Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Tried everything, can't connect to WAP
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
flamesrock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Calgary

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:45 am    Post subject: Tried everything, can't connect to WAP Reply with quote

I'm an absolute newb to wireless, so hopefully one of you experts can show me to the light.

First, went through:
http://es.gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Wireless

My wireless card is working, and I managed to get it to recognize the wap by doing an iwconfig manually on the CL, but I can't seem to connect? Could anyone give me an example /etc/conf.d/wireless? Will it automatically load on startup?

Here are the specs:
It has a 128bit WEP key (in hex I think, string of numbers and letters)
I want to specify the MAC (necessary, right?)
the interface is eth1
default gw is 192.168.1.1 and I would like to have a static IP of 192.168.1.30 (if possible, dhcp is also OK)
I'd like it load at startup, by default even if eth0 (wired) is available.

Alternatively, if anyone could offer an example /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf for these specs, I would appreciate it equally!


-thanks in advance for any help
_________________
If it happens, it's possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funkyrikg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are the tests I would try once you have the card started up from the command line:

1) Ping the wireless router on its IP addy from the command line

Code:
ping 192.168.1.1
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=150 time=0.651 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=150 time=0.574 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=150 time=0.578 ms

--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.574/0.597/0.651/0.039 ms

[CTRL+c]


If this works you are connected to your WAP, if not ensure your cards driver is installed etc.

2) Try to get outside your network using an external IP Address

Code:
ping 66.219.59.46
PING 66.219.59.46 (66.219.59.46) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 66.219.59.46: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=164 ms
64 bytes from 66.219.59.46: icmp_seq=2 ttl=51 time=164 ms
[CTRL+c]
--- 66.219.59.46 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 164.003/164.346/164.690/0.531 ms


If this works you are connected outside your internal network.

3) Ensure you can ping external names
Code:
ping www.gentoo.org

PING www.gentoo.org (65.19.163.231) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from wren.gentoo.org (65.19.163.231): icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=175 ms
64 bytes from wren.gentoo.org (65.19.163.231): icmp_seq=2 ttl=57 time=175 ms
64 bytes from wren.gentoo.org (65.19.163.231): icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=174 ms
64 bytes from wren.gentoo.org (65.19.163.231): icmp_seq=4 ttl=57 time=175 ms
[CTRL+c]
--- www.gentoo.org ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 174.962/175.259/175.487/0.555 ms

If this fails check your /etc/resolv.conf and ensure that it looks like this:
Code:

nameserver 192.168.1.1
domain your_domain_here


To get your card to pick up the ip address you required on start up ensure /etc/conf.d/net has the following:
Code:

iface_eth1="192.168.1.30 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
....
gateway="eth1/192.168.1.1"


and finally to have it added to come up at start up:

Code:
rc-update add net.eth1 default

_________________
Regards
Rik Gordon
Registered Linux User #365284
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flamesrock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Calgary

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! Unforunately, not working yet.

I tested by pinging 192.168.1.1 (after updating eth1 with ifconfig) and got:
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data
From 192.168.1.30 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.30 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.30 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.30 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.30 icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.30 icmp_seq=8 Destination Host Unreachable
...

Also, rc-update add net.eth1 default gave me this message:
/sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/net.eth1 not found; aborting.

Any ideas?

Thanks
_________________
If it happens, it's possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum