybe the
# libraries it uses) leak memory or other resources. On most systems, this
# isn't really needed, but a few (such as Solaris) do have notable leaks
# in the libraries. For these platforms, set to something like 10000
# or so; a setting of 0 means unlimited.
#
# NOTE: This value does not include keepalive requests after the initial
# request per connection. For example, if a child process handles
# an initial request and 10 subsequent "keptalive" requests, it
# would only count as 1 request towards this limit.
#
MaxRequestsPerChild 500
Include conf/addon-modules/mod_php.conf
---------END of apache.conf-------------- _________________ Sophisticated, cultivated, technically superior,
Gentoo Linux delivers the most rewarding computing experience.
www.gentoo.org
BSc(Hons) CompSci / BSc. CompSci / RHCE |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
wody n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Futurama/cartoon_futurama_fry_2.gif)
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 24 Location: Austria
|
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have a very strange apache / mod_php problem here.
I just followed all your suggestions, included "apache" in USE flag, loaded the module in the apache configs und if i try to start it via
/etc/init.d/apache start
there are NO problems as log as the -D PHP4 option is _NOT_ specified in /etc/conf.d/apache...
If I include that line, the apache server doesn't even start. The script returns no error, indeed it says [OK]; but ps tells me, no apache is running at all....
Any way for me to get the php module running here... ??
P.S. With apache2, the same problems...
Thanks a lot |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
itkovian n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Feb 2003 Posts: 17 Location: Belgium - Oostende
|
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 11:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, as of this morning I got PHP working with Apache and MySQL. I use apache2 and mysql-3.23.54a. PHP is 4.3.1. What did I do?
I looked though the above suggestions.
a) I have included -D PHP in /etc/conf/apache2 in the APACHE2_OPTS, -D SSL was already present there
b) I have looked at /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf and notices that 70_mod_php.conf from
/etc/apache2/conf/modules.d was included (in fact all stuff from the aforementioned dir was included)
c) I have started apache with the /etc/init.d/apache2 start script.
Hope this helps somewhat. _________________ I am the Shield-Anvil. And I am not yet done. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hungarian n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/cb6232963d6a8ee43fee7.png)
Joined: 16 Jul 2002 Posts: 51 Location: New Zealand
|
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 7:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Not meant to be flaming, but why bother using mysql when you can have PostgreSQL.
I used to start with mysql and I do not even think about using it now.
The speed argument do not work either according to the devshed articles and benchmarks.
Comments are welcome. _________________ Sophisticated, cultivated, technically superior,
Gentoo Linux delivers the most rewarding computing experience.
www.gentoo.org
BSc(Hons) CompSci / BSc. CompSci / RHCE |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flickerfly l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Funny_Figure/pilgrim.gif)
Joined: 08 Nov 2002 Posts: 677 Location: Lanham, MD
|
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:21 pm Post subject: Same Problem |
|
|
I'm having the same problem, but have an intersting thing to note. It asks me to download/run w/ an external program with phoenix from a remote machine, but if I use lynx on localhost I am able to get php to work. (Good old lynx ) lynx on the same remote machine as phoenix asks me to download. This seems (with me at least) to be related to a remote and local issue. I don't have X installed on the server to test another browser.
Let me put what I just said in chart form (I like it that way better):
on localhost
lynx 127.0.0.1/install.php .......... works
lynx 192.168.x.x/install.php ...... works
on remote workstation
phoenix 192.168.x.x/index.html . works
phoenix 192.168.x.x/index.php .. error
phoenix 192.168.x.x/install.php . broken
lynx 192.168.x.x/install.php ...... broken
KEY
works == shows normally
error == shows a php error (due to yet to be installed PostNuke)
broken == asks to download the file
I've instituted all the suggestions above and re-emerge it all to the masked versions (except mysql). I'm now running :
apache2 (2.045)
mod_php-4.3.1-r1
php-4.3.1-r1
mod_ssl-2.8.14
mysql-3.23.56
The only thing with apache2 I couldn't find anything to do with AddModule so I didn't mess with that suggestion after upgrading to apache2. I can see html pages on the same server from the remote sight.
Any help to get this running would be of great appreciation. _________________ An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
itkovian n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Feb 2003 Posts: 17 Location: Belgium - Oostende
|
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same with phoenix. Iirc, I cleaned the disk and memory cache of the browser and all was well. _________________ I am the Shield-Anvil. And I am not yet done. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flickerfly l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Funny_Figure/pilgrim.gif)
Joined: 08 Nov 2002 Posts: 677 Location: Lanham, MD
|
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
itkovian wrote: | I had the same with phoenix. Iirc, I cleaned the disk and memory cache of the browser and all was well. |
That didn't change a thing for me, beside there was nothing there for it to cache before I started trying to get to it. I don't know if lynx even has a cache. _________________ An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
flickerfly l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Funny_Figure/pilgrim.gif)
Joined: 08 Nov 2002 Posts: 677 Location: Lanham, MD
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|