Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Suirrelmail stopped working [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
peter_poulsen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 387
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:30 am    Post subject: Suirrelmail stopped working [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I just made an upgrade of apache2 (2.0.54-r15 -> 2.0.54-r34), and now, when I try to access squirrelmail, firefox ask me if it should save login.php. I noticed that the configuration file for apache is updated, but it should be ok. My phpinfo() and other php pages in general works fine. Any ideas?

Last edited by peter_poulsen on Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnarlCat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm guessing you still have the
[code]
LoadModule php5_module modules/libphp5.so
PerlModule Apache2
[/code]
lines in your apache httpd.conf file?

You'll also need
[code]
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
[/code]
in there.. I'm guessing this is the line that went kaput in an update..

Check, and get back to us..
_________________
--

Our OS who art in CPU, UNIX be thy name.
Thy programs run, thy syscalls
done, In kernel as it is in user!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter_poulsen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 387
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

I have this in my httpd.conf
Code:
Include /etc/apache2/modules.d/*.conf


and this is my /etc/apache2/modules.d/70_mod_php.conf
Code:
<IfDefine PHP4>

        # Load the module first
        <IfModule !sapi_apache2.c>
                LoadModule php4_module    modules/libphp4.so
        </IfModule>

        # Set it to handle the files
        <IfModule mod_mime.c>
                AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
                AddType application/x-httpd-php .phtml
                AddType application/x-httpd-php .php3
                AddType application/x-httpd-php .php4
                AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
        </IfModule>

        # post-adding DirectoryIndex'es
        AddDirectoryIndex index.php index.php3 index.php4 index.phps index.phtml

        # Fix some bugs
        <Files *.php>
                # keep this the same size as post_max_size in php.ini
                # LimitRequestBody 8388608
        </Files>
        <Files *.php3>
                # keep this the same size as post_max_size in php.ini
                # LimitRequestBody 8388608
        </Files>
        <Files *.php4>
                # keep this the same size as post_max_size in php.ini
                # LimitRequestBody 8388608
        </Files>
        <Files *.phps>
                # keep this the same size as post_max_size in php.ini
                # LimitRequestBody 8388608
        </Files>
        <Files *.phtml>
                # keep this the same size as post_max_size in php.ini
                # LimitRequestBody 8388608
        </Files>

</IfDefine>


this is my /etc/conf.d/apache2
Code:

# Config file for /etc/init.d/apache2

# When you install a module it is easy to activate or deactivate the modules
# and other features of apache using the APACHE2_OPTS line. Every module should
# install a configuration in /etc/apache2/modules.d. In that file will be an
# <IfDefine NNN> where NNN is the option to enable that module.
# Here are the options available in the default configuration:
#   USERDIR   Enables /~username mapping to /home/username/public_html
#   INFO      Enables mod_info, a useful module for debugging
#   PROXY     Enables mod_proxy
#   DAV       Enables mod_dav
#   DAV_FS    Enables mod_dav_fs (you should enable this when you enable DAV
#             unless you know what you are doing)
#   SSL       Enables SSL
#   SSL_DEFAULT_VHOST  Enables default vhost for SSL (you should enable this
#                      when you enable SSL unless you know what you are doing)
#   LDAP      Enables mod_ldap
#   AUTH_LDAP Enables authentication through mod_ldap
#   DEFAULT_VHOST Enables the default virtual host in /var/www/localhost/htdocs
APACHE2_OPTS="-D DEFAULT_VHOST -D PHP4"

# Extended options for advanced uses of Apache ONLY
# You don't need to edit these unless you are doing crazy Apache stuff
# As not having them set correctly, or feeding in an incorrect configuration
# via them will result in Apache failing to start
# YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

# ServerRoot setting
#SERVERROOT=/usr/lib/apache2

# Configuration file location
# - If this does NOT start with a '/', then it is treated relative to
# $SERVERROOT by Apache
#CONFIGFILE=/etc/apache2/httpd.conf

# Location to log startup errors to
# They are normally dumped to your terminal.
#STARTUPERRORLOG="/var/log/apache2/startuperror.log"

# Environment variables to keep
# All environment variables are cleared from apache
# Use this to preserve some of them
# NOTE!!! It's very important that this contains PATH
# Also, it will fail if the _value_ of any of these variables contains a space
KEEPENV="PATH"


But generally php is not the problem (various other pages with php works fine).

However, I don't have mod_perl installed. Is this necessary (it hasn't been in the past)?
Also, I have noticed that when I'm using firefox on the webserver, it is working fine???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llongi
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 459
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try with another browser or empty the cache of your current browser and restart it.
This solved many similar problems the last week, it seems caches do strange things... :)
Also make sure no caching-proxy is between you and the server.
Best regards, CHTEKk.
_________________
Best regards, Luca.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AgentMascan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Idaho, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may seem obvious, but perhaps /etc/conf.d/apache2 was altered as well. Makes sure the line that contains APACHE2_OPTS="" contains the php module.
Example:
Code:

APACHE2_OPTS="-D SOME_MODULE -D PHP4"

or
Code:

APACHE2_OPTS="-D SOME_MODULE -D PHP5"

Depending on which version of PHP you are using (most likely 4). I had the same problem you having when I misconfigured /etc/conf.d/apache2 in the past.
_________________
Day 6 and my Skittles are still nowhere to be found. I fear for tommorrow, for I shall not be able to taste the rainbow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter_poulsen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 387
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I at appears to have been related to the chache. Clearing it made the problem go away. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum