Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
make.conf gets blown away! how to recover?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
stiletto
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 4:49 pm    Post subject: make.conf gets blown away! how to recover? Reply with quote

Sorry if this is a FAQ, but I couldn't find it anyway, and I'm a gentoo newbie...

The whole point of building everything is so you can go through and tweak the CFLAGS and USE settings before building everything. Unfortunately, somwhere during installation, before stage 3, make.conf gets blown away and replaced with the default. This has happened to me twice, and the result is a box with everything compiled using the default settings!

Questions:

1. What causes make.conf to get blown away like this, and how can I avoid it?

2. What is the effect of changing the USE setting after you get to stage 3? Do I need to go back and redo "emerge system", or should I be okay? Is there a way to go back and rebuild my libc, binutils, gcc, etc. with the new CFLAGS?

It seems to me that the documentation should suggest you set make.conf to READ ONLY to keep it from being overwritten!
rtn
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that if your bootstrap doesn't complete successfully, your make.conf
will have been changed. Your old make.conf is in /etc, but renamed to something
that I can't remember offhand.

If you want, you could rebuild the whole system with 'emerge -e world', but
whenever you emerge a new application, it will use your new settings. Eventually,
you will likely rebuild your entire system, but it might take a loong time. :)

--rtn
masseya
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 6:42 pm    Post subject: Re: make.conf gets blown away! how to recover? Reply with quote

stiletto wrote: