View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 1:05 pm Post subject: gstreamer 0.8.10 stuttering like mad with ALSA plug to 24/96 |
|
|
Using an M-Audio Audiophile 2496 with an ALSA PCM defined as
Code: | pcm.hifi {
type plug
slave.pcm hw:1
} |
ALSA refuses to play without the plug for some reason, so I have to use it this way.
Prior to gstreamer 0.8.10 audio would play fine. Now, however, it stutters. This does not happen with aplay nor my 16/44.1 SB Live card.
Anyone else getting this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
patrix_neo Guru
Joined: 08 Jan 2004 Posts: 520 Location: The Maldives
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes I do have this. Changeing to OSS emulation in settings for multimedia/sound for gstreamer changed that behaviour.
Anoying me thinks.
this is my pcm in ~/.asoundrc:
Code: |
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}
pcm.dsp0 {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}
pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
slave {
pcm "hw:0,0"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 8192
# rate 48000
rate 44100
}
bindings {
0 0
1 1
}
}
ctl.dmixer {
type hw
card 0
}
|
Haveing a emu10k1 (old SB Live! card).
This problem occured to me a week back ago.
Xmms is useing alsa and works, rhythmbox/gstreamer used alsa plugin and blured like nothing else. _________________ Life is a fog where some thinks to know where to go
To make an error is human, letting it be is the error.
Deus Vult |
|
Back to top |
|
|
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Top. Still here. :/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krasnik n00b
Joined: 28 Sep 2005 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi,
same here.
i have the audiophile too. and it stotters like hell when i use gstreamer-apps/alsasink.
anything else works fine...
anyone can help/knows something?
thanks
krasnik |
|
Back to top |
|
|
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OSS isn't an answer either, I appreciate the workaround but I'd really rather see the back end of OSS. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blidside n00b
Joined: 30 Jul 2002 Posts: 51 Location: Tampa, FL
|
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think I may have the same problem -
xmms and bmp work fine, but totem and rhythmbox stutter like mad. I've been trying to trace the root of this problem for about a week or two.
my .asoundrc
Code: |
pcm.nforce-hw {
type hw
card 0
}
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "nforce"
}
pcm.nforce {
type dmix
ipc_key 1234
ipc_perm 0660
slave {
pcm "hw:0,0"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 4096
#rate 44100
rate 48000
}
}
ctl.nforce-hw {
type hw
card 0
}
|
It wasn't always like this -- So i'm not sure what went wrong and when. But if anybody finds a solution I'd be quite happy!
Thanks
<edit>
hmmm, just decided to try it as root and it works flawlessly
what's going on here?
</edit> |
|
Back to top |
|
|
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
LOL just tried to run totem as root:
Quote: | Totem could not start up.
No reason. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | gst-launch-0.8 filesrc location="/home/alex/filestore/music/tracks/Ash - Orpheus.mp3" ! spider ! alsasink device=hifi |
Stutters for me both as root and as normal user.
Maybe you haven't got the same asoundrc set up as root? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
reub2000 Guru
Joined: 31 Jan 2004 Posts: 364
|
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've got stuttering when using amarok and the gstreamer alsaink plugin. Raising the buffer to 16384 is better, but the problem doesn't completly go away. The problem seems to be worse during high cpu usage, like when compiling. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
b0fh Guru
Joined: 16 Jun 2003 Posts: 426
|
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is this still unsolved? I have the same problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
southsider Guru
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 358
|
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please comment on the bugzilla bug I posted above.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tex n00b
Joined: 18 Feb 2003 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
here it is working with this .asoundrc
pcm.nforce-hw {
type hw
card 0
}
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "nforce"
}
pcm.nforce {
type dmix
ipc_key 1234
slave {
pcm "hw:0,0"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 24756
rate 44100
}
}
ctl.nforce-hw {
type hw
card 0
}
Greetings
Tex |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|