Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What's the source advantage for nonprogrammers?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
linuxhippy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: What's the source advantage for nonprogrammers? Reply with quote

I'm not a programmer-is Gentoo for me? Is it more secure than an RPM built distro?
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Re: What's the source advantage for nonprogrammers? Reply with quote

linuxhippy wrote:
I'm not a programmer-is Gentoo for me?

If you like "emerge", sure. Many do once they try it.
Quote:
Is it more secure than an RPM built distro?

Not particularly. But those of us here find it nicer.
eniac
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:07 pm    Post subject: Re: What's the source advantage for nonprogrammers? Reply with quote

linuxhippy wrote:
I'm not a programmer-is Gentoo for me? Is it more secure than an RPM built distro?

Why does someone who loves to work with debian dislikes gentoo or why does a particular slackware users also loves mandriva but can't work with fedora ?
It's a matter of taste and experience, so just try it out man!
linuxhippy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I boot through 5 OSs and don't plan on scrapping Gentoo....my pc seems to like FC4 which is very snappy on my box and using yum to get needed rpms is fast too...along with the install. Compiling everything takes too long and eats up my system resources with emerge-it is a nice tool, though!
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxhippy wrote: