View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Tuvok n00b
Joined: 02 Apr 2004 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:48 pm Post subject: Network doesn't work on 2.6.12-r9 (but works on 2.6.12-r4) |
|
|
When trying to start the 2.6.12-r9, no network is available. I compiled the kernel with the default config given and added those thing that I need.
I read in forums that some people had problems with apic (and wireless cards) so I disabled it too and adopted the file names of the files created by genkernel (grub.conf):
Code: |
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r4 UDEV
root (hd0,4)
kernel (hd0,4)/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r4 udev root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc real_root=/dev/hda6 gentoo=nodevfs video=scrollback:255K
# pci=biosirq idebus=33 acpi=off video=scrollback:255K
initrd (hd0,4)/initrd-2.6.12-gentoo-r4
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r9 UDEV
root (hd0,4)
kernel (hd0,4)/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r9 udev noapic root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc real_root=/dev/hda6 gentoo=nodevfs video=scrollback:255K
# pci=biosirq idebus=33 acpi=off video=scrollback:255K
initrd (hd0,4)/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r9
|
The network module (sis900) is loaded in both cases:
lsmod | grep s900
sis900 18944 0
mii 4736 1 sis900
ifconfig -a on work on working -r4 kernel outputs: Code: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5026 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5523 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4552455 (4.3 Mb) TX bytes:549510 (536.6 Kb)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:164 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:164 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:10352 (10.1 Kb) TX bytes:10352 (10.1 Kb) |
the same on not working -r9: Code: |
eth0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-10-DC-00-22-44-CF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:4212 (4.1 Kb)
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:280 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:280 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:20717 (20.2 Kb) TX bytes:20717 (20.2 Kb)
sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b) |
There appears sit0 (I didn't select anything special in kernel, it seems to be now added by default).
For some reason there is a eth1, too, but I only have 1 network card and configure only 1 network card: Code: |
cat /etc/conf.d/net
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#
gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1" |
ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Aug 31 15:27 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 24402 Aug 31 15:27 /etc/init.d/net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2873 Aug 31 15:27 /etc/init.d/netmount
cat /proc/interrupts on working -r4: Code: |
CPU0
0: 2795232 XT-PIC timer
1: 647 XT-PIC i8042
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
3: 3292 XT-PIC ohci_hcd:usb3, SiS SI7012
5: 8182 XT-PIC saa7134[0], eth0
7: 1 XT-PIC parport0
8: 2 XT-PIC rtc
9: 15205 XT-PIC acpi, ohci_hcd:usb2, ohci1394
10: 0 XT-PIC ohci_hcd:usb4
11: 3 XT-PIC ehci_hcd:usb1
12: 110 XT-PIC i8042
14: 41448 XT-PIC ide0
15: 155326 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 0
LOC: 2795281
ERR: 0 |
cat /proc/interrupts on non-working -r9: Code: |
CPU0
0: 496731 XT-PIC timer
1: 831 XT-PIC i8042
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
3: 3008 XT-PIC ohci_hcd:usb3, SiS SI7012
5: 0 XT-PIC saa7134[0]
9: 357 XT-PIC acpi, ohci_hcd:usb2, ohci1394
10: 0 XT-PIC ohci_hcd:usb4
11: 3 XT-PIC ehci_hcd:usb1
12: 110 XT-PIC i8042
14: 17519 XT-PIC ide0
15: 29380 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 0
ERR: 0 |
For some reason there is no interrupt for eth0 when using non-working kernel.
I also read something about baselayout, but using baselayout-1.11.12-r4 instead of sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.13-r1 doesn't help either.
Can someone help? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
m_sqrd Guru
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 367
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It looks like you've add firewire/net or a usb/net to your kernel, your old eth0 as move to eth1
Quote: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5026 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5523 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4552455 (4.3 Mb) TX bytes:549510 (536.6 Kb)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00
|
look at your MAC address and IRQ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tuvok n00b
Joined: 02 Apr 2004 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
m_sqrd wrote: | It looks like you've add firewire/net or a usb/net to your kernel, your old eth0 as move to eth1
look at your MAC address and IRQ |
Thanks, it was really a firewire port and network, which is now enabled by default in kernel.
Any idea why I have to remove eth0 from the run-level for network to start working even if Code: |
cat /etc/conf.d/net
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
iface_eth1="192.168.1.3 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"
gateway="eth1/192.168.1.1"
| the gateway is setup to the use eth1? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|