Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mod_php: not starting?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
axxackall
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 651
Location: Toronto, Ontario, 3rd Rock From Sun

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

olivierweb wrote:

this was not enough, so I do this :

b0d0r wrote:
also if you comment out or remove the <ifdefine> and </ifdefine> for each module that you want to use... you will find that will get it to work...

well i did it and it works for me :)


And mod_php works !


Certainly it's a bug related to Gentoo as such ifdefine constructs work fine on redhat, slackware, freebsd and win2k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tgoodaire
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 145
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this apache-1 or apache-2 that you're having problems with? I successfully installed apache-2 with mysql and mod_php today with hardly any problems. The only problem that I had was convincing mod_php that I don't want xfree and qt installed. A quick search through the forums found the fix for that...
_________________
I bent my wookie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azote
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how did ou do that?
_________________
contact me -> azote@mail.i2p

What do you want to emerge today?

if you think that a person is normal, it is because you do not know them well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hungarian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 51
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 2:40 am    Post subject: This worked for me Reply with quote

This worked for me:
You need to follow the order of includes, see the comments in

/etc/apache/conf/apache.conf

Here is what works for me using Apache 1.3.27 and PHP 4.3.1

# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-www/apache/files/conf/apache.conf,v 1.2 2002/05/04 23:23:01 woodchip Exp $
### Main Configuration Section
### You really shouldn't change these settings unless you're a guru
###
ServerType standalone
ServerRoot /etc/apache
ServerName localhost
#LockFile /etc/httpd/httpd.lock
PidFile /var/run/apache.pid
ScoreBoardFile /etc/apache/apache.scoreboard
ErrorLog logs/error_log
LogLevel warn
ResourceConfig /dev/null
AccessConfig /dev/null
DocumentRoot /home/httpd/htdocs


### Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support
###
###
LoadModule mmap_static_module modules/mod_mmap_static.so
LoadModule env_module modules/mod_env.so
LoadModule config_log_module modules/mod_log_config.so
LoadModule agent_log_module modules/mod_log_agent.so
LoadModule referer_log_module modules/mod_log_referer.so
LoadModule mime_magic_module modules/mod_mime_magic.so
LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so
LoadModule negotiation_module modules/mod_negotiation.so
LoadModule status_module modules/mod_status.so
LoadModule info_module modules/mod_info.so
LoadModule includes_module modules/mod_include.so
LoadModule autoindex_module modules/mod_autoindex.so
LoadModule dir_module modules/mod_dir.so
LoadModule cgi_module modules/mod_cgi.so
LoadModule asis_module modules/mod_asis.so
LoadModule imap_module modules/mod_imap.so
LoadModule action_module modules/mod_actions.so
LoadModule speling_module modules/mod_speling.so
LoadModule userdir_module modules/mod_userdir.so
LoadModule proxy_module modules/libproxy.so
LoadModule alias_module modules/mod_alias.so
LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
LoadModule access_module modules/mod_access.so
LoadModule auth_module modules/mod_auth.so
LoadModule anon_auth_module modules/mod_auth_anon.so
LoadModule dbm_auth_module modules/mod_auth_dbm.so
LoadModule db_auth_module modules/mod_auth_db.so
LoadModule digest_module modules/mod_digest.so
LoadModule cern_meta_module modules/mod_cern_meta.so
LoadModule expires_module modules/mod_expires.so
LoadModule headers_module modules/mod_headers.so
LoadModule usertrack_module modules/mod_usertrack.so
LoadModule example_module modules/mod_example.so
LoadModule unique_id_module modules/mod_unique_id.so
LoadModule setenvif_module modules/mod_setenvif.so
<IfDefine PHP4>
LoadModule php4_module extramodules/libphp4.so
</IfDefine>
LoadModule vhost_alias_module modules/mod_vhost_alias.so

# Reconstruction of the complete module list from all available modules
# (static and shared ones) to achieve correct module execution order.
# [WHENEVER YOU CHANGE THE LOADMODULE SECTION ABOVE UPDATE THIS, TOO]
ClearModuleList
AddModule mod_mmap_static.c
AddModule mod_env.c
AddModule mod_log_config.c
AddModule mod_log_agent.c
AddModule mod_log_referer.c
AddModule mod_mime_magic.c
AddModule mod_mime.c
AddModule mod_negotiation.c
AddModule mod_status.c
AddModule mod_info.c
AddModule mod_include.c
AddModule mod_autoindex.c
AddModule mod_dir.c
AddModule mod_cgi.c
AddModule mod_asis.c
AddModule mod_imap.c
AddModule mod_actions.c
AddModule mod_speling.c
AddModule mod_userdir.c
AddModule mod_proxy.c
AddModule mod_alias.c
AddModule mod_rewrite.c
AddModule mod_access.c
AddModule mod_auth.c
AddModule mod_auth_anon.c
AddModule mod_auth_dbm.c
AddModule mod_auth_db.c
AddModule mod_digest.c
AddModule mod_cern_meta.c
AddModule mod_expires.c
AddModule mod_headers.c
AddModule mod_usertrack.c
AddModule mod_example.c
AddModule mod_unique_id.c
AddModule mod_so.c
AddModule mod_setenvif.c
<IfDefine PHP4>
AddModule mod_php4.c
</IfDefine>
AddModule mod_vhost_alias.c

###
### Global Configuration
###
# Splitting up apache.conf into two files makes it possible to support
# multiple configurations on the same serer. In commonapache.conf
# you keep directives that apply to all implementations and in this
# file you keep server-specific directives. While we don't yet have
# multiple configurations out-of-the-box, this allows us to do that
# in the future easily.
Include conf/commonapache.conf


###
### IP Address/Port
###
#BindAddress *
Port 80
Listen 80


###
### Log configuration Section
###
# Single logfile with access, agent and referer information
# This is the default, if vlogs are not defined for the main server
CustomLog logs/access_log combined env=!VLOG
# If VLOG is defined in conf/vhosts/Vhosts.conf, we use this entry
#CustomLog "|/usr/sbin/apachesplitlogfile" vhost env=VLOG


###
### Virtual Hosts
###
# We include different templates for Virtual Hosting. Have a look in the
# vhosts directory and modify to suit your needs.
#Include conf/vhosts/Vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/DynamicVhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/VirtualHomePages.conf


###
### Performance settings Section
###
#
# Timeout: The number of seconds before receives and sends time out.
#
Timeout 300

#
# KeepAlive: Whether or not to allow persistent connections (more than
# one request per connection). Set to "Off" to deactivate.
#
KeepAlive On

#
# MaxKeepAliveRequests: The maximum number of requests to allow
# during a persistent connection. Set to 0 to allow an unlimited amount.
# We recommend you leave this number high, for maximum performance.
#
MaxKeepAliveRequests 100

#
# KeepAliveTimeout: Number of seconds to wait for the next request from the
# same client on the same connection.
#
KeepAliveTimeout 15

#
# Server-pool size regulation. Rather than making you guess how many
# server processes you need, Apache dynamically adapts to the load it
# sees --- that is, it tries to maintain enough server processes to
# handle the current load, plus a few spare servers to handle transient
# load spikes (e.g., multiple simultaneous requests from a single
# Netscape browser).
#
# It does this by periodically checking how many servers are waiting
# for a request. If there are fewer than MinSpareServers, it creates
# a new spare. If there are more than MaxSpareServers, some of the
# spares die off. The default values are probably OK for most sites.
#
MinSpareServers 4
MaxSpareServers 10

#
# Number of servers to start initially --- should be a reasonable ballpark
# figure.
#
StartServers 4

#
# Limit on total number of servers running, i.e., limit on the number
# of clients who can simultaneously connect --- if this limit is ever
# reached, clients will be LOCKED OUT, so it should NOT BE SET TOO LOW.
# It is intended mainly as a brake to keep a runaway server from taking
# the system with it as it spirals down...
#
MaxClients 150

#
# MaxRequestsPerChild: the number of requests each child process is
# allowed to process before the child dies. The child will exit so
# as to avoid problems after prolonged use when Apache (and maybe the
# libraries it uses) leak memory or other resources. On most systems, this
# isn't really needed, but a few (such as Solaris) do have notable leaks
# in the libraries. For these platforms, set to something like 10000
# or so; a setting of 0 means unlimited.
#
# NOTE: This value does not include keepalive requests after the initial
# request per connection. For example, if a child process handles
# an initial request and 10 subsequent "keptalive" requests, it
# would only count as 1 request towards this limit.
#
MaxRequestsPerChild 500

Include conf/addon-modules/mod_php.conf

---------END of apache.conf--------------
_________________
Sophisticated, cultivated, technically superior,
Gentoo Linux delivers the most rewarding computing experience.
www.gentoo.org
BSc(Hons) CompSci / BSc. CompSci / RHCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wody
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a very strange apache / mod_php problem here.
I just followed all your suggestions, included "apache" in USE flag, loaded the module in the apache configs und if i try to start it via
/etc/init.d/apache start
there are NO problems as log as the -D PHP4 option is _NOT_ specified in /etc/conf.d/apache...

If I include that line, the apache server doesn't even start. The script returns no error, indeed it says [OK]; but ps tells me, no apache is running at all....

Any way for me to get the php module running here... ??

P.S. With apache2, the same problems...

Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itkovian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Belgium - Oostende

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, as of this morning I got PHP working with Apache and MySQL. I use apache2 and mysql-3.23.54a. PHP is 4.3.1. What did I do?

I looked though the above suggestions.

a) I have included -D PHP in /etc/conf/apache2 in the APACHE2_OPTS, -D SSL was already present there

b) I have looked at /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf and notices that 70_mod_php.conf from
/etc/apache2/conf/modules.d was included (in fact all stuff from the aforementioned dir was included)

c) I have started apache with the /etc/init.d/apache2 start script.

Hope this helps somewhat.
_________________
I am the Shield-Anvil. And I am not yet done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hungarian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jul 2002
Posts: 51
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not meant to be flaming, but why bother using mysql when you can have PostgreSQL.
I used to start with mysql and I do not even think about using it now.
The speed argument do not work either according to the devshed articles and benchmarks.

Comments are welcome.
_________________
Sophisticated, cultivated, technically superior,
Gentoo Linux delivers the most rewarding computing experience.
www.gentoo.org
BSc(Hons) CompSci / BSc. CompSci / RHCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:21 pm    Post subject: Same Problem Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem, but have an intersting thing to note. It asks me to download/run w/ an external program with phoenix from a remote machine, but if I use lynx on localhost I am able to get php to work. (Good old lynx :-) ) lynx on the same remote machine as phoenix asks me to download. This seems (with me at least) to be related to a remote and local issue. I don't have X installed on the server to test another browser.

Let me put what I just said in chart form (I like it that way better):
    on localhost
    lynx 127.0.0.1/install.php .......... works
    lynx 192.168.x.x/install.php ...... works
    on remote workstation
    phoenix 192.168.x.x/index.html . works
    phoenix 192.168.x.x/index.php .. error
    phoenix 192.168.x.x/install.php . broken
    lynx 192.168.x.x/install.php ...... broken
    KEY
    works == shows normally
    error == shows a php error (due to yet to be installed PostNuke)
    broken == asks to download the file


I've instituted all the suggestions above and re-emerge it all to the masked versions (except mysql). I'm now running :

    apache2 (2.045)
    mod_php-4.3.1-r1
    php-4.3.1-r1
    mod_ssl-2.8.14
    mysql-3.23.56


The only thing with apache2 I couldn't find anything to do with AddModule so I didn't mess with that suggestion after upgrading to apache2. I can see html pages on the same server from the remote sight.

Any help to get this running would be of great appreciation.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itkovian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Belgium - Oostende

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same with phoenix. Iirc, I cleaned the disk and memory cache of the browser and all was well.
_________________
I am the Shield-Anvil. And I am not yet done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

itkovian wrote:
I had the same with phoenix. Iirc, I cleaned the disk and memory cache of the browser and all was well.


That didn't change a thing for me, beside there was nothing there for it to cache before I started trying to get to it. I don't know if lynx even has a cache.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Funny thing happened. Once I setup postnuke on the server, I was able to login and php worked as advertised. If you're using postnuke, try setting it up in lynx first.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum