Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network doesn't work on 2.6.12-r9 (but works on 2.6.12-r4)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tuvok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:48 pm    Post subject: Network doesn't work on 2.6.12-r9 (but works on 2.6.12-r4) Reply with quote

When trying to start the 2.6.12-r9, no network is available. I compiled the kernel with the default config given and added those thing that I need.
I read in forums that some people had problems with apic (and wireless cards) so I disabled it too and adopted the file names of the files created by genkernel (grub.conf):
Code:

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r4 UDEV
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel (hd0,4)/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r4 udev root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc real_root=/dev/hda6 gentoo=nodevfs video=scrollback:255K
# pci=biosirq idebus=33 acpi=off video=scrollback:255K
        initrd (hd0,4)/initrd-2.6.12-gentoo-r4

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r9 UDEV
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel (hd0,4)/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r9 udev noapic root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc real_root=/dev/hda6 gentoo=nodevfs video=scrollback:255K
# pci=biosirq idebus=33 acpi=off video=scrollback:255K
        initrd (hd0,4)/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r9

The network module (sis900) is loaded in both cases:
lsmod | grep s900
sis900 18944 0
mii 4736 1 sis900

ifconfig -a on work on working -r4 kernel outputs:
Code:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25 
          inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5026 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5523 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:4552455 (4.3 Mb)  TX bytes:549510 (536.6 Kb)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:164 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:164 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:10352 (10.1 Kb)  TX bytes:10352 (10.1 Kb)

the same on not working -r9:
Code:

eth0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-10-DC-00-22-44-CF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:4212 (4.1 Kb)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:280 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:280 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:20717 (20.2 Kb)  TX bytes:20717 (20.2 Kb)

sit0      Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4 
          NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

There appears sit0 (I didn't select anything special in kernel, it seems to be now added by default).
For some reason there is a eth1, too, but I only have 1 network card and configure only 1 network card:
Code:

cat /etc/conf.d/net
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"

# For setting the default gateway
#
gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"



ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Aug 31 15:27 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 24402 Aug 31 15:27 /etc/init.d/net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2873 Aug 31 15:27 /etc/init.d/netmount


cat /proc/interrupts on working -r4:
Code:

          CPU0       
  0:    2795232          XT-PIC  timer
  1:        647          XT-PIC  i8042
  2:          0          XT-PIC  cascade
  3:       3292          XT-PIC  ohci_hcd:usb3, SiS SI7012
  5:       8182          XT-PIC  saa7134[0], eth0
  7:          1          XT-PIC  parport0
  8:          2          XT-PIC  rtc
  9:      15205          XT-PIC  acpi, ohci_hcd:usb2, ohci1394
 10:          0          XT-PIC  ohci_hcd:usb4
 11:          3          XT-PIC  ehci_hcd:usb1
 12:        110          XT-PIC  i8042
 14:      41448          XT-PIC  ide0
 15:     155326          XT-PIC  ide1
NMI:          0
LOC:    2795281
ERR:          0


cat /proc/interrupts on non-working -r9:
Code:

           CPU0       
  0:     496731          XT-PIC  timer
  1:        831          XT-PIC  i8042
  2:          0          XT-PIC  cascade
  3:       3008          XT-PIC  ohci_hcd:usb3, SiS SI7012
  5:          0          XT-PIC  saa7134[0]
  9:        357          XT-PIC  acpi, ohci_hcd:usb2, ohci1394
 10:          0          XT-PIC  ohci_hcd:usb4
 11:          3          XT-PIC  ehci_hcd:usb1
 12:        110          XT-PIC  i8042
 14:      17519          XT-PIC  ide0
 15:      29380          XT-PIC  ide1
NMI:          0
ERR:          0

For some reason there is no interrupt for eth0 when using non-working kernel.

I also read something about baselayout, but using baselayout-1.11.12-r4 instead of sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.13-r1 doesn't help either.

Can someone help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_sqrd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 367

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like you've add firewire/net or a usb/net to your kernel, your old eth0 as move to eth1

Quote:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5026 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5523 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4552455 (4.3 Mb) TX bytes:549510 (536.6 Kb)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:DC:ED:DC:25
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xec00


look at your MAC address and IRQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuvok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m_sqrd wrote:
It looks like you've add firewire/net or a usb/net to your kernel, your old eth0 as move to eth1
look at your MAC address and IRQ


Thanks, it was really a firewire port and network, which is now enabled by default in kernel.
Any idea why I have to remove eth0 from the run-level for network to start working even if
Code:

cat /etc/conf.d/net
# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
iface_eth1="192.168.1.3 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"

# For setting the default gateway
#gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"
gateway="eth1/192.168.1.1"
the gateway is setup to the use eth1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum