Two HDD Installation Opinions...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RottynDawg
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:23 am    Post subject: Two HDD Installation Opinions... Reply with quote

I am very new to the linux scene and fascinated by Gentoo; yes there are easier distros to start with but what fun is that?

The primary HDD in my system is full so I added a second HDD as the secondary master. The Gentoo 2005.1 LiveCD does not like my Plextor 712A SATA drive so I used the Knoppix 4.01 DVD to install Gentoo on the secondary master. When it came time to configure GRUB, I scratched my head and read HOWTO and forum information for two nights straight. I've read so much that it is all starting to look the same so I wanted to get recommendations from veteran users on which approach I should take that would leave Windows intact on the primary master and allow me to dual-boot with the following HDD setup:

hda1 Windows XP Professional
hda2 NTFS storage

hdc1 Gentoo boot
hdc2 Gentoo swap
hdc3 Gentoo root

1. Keep reading up on GRUB until I figure out how to configure it to boot from hda and give me my OS choices.
2. Forget GRUB in this scenario and use the NT Bootloader to dual-boot.
3. Format hdc as NTFS, move the data from hda2 to hdc and proceed with a more "normal" dual-boot single-drive setup.
4. Some other clever option.

I am open to any suggestions, advice, pointers, etc. that do not require me to reformat hda1 and start from scratch as that would only take time away from learning Gentoo :)
maglomanic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Son if you already know about the partition mapping (hda1 is hd0,0 for Grub)...then you need to read about drive mapping.
looks something like this
(hd0)(hd1)
(hd1)(hd0)