Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Selecting an AP by MAC (iwconfig) (~solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evilben
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: GA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Selecting an AP by MAC (iwconfig) (~solved) Reply with quote

Hi all. Recently my apartment changed all of its AP's to the same essid, which has introduced an annoying and frequently occurring phenomenon, in that my card won't stick with the one really strong AP (the others don't give me a good signal at all).

I've tried fixing this in /etc/conf.d/net (where all my wireless settings are), by overriding the essid which is broadcast, but then my card (an Orinoco) won't connect to anything:

Code:

modules=("dhclient" "iwconfig")
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_myap="nodns nontp"
mac_essid_00900e00ab95="myap"
essid_eth1="myap"


A quote from /etc/conf.d/wireless.example:
Code:

# You can also set any of the /etc/conf.d/net variables per MAC address
# incase you use Access Points with the same ESSID but need different
# networking configs. Below is an example - of course you use the same
# method with other variables
#mac_config_001122334455=( "dhcp" )
#mac_dhcpcd_001122334455="-t 10"
#mac_dns_servers_001122334455=( "192.168.0.1" "192.168.0.2" )

# Map a MAC address to an ESSID
# This is used when the Access Point is not broadcasting it's ESSID
# WARNING: This will override the ESSID being broadcast due to some
# Access Points sending an ESSID even when they have been configured
# not too!
# Change 001122334455 to the MAC address and ESSID to the ESSID
# it should map to
#mac_essid_001122334455="ESSID"



This is the /etc/conf.d/net which gets me connected, but intermittently:
Code:

modules=("dhclient" "iwconfig")
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_CommonSSID="nodns nontp"
essid_eth1="CommonSSID"


A quick scan of wpa_supplicant docs doesn't suggest that it can do this. Any suggestions?


EDIT:
From the man page of iwconfig:
Code:

       ap     Force the card to register to the  Access  Point  given  by  the
              address,  if  it is possible. When the quality of the connection
              goes too low, the driver may revert back to automatic mode  (the
              card selects the best Access Point in range).
              You  may also use off to re-enable automatic mode without chang-
              ing the current Access Point, or you may  use  any  or  auto  to
              force  the  card  to  reassociate with the currently best Access
              Point.
              Example :
                   iwconfig eth0 ap 00:60:1D:01:23:45
                   iwconfig eth0 ap any
                   iwconfig eth0 ap off

So it seems possible with iwconfig--it's just that the net.lo script is messing up?

EDIT #2:
Maybe not--
Code:

tux ~ # iwconfig eth1 ap 00:90:0E:00:AB:95
Error for wireless request "Set AP Address" (8B14) :
    SET failed on device eth1 ; Operation not supported.


Last edited by evilben on Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the contents of "iwlist scan"
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evilben
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: GA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

tux conf.d # iwlist scan
eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

teql0     Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth1      Interface doesn't support scanning : Operation not supported



The orinoco driver doesn't support it. I encountered that fact looking into apradar.

I have kismet working--would that help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortuantely, mapping a MAC address to an ESSID requires scanning to work :(
And even then, it still just informs iwconfig to select the ESSID and lets the driver select which AP to use - which is what you currently have if I understand correctly.

Maybe the best solution would be to purchase a better supported card?
Or try the orinoco driver in portage as I understand that one supports scanning, monitoring and other nice things
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evilben
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: GA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok--I'll give the one in portage a swing, but I'll have to mess with the kernel a little--something to do when I'm bored! (which is not now!)

Maybe in the meantime I'll just campaign to get the essid's changed back.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum