View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kasumi_Ninja Veteran
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 Posts: 1825 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 6:16 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] No internet after reboot?! |
|
|
Everything was working fine until suddenly after a reboot my internet stopped worked. At boot I get this message:
Code: | "no interfacemodule has been loaded" |
and
Code: | "/etc/init.d/eth0 no such file or directory" |
Who can help me solve this problem? _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Last edited by Kasumi_Ninja on Fri May 19, 2006 8:58 pm; edited 5 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
snis Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Mar 2003 Posts: 93 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 6:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | "/etc/init.d/eth0 no such file or directory" |
Should be:
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 |
That's the gentoo way. Also double check that net.eth0 is linked to net.lo
Code: | # ls -l /etc/init.d/net.eth0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 May 5 01:10 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
|
The above should be fixed anyway, but before that you may want to check if you can get your NIC up with:
Code: | # ifconfig eth0 up
# ifconfig <-- should display eth0 and lo as two entries
# dhcpcd eth0 <-- if you are using DHCP to optain an IP address ortherwise....
# ifconfig eth0 <IP-address> <netmask> <-- for example: ifconfig eth0 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.0
# ping <ip-address of default gateway/router> |
If all the above works then it was only the init script that was corrupt... ooohh and one more thing, if you have been using an init script with the name "eth0" and moves to "net.eth0" you have to run:
Code: | # rc-update del eth0
# rc-update add net.eth0 default |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kasumi_Ninja Veteran
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 Posts: 1825 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 7:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First of all thanks for your extensive answer! i have solved this problem by running:
and
_________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered |
|
Back to top |
|
|
snis Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Mar 2003 Posts: 93 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 7:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Allow me to ask a dumb question, but net-setup eth0? Are you really running Gentoo?
Have I missed something or?
That ws three questions, but anyway |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kasumi_Ninja Veteran
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 Posts: 1825 Location: The Netherlands
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|